Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
4.4 out of 5 stars


TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 29 January 2010
This UK studio album has previously been released by Carlton & by Sanctuary on Pulse and appears to date from 1996 and was produced by Gordon Lorenz. The CD is now being reissued by Hallmark as part of their "The Shows Collection" and so far there are over 20 such CDs in the series. In 1964 - Frankie Vaughan had a UK number 18 chart success with "Hello Dolly" backed by "Long Time No See" but this is a much later recording of the song. All the vitality of a seasoned performer is here. Show stoppers from the stage production are given individual stylings by Ruth Madoc and Tracy Collier whilst John Howard gives a traditional reading of his vocals. It was entertaining to hear Ruth Madoc with Kenny Ball in their rendition of the title song which we actually hear 3 times in full on this CD. I am pleased to say that the sound quality is very good and as a studio recording of songs from the show this is well worth listening to along with the other releases currently available. Running time 32 mins and 30 seconds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Wonderful original cast recording.Carol Channing's distinctive voice gives a wonderful.warmth and charm to Dolly Levi.One of the great sing a long shows of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 November 2008
This really is the best recording of the show. I know there are longer versions but this is the original and the one to replace your old LP version which must now be worn out.
In 2008 in the UK we had an excellent profesional tour of the show and it was this CD that made me book for the show! Carol Channing is Dolly, was Dolly and nobody could better her performance.
The CD brings back seeing her on the London stage with Eddie Bracken as Horace and she was brilliant and this studio recording captures all of the razzmatazz. A super reissue of a classic album.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
I have the movie tracks but I wanted to hear what the stage version sounded like as we are about to perform this show and it was interesting to see what we had to live up to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2003
NO NO NO this is not the soundtrack of Hello Dolly, just a cheap compilation with various b list singers-awful
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Received within 24 hours - typical Amazon speedy service. Although the 1965 cast the sound quality is great and recalled happy memories of seeing this show all those years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Hearing Mary Martin who was first to play Dolly Levi in the West End is a great treat. I wish they would now release the vinyl on CD of Dora Bryan who took over from her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
Just what I need for rehearsing for our show in December, but like Barbara Streisand's voice better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2016
As described. Well packed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
Wife loves it, so I'm happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Hello, Dolly! (Original London Cast Recording)
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)