Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 November 2012
Another purchase based upon ye ole Kerrang channel, saw a track liked it so got the album. THe one track I heard is very different to the rest of the album, but its growing on me...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2005
Once again Coheed have surpassed expectation.As a big fan of Coheed I was also a bit wary of this album coming out thinking it would be the end of the story which I have come to love.This album has everything though catchy riffs amazing lyrics and once again the Coheed esque we have come to love since SSTB.It opens up slow with a musical number then the acoustic song Always and Never which then builds up to the melodic riffs of Welcome Home which are continued through the whole album up intill, Final Cut.I won't give too much away of the story all I can is that it will surpass your expactations just like the 2 previous albums.Thank God for Coheed, this album is surely amazing
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
I thought this was probably the best album I bought of Coheed's but the CD case was damaged and I needed to tape it up a bit. aside from that it was all good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2005
Its been a some time since Coheed & Cambria's last album but the short haitus has proved worthwhile in every sense. Their latest effort is more polished than 'In Keeping Secrets....' in terms of both songwriting & production.
Whilst that album was both refreshing & a genuine surprise back on the musical landscape of 2003 - this album represents a significant & important leap forward for the band since their debut 'Turbine Blade....' appeared on the scene. These new songs show a band reaching out towards their musical & creative horizons.
'In Keeping...' is a good place to start for those not familiar with Coheed's individual sound, whilst also being a good place to pick up the (somewhat unusual)running storyline that runs through the band's catalogue. On hearing that album first earlier this year I was both surprised & encouraged to see that a major label had taken a chance on such a visionary & not necessarily commercial (in terms of the prevailing musical trend) band. Having listened to the album I quickly understood why - Coheed & Cambria are both unique & innovative whilst still being accessible. Their sound is reminiscent of both Led Zeppelin & Rush, brought up to date with somewhat of a hint of an 'emo' type sound (this reviewer hates to pigeonhole - but can think of no other way to describe their sound! - ed) - 'Prog Emo' anyone ?! But anyway this band are clearly about more than genre boundaries....
'Good Apollo...' pushes the envelop further. Following the obligatory intro. we are met with a brave choice - a gentle acoustic passage 'Always & Never' closely followed by the first single from the album 'Welcome Home' - a brilliant song that borrows from Led Zeppelin's 'Kashmir' whilst developing their own sound. Claudio Sanchez' vocals shine through with Birnbaum/Bittner's fantastic production. The twin guitar attack of both Sanchez & Stever at the close of the track will have you reaching for that air guitar in no time. 'Ten Speed' maintains the pace whilst showcasing the growing songwriting talent of the band. The dual guitar playing talent of both Sanchez & Stever has been allowed to come to the fore on this album with great results. 'Crossing the Frame' & 'Once Upon...' cross over on to perhaps more familiar territory whilst 'Wake Up' again shows that this band can do both heavy & introspective equally well - reminiscent of Opeth's ability to cross from extreme riffage to beautiful acoustic soundscapes in the blink of an eye.
The album contines to delight throughout until we reach the closing excerpt 'The Willing Well' - representing the album's most unconventional & challenging set of songs. However, repeated listening will show a band setting the bar higher with a statement of intent for their next effort - which this reviewer hopes will not be too far into the future. Outstanding.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2006
This album is exceptional. It forms a section of the third chapter of one grand concept governing all albums thus far. A concept series then, rather than just a single album, the style of this record is fittingly nebular; it oscilates between manically sinister effect-laden menace, tender, soaring innocence and vehemently twitchy angst. Standout tracks within the first part of the album include the epic call to arms 'welcome home', 'crossing the frame', 'The Suffering', 'The Lying Lies and Dirty Secrets of Miss Erica Court'. Such moments withing this first section give the impression that Co&Ca have really found a solid creative base for their music. Multiple guitars wander through the strange lyrical landscape of 'The Bag.On.Line Adventures' and Claudio Sanchez's vocals predictably excel. The final four songs are the album's real strong point. Ever-difficult to describe, they form almost half an hour of progressive musical experimentation, which masterfully works in melodic themes from previous albums (see also, final track of second album). This album is genius, a timely reward for those who saw potential in the band's inaugural offering.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
One cracking song amongst some really bizzarre, scattered melodicalyl( at times)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Super
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 May 2006
In the grand scheme of things I'd rank this somewhere above Second Stage Turbine Blade and somewhere below In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth 3. The most obvious thing you notice on first listening to it is that stylistically it's quite different from the previous two - the tone is generally darker and heavier, and Claudio Sanchez seems to have deliberately modified his vocals quite a lot. I suppose they would have been criticised a lot more if all their albums had sounded the same, especially since they're all part of the same narrative, but it's a shame that the first impression is of a more traditional studio rock album with a less wildly original sound.

On the other hand, the actual songs have grown on me hugely over time, and my first impression has turned out to be completely wrong. They may sound different, but this is part of the natural evolution of the story, and they're still as complex, catchy and involving as ever. There's a definite structure going on here as well, culminating in track 14, which is not only a reprise of track 6 but briefly revisits songs from the previous two albums as well. The story remains pretty impenetrable, but it seems to concern an older version of the character Apollo from the previous album, with an interesting twist in the form of songs told from the perspective of 'the Writer' - the guy who actually appears to be creating the story and actively torturing the characters within (track 6 is one of my favourites).

In short this album is fantastic, though if you don't own the previous two I'd recommend buying those first, since this one represents a bit of a change of direction. I can't wait to find out where the next one goes, however..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2006
I must admit that when a friend recommended this to me, I wasn't expecting much, I thought it might have been 'just another metal band'.

I was pleasantly surpised.

This is not exactly what I call metal myself, but then again everyone has their own boundaries.I listen to a wide range of music myself. Then again what is metal these days? Anyway on to the album in question.

This is an excellent album,produced in the way of a story. And this story from start to beginning left me hooked. I have not yet listened to it in it's entirity in one sitting, but all the tracks are excellent. From the calm and laid back 'Wake Up' and 'Always and Never', which I must say compliment's Claudio Sanchez's child-like voice, to the riotous and loud anthems of 'Welcome Home' and 'Ten Speed (Of God's Blood and Burial)'which contrast the slower, softer songs perfectly. Not many other metal bands do this, they either attempt it and fail miserably (DragonForce-Inhuman Rampage), or not at all (Trivium-Ascendancy). Listening to an hours worth of screaming isn't really a great album for me.

In summary, I say listen to this if you like the stuff of a metal band, with a few ballads thrown into the mix for good measure.

PS. This is definitely emo. Emo is the stuff of tears. This doesnt make me cry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)