Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 December 2016
Does not work on all dvd players, when it does not very well and the picture quality is awful, this is not a legitimate DVD copy, do not waste your money on this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2013
If you are looking for action, this isn't a film for you but if you are looking for a film exploring the unusual relationship between three interesting characters unexpectedly thrown together, then you're bound to enjoy this. The characters are well drawn and the acting and soundtrack are excellent. For me, Scarlett Johannson steals the show and is perfectly cast. I liken her character to the role she played in Lost in Translation. - another superb film.
I very rarely write a review, but having watched this last night, I thought I would do my bit to promote such a little known film try and help get it out there to a wider audience.
You can probably tell....I really enjoyed this film!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2015
A wonderful little gem of a movie. All principal actors are fantastic.

On the technical side, the blu-ray it is also really good. Great, relaxed sound, strong, sharp picture.

A positive surprise!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2015
I have only watched a small part of this film so far ,I just love anything Travolta.
The dvd was a bit fiddly at first ,trying to remove the subtitles as instructed was a bit hit and miss .It worked eventually
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2014
Unfortnately couldnt play it as US my mistake as didnt read it properly since bought one I could watch !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2014
good film good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2015
this d.v.d is not compatible with australia i need to buy a dvd that plays different zones! disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 August 2006
A very slow movie that hasn't been made to get ones adrenaline pumping but to invoke more of an emotional response and deeper thought in its viewers.

John Travolta does a pretty good job of playing Bobby Long, a former professor who is now an alcoholic living in someone else's house with a friend named Lawson. When the owner of the house dies he gets in touch with her estranged daughter, Pursy, played by Scarlett Johansson who decides to return home. Unfortunately, she finds out that all three of them own the house and she has to live with 2 middle aged alcoholics one of whom is hell bent on getting her to leave.

The three begin to form an unusual friendship which is the main crust of the movie. There is a bit of a subplot in terms of `why did a professor turn to drink?' `what secret are they keeping from Scarlett?' and the potential romance with Lawson.

The movie unravels at a fairly leisurely pace so don't expect any overly dramatic scenes. It does feature a decent bit of acting from the whole cast and has a lot of fine music too!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2009
I felt a little shocked that this film did not get more favourable reviews, it was slated by the press and actually its far far better than the critics would have you believe.

John Travolta may never give us an oscar winning performance but still does a wonderful job all the same, Scarlett J's southern accent is a little debatable but it grows on you in time.

Overall this is just a brilliant movie, moving and thought provoking against a picturesque backdrop. Definatly worth a look. :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2017
Lively
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)