Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
39
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£16.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2009
Every once in a while, bands have their defining moment, both live and in the studio. This in one of those moments for The Cure in my opinion.

Back in November 2002, The Cure decided to perform three of their best albums in their entirety, back to back at the Tempodrom in Berlin. Those albums were Pornography, Disintegration and Bloodflowers. Robert Smith claimed that these were a 'trilogy' in 2000 when Bloodflowers was released.

I was fortunate to be at these concerts, as well as the Brussels Forest National warm up show and can honestly say that the experience was phenomenal. Many of the tracks performed here were played for the first time in many years (Short Term Effect, Closedown, Homesick etc)

Captured in HD 1080i (the best available at the time) the quality of this Blu Ray is excellent. The video quality is far superior to the original DVD release with outstanding contrast and fine detail, especially in the close up scenes.

Audio is presented in DTS-HD MA 5.1, Dolby Digital 5.1, and LPCM.

It would have been nice to see the extras also in hi def, as these are the same standard def versions found on the DVD. The two encore tracks (The Kiss and If Only Tonight We Could Sleep) are in Hi-Definition.

Despite this shortcoming, I would recommend upgrading to the Blu-Ray from the DVD as the image and sound quality is far superior. I also recommend this to anyone looking for an example of a great band, performing at their very best.

Roll on Trilogy II (Faith, Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me and Wish)!... In my dreams!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
Great DVD in vary good condition. The gig's were were very good and the sound quality was very good. I loved it. I would recommend this DVD to en one ho like the band it is great i love it. will with the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
For fans only I would say, with it being 3 full albums played all way through, but the quality is Exellant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Already owm a dvd copy.
The diference is noticeable enough in modern LED HD TV.
Worth the difference in price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2004
First off, there's no point me telling you how good The Cure are etc, as you wouldn't be looking at these pages if you never thought they were any good! What I will say though is that if you're after a greatest hits type, live concert then look elsewhere.
This DVD is based on the two day 2002 concert in Berlin where they played two three hour sets from three albums that spanned two decades. The first set is from their 1982 album, Pornography, the second from their 1989 album, Disentegration and their third from their most recent offering, Bloodflowers.
For die hard fans this whole compilation will be an essential addition to their collection, but I found the arrangements of all sets to be quite slow and hard going, even Disentegration was quite dull and morose in places and it happens to be one of my favourite albums of all time. Still, I thoroughly enjoyed every aspects of this visually stunning concert with a sound to match.
I have quite an expensive cinema set up and this DVD tested it to the max! The colours were vibrant, the picture quality crystal clear and the special effects just add to enhance the overall viewing pleasure rather than detracting from it. The best bit is the sound though, even in PCM stereo the sound is good with clear acoustics and deep, rich bass tones, but play this in 5.1 format and what you get is astounding, it really is like being there.
Overall I would recommend this DVD for any Cure fan who wants to see some groundbreaking and legendary songs played live, but for those just getting in to the group (you've left it a bit late!) I would recommend you get the greatest hits DVD first.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2003
This is good. This is real good. Even if you just like the Cure a little bit, this is good. If you like the Cure, then its awesome. Where do I begin. Its the best live show ever. It kicks ass with the Cure in Orange, it is so much better than Show..
Its dark, its moody, its happy, its funny - its the Cure doing what they do best.
There are some magical moments in this and some that could have been left out....its warts and all...its what you expect from the Cure...So if you have seen them live, then this is exactly what you want from them.....If you have not seen them live, then here is your chance.
Don't just think about it, just do it.....You know you want to.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2003
It took 18 years for the cure to record their trilogy of pornography (1982), disintegration (1989) and bloodflowers (2000). Last November in Berlin it took them three hours to conclude it.
And what a three hours it is. The pornography set is, inevitably, the most intense. From the opening wail of 100 years to the closing noise of pornography, the set has an energy and tension which perfectly realises the abrasive nature of the album. 100 years would be perfect, although Smith's vocals are still warming up. The hanging garden is truly stunning, with especially impressive drumming from jason cooper. The band also deliver a cracking version of a strange day, but the highlight of the set though is undoubtedly cold (arguably the strongest track on the album anyway). As the cascading drumbeat and lavish keyboards emerge, the sense of eerie silence in the arena is tangible; the song is the most emotionally vulnerable moment of the set. The title track is realised in a way that makes it more performance-friendly than the studio track, and is a perfectly uneasy ending to the set.
As blue lights and quiet chimes fill the arena, the increasing feeling of a new dawn comes to a climax as the beauty of plainsong suddenly explodes across the arena. It is a truly magical moment, affording the song the status it truly deserves. Disintegration is (from my point of view) the strongest album of the three, and each song is well realised. The highlights are a pounding fascination street, a rare performance of the gorgeous the same deep water as you, and truly awesome renditions of homesick and untitled that close the set with a flourish of perfection.
As the songs of bloodflowers then fill the arena, the resigned tone of the album is evident. Where the birds always sing is delivered brilliantly, as is 39, but the real highlight of the set is the song bloodflowers itself. Cooper's drumming is again outstanding, as is the guitar work from Simon Gallup and Perry Bamonte, as the band gather strength towards the end of the marathon and produce a performance that is perhaps the finest of the concert. Smith's vocals are particularly perfect, infused with a power and emotion that really affirm the sense of occasion. The perfect end to a wonderful show, in which three fabulous albums (one of which has a legitimate claim to the title of finest album ever) are given the performance they demand.
The interviews on the dvd are also comprehensive, giving exaustive details about the gigs themselves, and also a fantastic insight into the band members' (particularly Smith and Gallup) feelings towards the songs.
A must for any cure fan. A must for any music fan.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2003
The three most powerful Cure albums together on two DVDs. This is a brillient collection and shows the Cure at their best on stage. From the first double bass drum on One Hundred Years to the final guitar solo on Bloodflowers this is consistantly mind-blowing. Highlights are 'Cold', 'Pictures of You', 'Same deep water as you' and 'Bloodflowers', but every song is perfectly performed.
The DVD is well presented and is an overall better production than the 'Greatest Hits' DVD. There are also interveiws with the band and a secret feature I have not uncovered yet.
Bascially your getting 3 albums for 15 pounds here, go for it, this is The Cure at their most beautiful and most dark.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2008
I don't really write reviews as I think so much is based on personal opinion- but I wanted to write this for any Cure fans who haven't seen it. I just think it's one of the best live shows on dvd I've seen- such a brilliant concept having three albums, played in sequence, back to back. The music is wonderfully played, the lighting and mood is brilliant, and nearly all the tracks to me are an improvement on the studio versions. Why oh why Robert Smith got rid of the keyboard in the latest line up is beyond me?!... the recent gig at Wembley I saw was a complete disappoinment. To me the sound that completely defines the Cure is the combination of Bob's voice, the recognisable lead guitar sound, and the sweeping background of atmospheric keyboards. This is why I love Trilogy so much. The sound is epic- played at volume through a 5.1 channel amp and on a large LCD screen, it's the closest you get to being there. Wonderful!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2003
This is a masterpiece straight from "One Hundred Years" onwards. The Cure provide a masterclass in live performances and it is awesome to think that if they recorded another Trilogy with, "Wish", "Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me" and "Wild Mood Swings" it could be even better. Robert Smith is not only a songwriting genius, but together with the other 'Cures' a giant on stage.
It's difficult to pick out particular songs, but "Plainsong", "Same Deep Water As You" and "The Figurehead" all spring to mind.
With over three hours of the best live show you're likely to see, my only gripe would have to be changing discs.
The sooner The Cure put more of their other performances onto DVD the better!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)