Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars

on 22 June 2009
The thing that has always amazed me about SFV is that it manages to be both heavy and commercial at the same time without being overblown at all. It really is a great album and showed to a lot of people, who (wrongly) thought that Priest had lost their way with Point Of Entry, that they still had teeth. The Hellion and Electric Eye are possibly the best opening of any metal album ever with the old twin guitar assault sounding incredible. The title track is only a stones throw away from being thrash and Rob does marvellously on the break-neck paced vocals. Pain And Pleasure wouldn't have been out of place on Killing Machine with it's dark sexual overtones whilst Bloodstone is a pleasantly surprising attempt by Priest to address the state of the world. Two singles were released from this album, the legendary You've Got Another Thing Coming and the heavy ballad (Take These) Chains which propelled the band to near superstardom at the time, particularly across the pond. And that leads to my only real complaint about the album - there was no UK tour.

SFV is one of those albums you just have to own and in my opinion comes a close 2nd to Killing Machine as Priest's finest.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2000
Well, what can I say about this album? Not by chance was it Priest's breakthrough U.S album and really established them as a leading force in the world of metal. 'You've got another thing comin' is a superb track, arguably priest's finest moment, and probably their best known. Not one track on this album disappoints and the album has everything. The only possible downside to this (and I'm clutching at straws here) is that, because the album is so good, a lot of tracks appear on 'best of' compilations. However, this an all-time classic album, so order it now, and when you get it, play it LOUD!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2003
This is the album that made Judas Priest massive in the states. They were being lauded in Europe and particularly in Japan already. Just listen to the screams on Unleashed In The East. I know it had overdubs on it, but Priest have been massive in Japan since the mid-70s. This album, however, contained the single You've Got Another Thing Comin'. And the yanks loved it. A big singalong chorus, three verses, everything the American metal fans could enjoy.
There's a lot more on this album than that one song though. And that includes the opening track(s). The Hellion, which flies straight in to Electric Eye. What an opener. It is superb. It's also what they came on with for the tour of that album, and about three tours after that. Other standout tracks on the record include Riding On The Wind, Devil's Child, Fever, Bloodstone and the title track. What a title track. Rob really does scream for vengeance when he's singing this one.
There are two extra tracks that have been added since the album first came out. There's a live version of Devil's Child, and a never-before released studio track called Prisoner Of Your Eyes. This is a really good song. Rob sounds very sombre and moody, and the riff behind the song is great.
Priest's best studio album? Probably.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2014
I first got this on vinyl in 1982 and I thought it was the most powerful heavy music I ever heard and still do. songs like devils child. bloodstone are so heavy its brilliant you need this this cd in your collection buy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2009
Now we're talking, I aint a massive fan of British Steel(although great album, I only have a few songs their that takes my 10/10 vote). But Screaming For Vengeance Screams classic metal in your face Judas Priest style. I saw Judas Priest live with Megadeth & Testament in Dublin for time seeing all 3 I only went for Megadeth Judas Priest something else live, the one thing I remember very clear(I wasn't drunk I just don't have a massive knowledge of Judas Priest's discography) was the song You've Got Another Thing coming of course their was Painkiller and Between The Hammer and The Anvil(some of my personal favrouites) but when they played You've Got Another Thing Coming the atmosphere was electric(eye)(see what I did there) and a great memory for me.

Best here for me is Riding On The Wings an absolute classic my favourite Priest song.

So get ready for some classic british Metal, A must for all metal fans young or old(the old don't to hear about this one).

Because we're Screaming For Vengeance!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
One of the defining albums of the glory years of 80s heavy metal. capturing a band at the height of their powers and featuring the track which brought them stardom in America "you've got another thing coming". From the opening track the Hellion, through "Riding on the Wind" Bloodstone" and more mellower songs like "Chains" and "Fever" the band never sounded so good. With an album as consistent yet varied as this, its just about the best they've ever done. also recommended:- Sad Wings of Destiny, British Steel, Painkiller, and Defenders of the Faith.Mark, UK
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 December 2004
This album really is a five star disc, but the addition of the last two songs wrecks the "feel". Okay, Devil's Child live is good, but as for the miserable, boring, Prisoner'. Well it just doesn't add one jot to the CD. More is sometimes less and I can't understand why one would want to mess with a classic piece of music.
If you haven't got this CD and you are into heavy rock at it's best, then don't hessitate - just go and buy it. If you've already got it then don't worry about getting the last two songs as they are no loss.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2012
I am listening to this album as I write, and it holds up pretty well. The guitar sound on Electric Eye is one of the best ever and as a whole this album is very strong...Halford's performance is phenomenal and ground-breaking.

Judas Priest kept the flame alive through the dark days of the mid 70s when Punk and Disco ruled the earth and we owe them for that. This album though, has one or two tracks that have a lethargic '70s feel to them - but Kill 'em All was less than 12 months away. The good bits of this album look forward to that, the less good look back...

At that time I can remember a lot of bands trying to 'crack America'. The massive irony being that Metallica et al who cracked the world were listening to a lot of British bands and trying to get away from that sound. So a very good album, but if you like your Priest with rougher edges maybe try Unleashed or British Steel first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2004
This album is very good, however I do not wish to talk about the songs, which are well covered in other reviews. My issue with this and indeed all the Judas Priest CD Remasters is they sound awful! They've been very badly remastered and I would urge everyone to try and find one of the original CDs because they sound so much more natural.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2003
I became a huge fan of Judas Priest since I first heard Unleashed in the East in 1979. The Priest was building enormeous momentum in the late '70s, especially by opening to Kiss and more often than not, stealing the show with their raw power and energetic brand of heavy metal. Judas Priest's music was fresh and their attitude made them the new underdog favorites of the new heavy metal scene. Rob Halford's voice and presence ruled the stage.
By 1980, the Priest finally made it relatively big with British Steel. Released in 1982, Screaming for Vengeance emerged with fury after a lukewarm release (Point of Entry). Screaming for Vengenace has plenty of catchy metal riffs, which blended perfectly with Rob Halford's thunderous voice.
However, Screaming for Vengeance's purpose was solely to gain commercial success, and they achieved it. This is one of the better liked productions of the band (as other reviewers have attested). But to me, the majority of the songs in Screaming for Vengeance lack creativity, musicality and power. Also, Rob's lyrical mystique was gone here. Glenn and KK's guitars are very good as usual, although a bit constrained compared to earlier releases. Ian Hill's bass is almost unnoticeable. It also didn't help that the drums are so boring and tepid here. Ex-Trapeze drummer Dave Holland only uses the hi-hat closed in every single song... After the third song I get tired of the same sound over and over. He never bothered to open the hi-hat or to use the ride cymbal at all. Although he had double bass drums, he rarely played them. Sorry, but Judas Priest's music should be played with a fiery drummer. I don't think Holland was even able to play older gems like Exciter or Here Comes The Priest. It was simply impossible for him technically, and this translated to the "just decent" quality of Judas Priest's music circa 1982. If you have never heard the Priest, just listen to any album they released prior to 1980 (with Les Binks and/or Simon Phillips on drums), or to Painkiller in 1990, with Scott Travis bashing the skins. Not a bad album, but not nearly the best from the mighty Priest!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)