Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2010
This is a great show and have fond memories of it playing on BBC2 in the early 90s. Of course it is sci-fi but it it's also a bit of a drama/paranoia-thriller and the sci-fi elements are not too numerous. It has aliens who look just like us; one could think that was a cost saving measure, however it certainly adds to the drama. In terms of effects these are limited, but not to the show's detriment; there's the odd flying saucer with cool whirly sound effects but, and certainly my personal favourite, is the death of an alien where they start to glow bright red and burn up in seconds. Fabulous!!!!!!!

The lone hero is David Vincent, wonderfully underplayed in a cynical portrayal by Roy Thinnes, they keep him on the case, there is certainly no romance apart from a few hints here and there.

This is the better of the two seasons however I do prefer the earlier episodes, they are little edgier compared to the 'Scoville' episodes. Also beware of the very last episode which has some serious flaws with the sound, however I presume this is not the fault of the DVD, rather the master recording.

Finally I also have to praise the show for it's style. For example these were the times when, as the oepening credits rolled, a narrator set the scene, he also read out the name of the show, the guest stars and the epiosde title. All done in a dramatic tone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
I was 10-12 years old when the Invaders starring Roy Thinnes was on Belgian TV in Black & White. I now acquired both seasons on DVD and saw it in colour which was really nice. As a boy I got into SciFi through such productions and Invaders was one of my favourites. One can tell it is dated but it is so well made that did not bother me at all. Image quality is very good and the scenario's are pretty creative. Although one might ask why invaders with such powerful arms did not go for a total occupation and submission of Earth and are discouraged by the actions of one man who is not believed by the authorities.For the rest : I watched all episodes within one month time and I was sorry when it was over.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2009
I just can remember this being aired when I was a kid, but it's great to be able to sit down and watch it complete and in running order, though stories were loosely linked due to syndication in the US. This was one of the inspiration/forerunners of X-Files and even 40 years on, the stories still hold up well. (It was sort of re-made in the a few years back as First Wave.) Shame it only ran the 2 seasons, but that just adds to the cult status.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Brought for my brother (i already brought first season from you) and he is VERY happy with them, packaged fine and delivery quick so no complaints here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
I remember when this first came out in 1968 or whenever. Nobody had seen anything like it at the time, although it's dated now. I used to watch it and I seem to remember my parents did as well because the special effects were 'cutting edge' at the time. The two series were repeated a coule of times and it's nice to have them on DVD. Although I've missed one star off for some of the episodes being edited from the original TV broadcasts.

Plots full of holes, I man how much junk did the Invaders leave lying around. Pity they didn't develop the plot more quickly in season two but enoyale nevertheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2016
Great quality on time and as good as the first season.
DS Guest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
To the younger generations who have never seen the invaders and still like a science fiction thrill. Then David Vincent's lonely fight against dark and menaciing aliens is for them.

A classic in it's own right. This ground breaking series from the sixties still has the capacity to provide mystery and fear even after a gap of over fourty years. Inttelligent yet succient it flows like a hard to put down novel that only satisfies when you've reached the end.

The visual effects are still stunning and fresh and the unique simplicity of the saucer along with the meancing background drone of Dominic Frontierre's incidental music make the invaders a milestone in television science fiction. A must for all generations of sci fi fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
I always loved the Invaders when I was a kid. Seeing it all this time later is great and it still holds up today. For the 60's it was 'serious sci fi'. Season 2 expands on the first season with David Vincent joining a group of people who also know of the alien threat which takes the series in another direction than Vincent running around trying to convince everyone of the problem.
The effects for the day are very good and the desolving alien effect is still very believable.
This was the final season of the series and although it could have come back for another series, the finale of the season does also act as a close.

An excelent show.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
have not seen these series since it first came out on tv, just purchased the complete season 1&2 loved all, just a slight criticism on season 1 on the odd disc sub titles on bottom,but picture quality good,stories still as good after all this time,would recommend to everyone to watch,im still watching great.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2009
Loved this series in the 60s - like many classics of that era, now criminally neglected by tv (200+ channels and no room for this or The Fugitive or The Prisoner or The Twilight Zone ?).
Anyway, so glad to have this but one small quibble - the US version apparently includes introductions to each episode by Roy Thinnes as well as new interviews with him. Why leave them off the UK release, which offers no extras at all ?
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)