Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
90


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 January 2015
The first of Johnny Cash's prison albums sees him on raw and rip roaring form. Released in 1968, the album was inspired by Cash's own track from the 1950's "Folsom Prison Blues" (opening the set here) and Cash's own bad boy reputation, formed by his own well publicised issues with drugs. Cash puts his heart and soul into this set, singing the songs like his life depended on it in a top notch performance rowdily received by the prisoners. At least parts of the set were chosen specifically with those prisoners in mind, stand outs being "The Green, Green Grass Of Home", "Give My Love To Rose" and "Dark As A Dungeon". The album received rave reviews on release and inspired a 1969 follow up "At San Quentin".Cash is at his best here in an inspired album that saw critics and public alike reassess The Man In Black, whose career was given a much needed boost thanks to the great performances contained on this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2006
The atmosphere of this live concert from Folsom Prison is electric. The inmate crowd are full of life, energy and buzz.
Generally, it is annoying when songs get interrupted, but here, where nearly every otehr song has an interruption of some sort, they are welcome. Cash's interaction with the crowd, his responses to their shouts mid-song, and humourous remarks are really what make this album great.
There are even interruptions from the prison tannoy system, barking out prisoner numbers and telling them to go to reception. This gives it a stark reality.
Fortunately, you also get some of the best Johnny Cash songs as well! It would obviously start with Folsom Prison Blues, but others like 25 minutes to go, cocaine blues, and Orange Blossom Special are incredibly good. Recorded in a prison seem to give Cash's songs more meaning.
It's also great to have June Carter pop in for a couple of songs, including Jackson, and it's great to hear her voice when she arrives.
Greystone Chapel is the last song on this album, and this performance was the first time it had ever been sung by Cash for a recording...history in the making!
Not only is this the best Johnny Cash album ever, it is one of the best albums ever created. Fun, meaningful, sad, exciting, buzzing, this is what a live album is all about.
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2009
This is probably Johnny Cash's most famous recording, an amazing performance made against the advice of his record company, after his comeback from near-suicide and his recovery from addiction (would he have made it without his faith and the love of June Carter and her family?). Raw, genuine, full of great songs, humour and grit, his voice getting back to its best, this live performance sums up everything that was heroic about Johnny Cash.
I discovered Johnny Cash, about 1964 when I was a young teenager, when I found his single "Ring of Fire", unbelievably, in a remaindered box of singles for sale at 1/6d each. I'd never heard of him, but the moment I heard the song, I had to know more. I saved up to buy his latest album, "Blood, Sweat and Tears", and have never looked back. I was a fan.
Of course, I've had the record "Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison" a long time. First the LP, later the CD. Delighted to find the Legacy edition, containing the full recordings of both concerts, on Amazon, it was a must-buy. With the previously unissued tracks from the first concert, and the whole of the repeat afternoon concert (which includes a classic performance of "Long-Legged Guitar Pickin' Man" with June Carter -- worth buying just for that), these recordings are a piece of history everyone who even just likes Johnny Cash should own.
The DVD contains a documentary, recently seen on TV, looking back at the concert and full of illuminating interviews. Sadly, no film of the concert was made (unlike its sister "At San Quentin", recorded for British TV), but there's lots on this DVD to savour.
However, I can't let this review pass without expressing a warning: despite the misleading image on the Amazon site, this is NOT the classic luxury Legacy box set, but a German re-packaging in a cheap card foldout. I'm sure the discs are the same, and that's what matters I guess, but it won't sit well beside my Legacy edition of the San Quentin concert. Shame about that, and for this reason I've only given it 4 stars. It really deserves at least 5.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2017
What can you say about johnny cash the best
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2017
Excellent value and service. Thank You
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2011
This takes you back to JC in the 60s when he was the coolest guy on the planet - appearing in front of a live crowd at maximum security Folsom Prison - a fantastic buy if you want to experience what was incredibly daring and exciting all those years ago, and it really and truly stands the test of time. Fantastic!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2018
Perfect present for my dad. I haven't seen the DVD yet but we used to love listening to the Folsom prison LP together 40 years ago so brought back some fun memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2014
Very good, the sound on at least one of the tracks had a lot more bass or was less compressed than the same track on a best-of CD. I liked the live atmosphere too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2017
Classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)