Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
10
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2007
These songs all sound lively,with good backing voices and Gloria singing well.If you want something to dance to this cd is for you.But Gloria has done traditional musical styles much better before on her album Mi Tierra ,where the tracks are more original and have a greater variation in pace and styles (she uses more of her vocal range on Mi Tierra too).
I think Mi Tierra takes longer to like but is something that the listener will keep putting on the cd player for a long time to come.But,I have to say,as a compilation of fast-paced and upbeat music 90 Millas is as good as I've heard in the Latin category.In case you are wondering:90 Millas - 90 miles - is the distance across the sea from Key West in Florida to Cuba,Gloria's home country.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2007
If your a lover of Gloria Estefan's latin music then this will not disappoint, it's latin grooves will have you thinking you where basking in the sunshine in the middle of Parliment Square in Havana. Gloria goes back to her Cuban roots as she did with "Mi Tierra" and the outcome is fantastic. Do not hesitate - BUY IT!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2007
If your a lover of Gloria Estefan's latin music then this will not disappoint, it's latin grooves will have you thinking you where basking in the sunshine in the middle of Parliment Square in Havana. Gloria goes back to her Cuban roots as she did with "Mi Tierra" and the outcome is fantastic. Do not hesitate - BUY IT!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2008
For my taste, this is a fabulous record, in the lines of Alma Caribena.
Excellent recording fidelity, expert arrangements, beautifull vocals and overall proficient choice of material. Very enjoyable. Get it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
I'm amazed that several people have left comments that this rather soft, middle-of-the-road piece of American pop music is somehow Cuban music. Yes, it's sung in Spanish - and Ms. Estafan's family came from Cuba - but where's the meat? Which Cuban CD sounds anything like this stuff?
Having been a pop singer for many years, Gloria suddenly discovered her Cuban family roots and her parents anti-Castro-ism. I guess it would be too cynical to say if you buy into the American dream, leave your homeland and become an American then there's a musical price to pay....and this rather tepid CD is a testament to that.
Do yourself a favour and listen to something by real Cuban musicians who didn't run away to America. Here's a few Cheo Marquetti,BVSC PRESENTS... ,That Cuban Cha Cha Cha ,Buena Vista Social Club Presents Manuel Guajiro Mirabal ,Mucho Sabor ,Beny Moré: The Very Best. Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
I PREFER THIS CD AS IT IS SUNG IN HER FIRST LANGUAGE. BETTER THAN HER ENGLISH CD'S AS IT IS LESS COMMERCIAL AND HAS MORE FEELING. 90 MILLAS; 90 MILES IS THE DISTANCE OF CUBA FROM MAINLAND USA.

ENJOY
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2010
This is a fantastic CD. The music is Latin rhythms as it best with very good musicians. The Cuban heritage regarding music can clearly be heard and it is easy to dance to. In my opinion this is the best record Gloria Estefan has done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
If you're a fan, you'll love this one, if you're new to Gloria, you have much to catch up on...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Gloria on cruise control.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
Different!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)