Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Stormwatch
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.19


on 11 October 2017
Last classic JETHRO!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
Just like is predecessor, Heavy Horses, Stormwatch's original vinyl release was met largely with indifference - Tull were seen as a spent force, going backwards rathere than forwards. However, it isn't till you hear the remasters of their mid and late 70s albums that you appreciate their complexity. Much comes out that was missed before, the sound limitation of vinyl being the main factor in the way music was mixed in those days. I always refer to Stormwatch as Tull's "Scottish Album" - not because the concept is in any way scottish or even celtic, but because the musical styles involved typify the folk-rock scene north of the border - elements later taken up by Runrig. The two long tracks stand out immediately - Ian Anderson's vision never dulled, it was simply edited rather harshly at times - and a number of the shorter tracks were released as singles, without charting, they're a little too intelligent for 7-inch fodder. The bonus tracks have all come out on several previous collections, but always good to have them gathered as they were recorded during album sessions, and as is often the case, some of these passed-over tracks are actually as good if not better than those included on the album. All in all a very strong album in retrospect, melodic and musical and not relying solely on huffing down a flute, many different instrumental dimensions evolved during this period.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
This is better than I thought it would be.
I bought the excellent single North Sea Oil backed with the rather beautiful Elergy when this album was first released but was wary of Jethro Tull being a bit old hat and sounding a bit tired after the more lively Songs From The Wood and to a certain degree Heavy Horses.
Moving forwards some 37 years (!), and having purchased almost all other Jethro Tull albums since, I thought I should give it a go.
I was pleasantly surprised that, while the strings sometimes do make one or two tracks seem a bit old, the album is less plodding and more timeless.
Orion, Warm Sporran, Dun Ringill, Kelpie and even Somethings On The Move, the one that I heard on the radio in late 1979 and stopped me buying the album, are among tracks worth noting. None of the tracks are bad in my view. At present the 9 minute long Dark Ages is my favourite (including the strings).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 May 2016
Warm Sporran is a catchy instrumental that forms a pleasing interlude on this fine album of ten songs, plus a few welcome extras. It's one of the excellent 1990s reissues with always interesting booklet notes by mercurial flautist, inveterate leg-raiser and Tull supremo Ian Anderson himself.
This is almost up there with the flawless brilliance of Benefit, Stand Up, Songs From the Wood and Heavy Horses, or the Indian summer of Crest of a Knave and Rock Island, and it's a more cohesive set of songs than the mysifyingly overrated Aqualung. It's one I'm happy to have in my still-growing collection of Tull CDs, having been a fan since their inception in '69.
Tull were and are unique: a 'prog rock' band who weren't really all that prog, and often as much Fairportly folk as rock, rather like a less frenetic Led Zep and without chest-hair.
Stormwatch has a folky feel on some tracks, more of a rock sensibility on others. It's taken me far too long to get to know it, but I'm glad I do. It's one of the good ones, with Anderson's flute weaving its mellifluous magic, and some damn fine songs, as well as one or two which are slightly less memorable.

A unique British band at its peak.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2004
This is the great ignored Tull LP. Released amidst the chilly winds of the punk fall-out in the late 1970's, 'Stormwatch' is one of the Tull's more coherent and pertinent statements, both lyrically and musically. The vague concept about renewable resources, global climate change and political intervention is as relevant today as it was back then (the LP was released just as the UK began benefitting from - and squandering - the income raised from the oil fields in the North Sea). Songs such as 'Dark Ages', 'North Sea Oil' and 'Something On The Move' are all highly melodic, strong pieces, mercifully lacking the Tull lack of focus that sometimes made their songs a bit unwieldy. Here the band were right on top of their craft and Ian Anderson hadn't sung this convincingly for many a year.

It's not all strident either, 'Dun Ringil' is as beautiful as anything on 'Songs From the Wood' and the closing instrumental piece 'Elegy' is simply delightful. Indeed, there are so many great songs here, long time fans will particularly enjoy 'Orion' and 'The Flying Dutchman'.

It's time to replace that old vinyl, or to get to know a lost Tull classic.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
In the 11 years from 1969 to 1979 Tull released 11 studio albums of original material written by main man Ian Anderson. That's right, 11 albums in 11 years- how many musicians would even attempt that nowadays? This album was the 11th so you would expect a dropping off of standards, right? Wrong. This is a superb album which is often overlooked in the Tull canon but which epitomises so much that was great about the Tull of the 70's.
Here you will find driving but always melodic rock alternating with gentler acoustic numbers, some with subtle orchestral backing that complements but never overwhelms the songs. A number of the songs display concern for environmental issues long before it became fashionable to do so.
This reissue includes bonus tracks including the single "A stitch in time" which, though worth having, were previously released on the "20 years of Jethro Tull" box set released in 1988; however since that box set is now only available at an extravagant price, this is the most sensible way to get these tracks nowadays.
Few people would suggest this as the album to start off a Tull collection with "Aqualung", "Songs from the Wood" or even "Thick as a Brick" being the likely candidates, but frankly I think a newcomer to Tull could do much worse than choose this as their starting point.
After this album there was a major shake up in the Tull line up with only the faithful Martin Barre on guitar remaining with Anderson for the next album "A" and Tull never sounded the same again; you could argue they never sounded this good again.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
I think this is an amazing tull album.probably my favourite . some outstanding flute.awesome drum sound .well produced and every song a winner.buy it and turn this one up to eleven.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2008
I have been listening to Jethro Tull regularly over the last 30 years, and have to say I like most of their massive back cataloge. If I was to pick one album though as 'the best Tull sound' it would have to be this stunner. Production, instrumentation and orchestration (to my ears) are superb. I have read much about Stormwatch, and I'm constantly surprised and disappointed at the bad press it generally gets - in my opinion hugely undeserved. It is such an underated album. I was fortunate to see this great line up on the Stormwatch tour, just two days before it broke up, and I remember sitting in the audience open mouthed in awe at the show in front of me! No other band has had that effect on me since. Back to the album, my personal favourite track is probably 'Flying Dutchman' atmospheric Scottish sounding with beautifull flute and mandolin and of course John Glascock's bass, but every track (original album) is wonderful. Other absolute stand outs are 'Old Ghosts' with it's brilliant baseline, 'Dark Ages' a 9 minute monster which I think contains the best sounding Tull rock passage from their entire cataloge (second guitar break), 'Home', as warm as sitting by the fire in your favourite slippers, 'Dun Ringill', most peoples favourite from this album, a beautiful acoustic piece, which indeed always transports me to the west coast of Scotland, and 'Orion', with it's infectious chorus. This also of course was the last album by Tull that included the amazing Barrimore Barlow on drums, plus John Evans, John Glascock and David Palmer. Such a shame that John Glascock died soon after this album was released, he only played on three tracks (Orion, Flying Dutchman and Elegy). Such a shame we couldn't have experienced another album with this band line up. Best of the bonus tracks is 'Kelpie', but the quality of the bonus tracks are not on the same level as the original album. So to sum up, I think out of the many great Jethro Tull albums (most of which indeed were from the 1970's) this one sits on top of the pile. Just compare the overall rich sound and incredible musicianship of this one with the others. Also check out these Tull albums: 'Thick as a Brick', 'Passion Play', 'Minstrel in the Gallery', Live-Bursting Out', 'Benefit', 'Broadsword', 'Heavy Horses' and 'Stand Up'.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
Jethro Tull turned to a more serious approach with this album, indeed this is Anderson at his most melancholy and brooding at times. There was good reason as the bassist John Glasgock was suffering congenital heart problems and this was his last album before his tragic death. Other members of the band were departing so it was a genuine changing of the guard. The songs were reflecting the troubled economy with the oil crisis being at the forefront of the lyrics. I prefer this darker Tull than the whimsy of "Too Old to Rock N Roll (Too Young To Die)" or "Songs From the Wood". However it is reasonable to understand why many reviewers see it as a letdown, whereas others hail it as a masterpiece. I sit somewhere in the middle as the musicianship is well up to standard especially Martin Barre's driving guitars which are heavier on "Stormwatch".

Anderson is terrific on the flute with tracks such as 'Orion' and 'Flying Dutchman'. His vocals are seriously conveyed which is a nice change. The melodies are catchy and grow on you, particularly on the upbeat 'Kelpie' bonus track. The bonus tracks are actually all very good, some were released as singles, such as 'Stitch in Time' or B sides such as the medieval inspired instrumental 'King Henry's Madrigal'.

The packaging of the album is effective with snow bears, binoculars and album covers of the Eps and singles. All in all this is a fine album that definitely marks the end of the 70s decade. The golden era was well and truly over and now Jethro Tull were about to encounter the 80s as they verged off into new rocky territory.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2004
Stormwatch is an excellent if somewhat uneven album, the track in Dark Ages in particular being among the greatest Tull songs; brilliant lyrics with a musical play on the opening notes of Beethoven's (Anderson's favourite composer) 5th to indicate how far Britain was in the Winter of Discontent from the Enlightenment. (Of course, it is even further in these days' 'consumer haze'.) My problem with this album, both on vinyl and cd, was that it also sounded as though it had been recorded in the dark ages. All the tracks were muddy and lacking focus, warmth and bite. The remastered version rectifies this problem. The album now sounds massively better and well worth the £6.99 or so to hear properly.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)