Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire DIYED Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
67
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2000
This new offering from BMG is one of the most extensive they have released since the Complete 50s Masters. In one single box we get all of the gospel music recorded by Elvis Presley. That means all the great masters such as How Great Thou Art, Milky White Way, He Touched Me, Bosom of Abraham, I Believe, Peace in the Valley, and all the other well known and much loved songs. But that is only one part of this box's appeal. This set also contains concert recordings, music from Elvis' TV Specials and appearances (including Peace in the Valley performed on the Ed Sullivan Show and How Great Thou Art from the 1977 Elvis in Concert Special), backstage [informal] recordings, and home recordings. Some of Elvis' best work on this set is not the finished masters but the "behind the scenes" recordings such as Show Me Thy Ways Oh Lord. Elvis' dedication to this song (and all the home recordings), although not done originally as something for the public, is astonishing. This is also true of the 1950s recordings at Sun (after Elvis was on RCA)with Jerry Lee Lewis and other Sun stars. This is a truly amazing set that all Elvis fans and gospel fans are going to love. You truly miss out if you settle for Amazing Grace (2 cd set) or any of the single gospel CDs. Those are all great - but this is the ultimate gathering of all aspects of Elvis' love and passion for gospel music.
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2000
Elvis's gospel music has always been a favourite with his fans, and here for the first time all those Gospel classics on one set of 3 CD's. This set contains all of Elvis Grammy awards that he received, ironic that Elvis was and is still known as the King Of Rock'n'Roll, yet the 3 Grammy's were all for his Gospel recordings. How Great Thou Art - Album, He Touched Me - Album & How Great Thou Art - Live recording from Memphis in 1974. This set has all this material plus his first gospel tracks from the 50's including his rendition of "Peace In The Valley" from his last appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show in January of 1957. Also for a better look into Elvis musical roots, we are treated to a few Home Recordings, which show Elvis relaxing and singing songs that he felt happy singing. If your new to Elvis and thought he only sang things like "Hound Dog" this set will show another humble side to Elvis that few really knew, and it All comes out in these recordings every one sung from the heart.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
If you only buy one CD set this has to be it.
I have previously had a few Elvis Gospel CD's that I have now been able to pass on to friends and family. The reason for this is because this set has just about ever gospel song Elvis ever recorded, and he sings them with such a heartfelt passion it's almost impossible to stop playing them. If you are having a bad day and are all stressed out just play any one of these CD's and the stress will fly right out the window, they are that good.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2000
Five stars. The first one for that "Softly and Tenderly" originally performed with Jerry Lee Lewis. Elvis' inspired voice brings joys and faith to those who listen. The second star, for "I Just Can't Make It By Myself". Making the goal clear to everybody. The third star for "How Great Thou Art" is masterpiece with "Amazing Grace". The fourth star goes for the gift of this release that brings the following equation (Christmas = Gospel). If "Seeing is Believin'", earring Elvis' heart trough the music of is soul is finding the way to overcome sadness and tears. Fifth star goes to "You Better Run" and its rhythmic for it talks about real life, our society who will find no peace on earth but "Peace in the Valley" with God children's. Serge Carmel Bourge
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
This is a mixed recording. The first of 3 CD's is good,the second a sort of jam session with a lot of clapping and the third a mixture. Its OK but I only really like the first CD. I was dissapointed overall.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
I got this for my mum after she discovered some of the songs on YouTube. Mum used to listen to lots of the songs she had never heard before on you Tube until they were removed due to copyright infringement or something like that.She really enjoyed a lot of the religious music that Elvis never released . So I researched trying to find those songs and this is what I found. She mostly only listens to one of the CDs, although enjoys all of them, so it turned out to be a very good gift that I'm glad I bought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
Elvis was a great Gospel singer. His approach was personal and never conventional. Well, this can be said of many Gospel singers...

This record contains lots of Elvis' recordings, three CDs and about 60 tracks. This makes it a very good value if you want to buy lots of songs for a really small price.

There are great songs in this record, (Joshua in Jericho, Peace in the Valley, Working in the building...) There is small drawback, however: this is a collection of diverse material. Some of the recordings are not so great, some of them are simply scraps of songs that can't be heard properly. Some are fragments of jam sessions of Elvis and his friends (the Imperials, I think) between recordings.

This, of course, can give you an insigth of Elvis' recording process, of his personal relationship to other musicians, and to his aproach to music.

If you are an Elvis connoiseur this should have a place in your disk collection, but if you simply want to hear his voice and the gospel, then you should buy some other record, more expensive but better edited.
33 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
I already own this set myself but bought it now as a Christmas present for my daughter.What can I say? No-one else has ever come near to Elvis.His voice could embrace all genres of music.I am nearly 70 years of age and the hairs on the back of my neck still stand up when listening to the King.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
I would of give this item 5 star but lost a star because how it was put together, Elvis gospel music is special to any Elvis fan. The first disc is brill and then the second disc starts well and then goes into practice sessions and continues in the 3rd disc. The 3rd disc veries it goes back into recordings then back to practice and then recordings. I would of give it 5 star had it been recordings first then practice on the last, but otherwise it's a good buy to your Elvis collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
This is one of some fantastic Gospel recordings Elvis recorded. You have 2 albums here one is His Hand in Mine and Peace in the Valley..To me Elvis could sing Gospel as it should be sung.Well worth buying and I feel you will enjoy this set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)