Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 9 March 2015
very good and exciting music of the film soundtrack
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2015
GREAT MUSIC FROM A GREAT FILM
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2011
If I was reviewing this from a purely musical perspective it has to rate as 5 star. David Arnold is just brilliant as a composer for Bond and has the mood just right for the genre with his superb musical scoring. But, and it's a big but, as a soundtrack album it only rates 3 stars - where is the main title track?! Why oh why release a soundtrack album without the main title theme and one of the best ones as well! If you want 'You Know My Name' then I'm afraid you will have to look elsewhere - this is a very serious omission!
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2017
At twenty five tracks this checks in at seventy minutes of background music with the final track being the Bond Theme. 'You Know My Name' does not appear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 June 2009
After the too-often bland mechanics of The World is Not Enough and the unimpressive techno stylings of Die Another Day, David Arnold's score for Casino Royale marked a return to the more John Barryesque approach of his Tomorrow Never Dies, with even a few touches of Stargate in there as well. Despite there being only a few references to the title song (curiously not included on the CD) in the score, there's less of the post-Barry problem of Bond scores with no thematic consistency here, with Arnold's most notable main theme being an insistent, physically aggressive but slightly less relentless than expected action theme. The Bond theme itself only appears in the final cue in a particularly robust retro rendition. There are more quiet moments and sensual this time round over the length of its 74 minutes (City of Lovers probably the best). It's not one of the great Bond scores by any means, but in a poor year for film music it's one of the better recent efforts. Be warned, the track listing contains one massive giveaway if you haven't seen the film yet!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2009
David Arnold's Bond-scores lack warmth and distinctiveness, it's hard to tell one from another, and the lack of stirring romantic themes reminds us that Arnold is not John Barry. That said, David Arnold's Bond-scores, "Casino Royale" included, overflow with energy, and the constant stream of fast-paced, drumbeat-driven tracks always provide a cool, adrenaline-pumping listening experience. There is one strong reason to avoid this album though, as somebody decided not to include the film's theme song, "You Know My Name" by David Arnold and Chris Cornell. You might think this is a scam by the money-greedy Bond-producers to make us buy two discs instead of just one, but according to Wikipedia, it happened because Cornell wanted the song to be "his", so the Bond-fans couldn't have it. Well, either way, there's no end to greedy little people in this world, and obviously the song should have been included. Show them what you think of that, avoid the "Casino Royale"-soundtrack and buy any one of David Arnold's other Bond-scores instead. Chances are that except for the song you won't be able to tell the difference anyway.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2007
What a great soundtrack to accompany the film! The move away from electronic synthesised music to classical instruments is perfect and is in keeping with the earlier classic Bond films.

As mentioned in the earlier reviews this soundtrack has quite a blend of tunes with a great interweaving of the title theme at appropriate moments. My favourite tracks include Blunt Instrument, I'm the Money, Aston Montenegro,Dinner Jackets and The Name's Bond...James Bond.

If this is the way the soundtracks are likely to go I cannot wait for Bond 22! Definitely recommended!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2016
Perfection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2007
This soundtrack is gorgeous. It has some tracks which make the hair on the back of my neck stand on end, it can leave you breathless.

I originally brought it for a very short piece of music in the film where bond tries on a tuxedo, at which point a bass guitar plucks what sounds like an old version of the bond theme with a modern twist, it's called DINNER JACKETS.

I then found others such as AFRICAN RUNDOWN which is the music to the building site scene at the start of the film.

There is another small piece of music called I'M THE MONEY; this is a very short slow version of the main song which is beautiful.

But I think the best piece of music here which all reviewers appear agreed on is BLUNT INSTRIMENT which is an action packet version of the main theme, great stuff.

When they wrote the music for this it feels like they selected all the popular bond music styles old and new and amalgamated them into this, listen and you'll pick up some of the panpipe type golden eye music, some old Connery and Moore stuff too.

All in all this is a long soundtrack which is exhilarating and relaxing, if you're a fan of this film or bond themes in general this is a must have as it rates high in comparison to some soundtracks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 December 2006
I recently saw the impressive new Bond film with my parents and was completely taken with the film score by David Arnold. So much so that I felt compelled to purchase it. In my view, with this superb CD, David Arnold has produced some of his finest work to compliment one of the best Bond movies.

The brass and percussive hues that burn throughout the score are mesmerizing. From the opening track, 'African Rundown' which is a near 7 minute epic of percussion and African drums mixed in beautifully with the rest of the orchestra. Another epic track is the explosive and grand piece called 'Miami International'.

Other favourites of mine are 'Solange', a short but memorable piece, 'Stairwell Fight', 'Vesper' and possibly 'Death of Vesper'. The end track is the favourite theme of Bond in 'My Name is Bond...James Bond'. What a way to finish off the film and also this outstanding CD. I've only listened to it all the way through once, but I will listen to it some more. This is one of my favourite film soundtracks I've listened to. It has raw power in the opening track with the percussion rhythms and flare moving on through the emotional side of Bond to the fire and passion of 'Trip Aces' and the epic expanse of 'Miami International'. This track is impressive, powerful and runs in at a staggering 12 mins 40 secs.

What we have here is possibly one of the best film scores of the year so far. David Arnold's Casino Royale is engaging and brilliant. Out of all his scores for the Bond films, I would quite easily say that this one is his best work by a long way. It fits in effortlessly with the film and, like Daniel Craig as Bond, is very smooth and cool. I know that it doesn't feature the Bond song by Chris Cornell, but don't let that detract from this brilliant recording. A hit.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)