Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
34
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2006
This is Slade's last number one album released in the first quarter of 1974 just before their popularity started it's gradual decline. I've read some severely mediocre reviews of this album that are totally out of order. This is Slade at their most varied with just about every track suitable for single release. There are ballads, rockers and everything inbetween, rather like a Beatles album in the vein of Rubber Soul or Revolver. Buy it, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Found out this was the No1 album the week a friend was born back in 1974 - and he is a rock fan too - think they liked it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
Ths album that got me into Slade!!! Quite simply brilliant, I never tire of this little beauty, Slade were "growing up" experimenting and developing their musical depth. Still possesing the hard edge with songs like" just want a little bit", My Town to the more flambouyant "find yourself a rainbow" " miles out to sea" which sees Jim Lea on vocals.
Brilliant album from a brilliant band. You will not be dissapointed!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 October 2009
Other reviewers have very eloquently put the case for Slade to be seen as one of the best ROCK bands ever. This is their best album, the most mature yet jubilantly "teenage" album they made, with a variety of styles that lesser groups and artists (I'll take a chance and incur the wrath of T REX fans here by stating that old Marc couldn't deliver a ballad as great as "Everyday" if he tried) just couldn't and indeed still can't match.
Great pop/rock crossovers rarely come off and Slade are in the pantheon of those that did - I'm thinking Oasis, Blur, Showaddywaddy here (OK I'm joking about Oasis) but hopefully you see what I mean.
Where it all went wrong for Slade of course is that they tried to become TOO serious, or were perhaps advised to become so. Not that they were bad at that of course but it just didn't ring true somehow. Perhaps if they had stuck to what they did best they would have easily ridden out punk and who knows, perhaps Live Aid would have kicked off with a rendition of "Cum on feel the noize" rather than "Rocking all over the world"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2006
In my opinion, this is easily Slade's best effort. Fantastic songs (including an amazing opener!) and full to the brim with great, loud rockers (although not as many as their 'Slayed?' album). They even go all vaudville on us with 'Find Yourself A Rainbow'.

There isn't a track to be faulted against on Side One, whereas Side Two; the only song that kind of lets the whole album down is the LOUD croaky 'Don't Blame Me', but that's what to be expected from Slade. Loud and proud!

If you are new to Slade, get this album or their 'Slade in Flame' album. Both are fantastic!

Also, their two best eighties albums are 'The Amazing Kamiakaze Syndrome' and 'Rogues Gallery' if you want to expand your Slade music collection ;)
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2002
I had this album bought for my tenth birthday,a long time ago and whilst having lost the vinyl version along the way I recently bought the CD.Suprisingly and apart from the lack of remastering it sounds every bit as good today as it did then.Slade are much maligned as a glam rock band,and Holder and Leas' songwriting has never been taken seriously.This album is the seventies version of Morning Glory ,pop ,rock boogy even the old pub piano on 'Find yourself a Rainbow' However to anyone who still likens Oasis to the Beatles, they haven't even come close to these boys yet.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2008
This seems one of those albums that was made from all the bits and pieces that they could find laying around at the time. Some really good songs but the album doesnt flow like some of the other albums. Also the remastering didn't seem as good on this album and why did they put the 'melody maker' talking thing on it - thats as bad as putting Xmas songs on albums. Good but not a classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2006
if you love the 70's you must add this to your collection,mixture of pure

brlliance together with noddy's gruff tones everytrack will have you wanting for more,accumalating with the classic song "everyday".If you buy this you have made a sound investment to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Great CD I still have the vinyl copy of this and so had not heard it for a while still playing it again over and over in my car next on the list of Slade cds to buy Nobodys Fools.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Always been a big Slade fan, and these CD re-issues are great value as they normally contain some additional bonus tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)