Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2013
I heard this whole album in low quality on YouTube and decided I had to buy it. I've given it 5 Stars because I like this type of music and this is exactly what I wanted. People either like 'cool jazz' or they don't. If you don't you might dismiss this as elevator music from a 60s movie [and it's right in-period for that]. If you do like this type of jazz, it just flows, from 'Take Ten', a subtle update 'Take Five', through Bossa/Samba tracks, to standards. Perfect for chilling out on the beach or late night relaxing and I wil be using this for both. I could use a better pair of bass bins to get the most out of the recording though.
There was a bewildering array of CD versions and prices for this album so I will be clear on what I am reviewing. It is the 1997 reissue on Sony/Columbia/Legacy/BMG, with three bonus tracks, 'Out of Nowhere' and alternate takes of 'Embarcadero' and 'El Prince'. It does not say that it is the remastered version and I can't hear any of the usual compression that inevitably comes with a modern remaster. I read another review that complained about too-prominent drums and that may have been the remastered version.
Essentially, this is Paul Desmond on a break from the Dave Brubeck Quartet, noodling around wonderfully on alto sax, with Jim Hall's simple and effective jazz guitar accompaniment. Gene Cherico's upright bass [Eugene Wright on 'Take Ten'] and Connie Kay's drums just drive the whole thing along unobtrusively.
The version I bought cost me £4.21 [but is now even cheaper] and arrived in three days on free delivery. Beat that.
My only complaint is that the original cellophane packaging of the CD was almost impossible to get off and I nearly cracked the flimsy, original-style jewel case to do so. But that didn't affect the music at all. Sublime.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
Excellent playing but aliitle too laid back for me but if you know Paul Desmond you know what to expect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
Paul Desmond, famously saxophonist with the Dave Brubeck quartet, with one of his many "solo" recordings. The album title nods towards one of the most famous Brubeck Quartet songs (also written by Desmond), but in no way does Desmond stand in anyone's shadow.

These are recordings which typify the golden age of 60's jazz: standard tunes given new life with gently shifting arrangements, loads of space around the music, plenty of time to explore the melody, and terrific playing from all the participants, although that glorious sax stands centre stage.

And the quality of the recording puts the modern techno meisters to shame: when you think of the limits of the technology at the time, how do these records SOUND so wonderful?

If you haven't heard any of Desmond's solo recordings try this or "Feeling Blue" which is possibly even better: if you like good tunes played by masters of their instruments and genre, you couldn't possibly be disappointed.
22 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
Everything about this album sparkles: the clean, tactile recording, the smooth, mellifluous sound of Paul Desmond's alto sax, the way in which the band plays together in a seamless but complex manner, and the selection of tunes, some of which, like Take Ten, having different time signatures.

Each piece sparkles and you can always find something new to listen for and catch your ear. If you like Paul Desmond, or the Dave Bruback Quartet of that era, this CD will fit in extremely well to your collection.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Classic cool from the master I liken to Stan Getz.Icing on the cake here are presence of brilliant Jim Hall on guitar and Connie Kay on drums.Tracks Embarcadero and Samba de Orfeu are simply beautiful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
It goes without saying that if you like The Dave Brubeck Quartet, then you should really like this too, for me this is a very cool album with a great laid-back feel, played by brilliant musicians, and a must have for your music collection!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
PD was probably the finest exponent of alto sax playing after CP 's early demise. Such note range and delicacy. His playing can cut the mustard with a multiplicity of personal tastes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Purchased as a present. The recipient is very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
One of the greats and reviews are totally unnecessary! I have never heard a poor concert or record and just wish that he was still around today.This record highlights his usual brilliance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
I am a fan of Stan Getz he can play the Sax, but this "Take Ten" CD is extraordinary, I want to listen over and over. pure joy to the ears..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.59

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)