Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Wagner - Tristan Und Isolde (Berg) [2008] (NTSC) [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£21.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 8 May 2016
This is excellent.
In Act 1, Isolde's bitter ferocity gets increasingly compelling, and Tristan's despairing numbness lets him plausibly succumb to their intended suicide pact. The switched potions indicates how much dramatic irony can be expected from that point onwards.
Act 2 is especially successful in two ways. One, the lovers' apparent discovery of a different sense of reality is heightened by the move between rooms on stage. Two, their meditation on the different senses in which they might be able to die - from the third part of their duet beginning with Tristan's "Let me die..." to the point where Marke discovers them - is tenderly moving.
The opening of Act 3 is quite stunning - what seems to be a hazy sunrise emerges gradually; it takes on shadowy markings like a skull; then it becomes clear it is the head of the shepherd, the source of the mournful tune which Tristan hears as his destined suffering.
The conclusion is consistent with an impression - building up throughout, in parallel with the increased reverence Brangaene and Kurwenal show for them - that Tristan and Isolde confuse themselves with the deity of love which possesses them. That is one plausible interpretation of their extraordinary passion for a completely different way of existing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2013
The first thing that strikes me is the unusual format of the theatre, the orchestra is in view in background at all times. The chorus sits in between orchestra and stage and rises for their contributions.
The stage is small and revolves to give the appearance of movement as the characters stroll around. It also develops various artifacts to enhance the scene, boats ribs, standing stones, and different surfaces. The characters also go beyond the stage boundaries and contribute from the aprons.
The overall effect is to add mobility to what is a fairly static opera of attitudes, it works very well indeed.
The cast all of whom are strangers to me are very good. Richard Decker is an imposing figure, and presents a stoicism in his moments of stress, his voice is easy on the ear and he sings without strain. Iordanka Derilova is full of passion as Isolde, and is a very rich voiced young lady.
The voice of Wojciechowski (don't ask me to pronounce it) is really strong and he is the pick of the singers.
Paulsen is great as the character Kurwenal, and is quite imposingly dressed, with twin back holstered swords.
Brangane by Alexandra Petersamer has a rich mezzo voice and takes a good part as the well meaning friend.
The costumes are rather strange, somtimes rather modern, sometimes vaguely a bit older, rather indefinate really. They seem slightly out of place but do not distract from the overall production.
This works a lot better than my other version by the Met.
I recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2010
Gwyneth Jones in the Twilight of her career is just not up to Isolde...maybe 10 years before this recording, she may have been quite great both vocally as well as (...ahem....) visually. Her voice just couldn't at the time of recording this, have the kind of power the role demands and had once, although the dedication and emotions are intact.
Kollo is simply great, and I am sure there is no argument on that. The rest of the cast are quite good although as someone suggested somewhere, the role of Brangane could have been allotted to a soprano. Even so, Schwartz does a good job of the role.
What I generally dislike is the sense of balance in the recording. I have heard this one now on two or three sound systems of good quality.
The work as such, is considered generally as more dependent on the interpretation and the power of the orchestral score and how it is brought out. I am sure that in the opera house it must have sounded just gorgeous, but on the recording, it sort of automatically recedes to deep background when the singers are doing their bit. This is more so in the Act 2. Not that the orchestra should overpower the singers, but the balance is just not right. This is very evident when the orchestra plays by itself... It sounds just fantastic as Wagner should.
The overall quality though, is quite passable. I am glad it is in widescreen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2015
I like everything about this dvd; a good production, no regietheater rubbish, Derilova excellent as Isolde, but it is Richard Decker's singing which lets it down. His intonation is terrible, and ruins the opera. I cannot believe he has been given this role.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2016
A really great production from a theatre you don't hear from often. Isolde is stunning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2015
A winderful experience
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 December 2003
A very welcome addition to the growing DVD Opera catalogue which I am sure many Wagnerians will purchase. The reason? Gwyneth Jones and Rene Kollo, two of the most outstanding Wagnerian singers of our time. One of the most difficult operas to sit through due to its reliance on total music and very little action, it almost, but not quite achieve the emotional intensity which Wagner himself was trying to achieve. The production itself which seems surreal may not be to everyones taste, but the singing cannot be faulted. However, Brangaene's warning in Act Two doesnt quite match the famous Karl Bohm's Bayreuth 1966 version sung by Christa Ludwig. Bohm's pace in that version was much quicker, this version is taken at a slower pace, and I am not really sure whether this does work. Still, a very fine production indeed which I am sure will have many admirers. Picture is excellent showing much fine detail in the many dark scenes. Sound is perhaps not quite top notch; maybe its because I have been spoiled by the Karl Bohm version which remains for me the definitive version.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2011
Don't be put off by the fact you haven't heard of the main singers or that this is from a provincial German opera house. The singing is very good indeed, the production is very imaginative, the orchestra is top class. The Dessau opera is a very good company. Their Hansel und Gretel is excellent as well. Buy it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2004
I write in response to the previous review which stated that you should buy this item principally because of the quality of the singing. I cannot resist taking issue with this. Kollo sings to a high standard; but Jones I thought rather weak by comparison with Birgit Nillson and in more recent years Waltraud Meier. She seemed to be straining and at times sounded flat. Oddly, she even made an out and out mistake in the Liebestod. One must bare in mind that Jones was in the twilight of her career in this production; she was vastly better in The Ring under Boulez over a decade earlier.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)