Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.90

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2017
Brilliant album Jeff at his best. Really tight band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
This is one of the best blues albums I have ever heard. What a shame the man left us so prematurely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Mess Of Blues' is an absolutely sensational collection of live, predominantly blues recordings from the sadly departed guitar virtuoso and his brilliant band. If you like blues guitar played with passion and feeling, coupled with a tight, jumping rhythm section then this album is for you. Jeff Healey, in the liner notes, describes his band as "the very best bar band that anyone could ask for" and he wasn't wrong - they're tremendous.

The choices of songs are interesting and varied and make for a rich, eclectic, engaging listen, including tracks such as The Band's 'The Weight', Neil Young's 'Like A Hurricane' and Hank Williams' 'Jambalaya', all performed brilliantly. Standards such as 'I'm Torn Down', 'Mess O' Blues' and 'Shake, Rattle And Roll' are executed as if they're being played for the very first time - no tired run-throughs here. The sound is exceptional and the performances absolutely scintillating, in fact it is difficult to believe that these are live recordings sometimes, they're so incredibly good.

It is an absolute tragedy that Jeff has been taken from us so early in his life, denying the world any more of these solid gold blues albums. This isn't just one of the best albums Jeff has released, this is one of the best modern blues albums ever. Animated, vital, stirring stuff - get yourself a copy and listen to a real legend having the time of his life and sharing it with the rest of the world.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2008
This is a great blues album from him and what a way to end and go out on!
This is a must for any Jeff Healey fans out there!
As to all of us who have come to know his music and is way of playing the guitar, which there is no doubt that he will be always known as the most distinctive guitar player, since Jimi Hendrix.

He was a Light to us all in his music!
Thanks Jeff
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
I bought my copy of this CD in April 2008, not realising that the "guitar man" has only recently passed away at that date. Every time I listen to this Album I am in awe at just what a massive talent Healey was. I am here again to buy the abum for a good friend who is another blues fan. This is the music you can listen to agaian, and again, and still enjoy.

Yes this is a fitting album for the mans talent, and it's a good thing for us he work so hard on this to leave us with such a legacy.

If you like blues you will LOVE this CD. If you would like to learn about blues you will LOVE this CD. And if you want to hear fine guitar playing, with a band having a damn good time making music then you should buy this CD just for the hell of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2008
If you listen to this album it will make you happy and sad at the same time. Happy to listen to such an amazing talent showing the flash and fire of his younger days tempered, added to in fact, by the experience of his years on the circuit. Sad that he will not achieve the complete greatness he was undoubtedly heading for. This is not just a blues album, although everything he did had the blues at its core. A great album.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
I bought this after hearing some Jeff Healey on the radio and it reminded me I still had his first album, but hadn't heard anything for ages.I read some of the reviews of the other albums and decided to download this one. All I can say is it is excellent. A trip back in time to fresh raw sounding blues, played with enthusiasm. The cover versions are great and you can almost 'feel' the enjoyment singing them. This should have a place in anyones collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
You are half way there to getting this cd, so dont think twice and click on to buy.. I'm with the other reviewers, great playing and good sound.. He always tried to give us a mix of music past and present, but i still say the blues was were he was at.. Hendrix, Stevie Ray, he has joined the list of guitar legends.... RIP Jeff...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Mess of Blues is a fabulous album and a fitting testimony to a real blues legend. I saw
Jeff appear at the Roadhouse in Toronto with his band and he was a friendly, chatty, unassuming guy.
The stuff that celebrities are not made of but genuine stars are. Sorely missed but his music lives on!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2008
A pleasure to listen to! Ok, quite a few cover versions, but this is the only guy I know(knew) who sounds better than the original artist!
Hopefully his sad demise will receive new listeners to his music.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£3.99
£6.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)