Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
72
3.9 out of 5 stars
How To Lose Friends And Alienate People [DVD] [2008]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(5 star). See all 72 reviews
on 4 March 2017
Very funny, disc was used, i thought it was brand new. Quality was perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
Funny, funny, funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Brilliant. I love it. I love Simon Pegg.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
However, this dvd titled How To Lose Friends & Alienate People touches on the delicate issue of how far can a person reasonably go when aiming for greatness and making a memorable contribution in one’s career. Simon Pegg plays a British journalist who goes to great lengths to make a name for himself in the career arena. The front of the dvd also lists Kirsten Dunst, Danny Huston, Gillian Anderson, Megan Fox, and Jeff Bridges as actors/actresses who star in this film. The following are some of the bonuses associated with this dvd: Audio Commentary With Director Robert Weide and Star Simon Pegg, Audio Commentary With Director Robert Weide, and Sharp Interviews-Making of Featurette. Internet Movie Database lists the movie being inspired by Toby Young’s memoir “How To Lose Friends and Alienate People” and I read somewhere online that this movie was also inspired by a real-life publicist (Gillian Anderson’s character portrayal).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
Amazon's review namechecks Hugh Grant but there really is no comparison because Simon Pegg's character is mercifully shorn of Grant's foppish traits and bumbling apologies. Sidney Young, mistakenly headhunted as a gadfly amongst New York's glitterati and their sycophants, is far too robust a character to be emasculated by any of those soppy scenes Grant used to be forced to do. This is the old fish-out-of-water tale and I really enjoyed the uninhibited English normality, the initial refusal to conform, that Young thrusts into the rather starchy world of the glossy NY magazine. At one time, it would have been a glamorous American shaking things up in the buttoned-up world of the British. Here, the reverse.

Pegg is excellent in the role, really making Young's potentially insufferable twit, well, sufferable. Kirtsen Dunst is charming as the only employee who can tolerate the disaster prone newcomer, and Jeff Bridges, Gillian Anderson and the other cast members all make strong contributions.

I know, it looks dicey, but it's genuinely funny and if you've seen Pegg's earlier work - e.g. Spaced; you have seen Spaced, right? If not, what's wrong with you? - you'll know how entertaining he can be. He throws himself into the part with gusto and if a film like Devil Wears Prada won more acclaim, remember that its fish out of water was acted off the screen by her co-stars.

02/2011 update: just watched it again and I'm moving it up to 5-stars. It's great. Very very funny and charming. Not every great film has to be a hit at the box office.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
Come along all you one stars* it's not that bad. Excruciating and toe curling it may be but it did make me chuckle.
It's no masterpiece and I would have given it four stars but to redress the balance, I'm giving it five.
I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this. It's not for everyone, it is quite funny in a silly way but I laughed out loud a lot and that's all I wanted from this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
This film is so funny I'd recommend it to everyone another one of Simon Peggs films that I enjoy watching over and over
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Great Fun. The only thing that could have made it better would have been if we had seen more of Megan Fox!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)