Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2017
enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Good sounds from a great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
Very satisfied thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Liked some of the tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2006
Soundtracks aren't usually my thing. 'Kingdom of Heaven' is an exception to this rule.

Strap it onto your player, put on the sunblock, and close your eyes!

There isn't a bad track on this disc, in my humble opinion. Each one is a beautifully crafted gem. Good music is like a TARDIS, taking the listener to places and times beyond the reach of our everyday lives. I am not musically gifted. I cannot describe these brilliant compositions in technical terms, but I can tell you how they made me feel and where they took me.

Experience the thick, red heat of that Jerusalem sun as you swelter and stink within your heavy armour. Then, just when you've almost been roasted alive, strip off and feel the cool night breeze, as it blows in from the desert, playing upon your fevered skin. Then, lie back in the sand, watch the stars and listen to those angels sing!

Atmopheric? Magical? Yup!
33 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2005
This is a stirring soundtrack with just the right mix of both orchestral overtones, ethnic music with a middle-eastern flare and a sense of the underlying religious connotations of Crusades with the almost Gregorian chants/vocals.
The whole CD just sweeps on by, through it's ups and downs, matching the emotions of the movie very well, and while no one track really sticks out from the others, the CD as a whole is beautiful. Highly recommended for fans of the movie or fans of this genre of music.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2005
Harry Gregson-Williams proves himself a very good composer through this album, the score to Kingdom of Heaven, which he took over from Hans Zimmer. He's done a brilliant job with some varied music that creates a suitable ambience to the film.
The tracks are all different, ranging from Gregorian chants, to ethnic Middle Eastern wailing, to heavy war drumming, to string orchestras. This score definately helps bring a film that is awesome in parts, to life. I found myself listening to this a whole handful of times. It's light music and easy to listen to. I do recommend it if you're into scores.
I thought it was a shame that they did not include the song "Vide Cor Meum" by Danielle Niesse which features in Hannibal, a harrowing track full of violins and Latin singing. Nevertheless, it's all still compelling stuff. I hope that Gregson-Williams continues to make scores like this.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2005
though i haven't seen the film, i am a fan of Ridley Scott and his ability to get the best out of his movie composers. and this one does not dissapoint, it's a cross between Black Hawk Down and The Passion of the Christ...but more pacey and more cultural than the latter, the mix of Arabic and orchastra is heavenly yet breathtaking with its frantic pace yet with the pure moments of mirth and sorrow making it a roller coaster of moods and emotions. i definite must for movie score fans.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The film Kingdom of Heaven came under some heavy criticism when it was first released; with the subsequent release of the extended cut, some of that criticism has abated, but there still remains a good deal of somewhat legitimate dislike of certain aspects of the film.

However, even if one wishes to argue that Ridley Scott's historical works since Gladiator pale in quality to the original, one cannot say the same about the soundtrack of Kingdom, which is, at the very least, equal to Zimmer's on Gladiator, and to my ears, better.

More than anything, the soundtrack is evocative and at times, hauntingly beautiful, conveying very well the contrast between the obvious splendour and magnitude of the achievement of the crusaders with the innate wrongness of what they are doing; in both 'Crusaders' and 'The Battle of Kerak', one hears both the martial beating of hoofbeats and heroic charges countered by the mournful and chilling choral work, further juxtaposed against the Islamic elements on the soundtrack. The rest of the soundtrack follows suit, and there's not a dud among the track listing, all of which are highly atmospheric.

By all accounts, this is a different soundtrack from Gladiator; it is, for the most part, a lot less warm and comforting than Zimmer's work, but in my humble opinion, KoH is a sublime match for it. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
I don't know if it was Ridley Scott's intention to emulate the epics of the past with his fine production of "Kingdom of Heaven", it certainly seemed so when I saw the director's cut of the film, complete with intermission and Entr'acte This version might not have gone down well with some modern viewers, but it hit the mark with me. This is old school movie presentation, and all the better for it.

Likewise, the CD of Harry Gregson-Williams excellent score took me back to vinyl albums of the great film composers. Miklos Rozsa, the master of the historical score, stated that his LPs should be arranged specially for home listening. Stating the obvious of course, but this often meant you didn't always get what you'd heard in the film, the albums were fine for the average cinemagoer, but the real "Buff" wanted more, Overtures, Intermission music and Exit music. Thankfully, all this has now come to pass, mainly through CDs, and an appreciation of the art of film composing.

My knowledge of music is limited to listening, so I can't comment on the the actual construction of this score. All I can offer is my opinion that you don't have to be able to read music in order to hear, and feel it. The score compliments the film movingly, the CD of the score stands on its own, even without the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.69
£13.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)