Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 1999
This is DB's best album by far. It has all the energy of the old DB in the tracks 'Queen of the New Year', 'Real Gone Kid' & 'Fergus Sings the Blues'. However, it also has the classic DB love song 'Love and Regret'. Combine that with the fact that it has 'Circus Lights' on it, which for some reason does not appear on their compilations (even though it is one of their best songs) and you have one cracking album - BUY THIS ONE!!!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
Never had this album first time round but glad i bought it now. Remembering the famous tracks from this album that got released as singles ( many years ago in my youth) decided to give this a go. Glad i did. Its just got that brilliant late eighties getting ready to edge into the nineties sort of sound ( if that makes sense?) and on special edition coloured vinyl (its a pinky red colour) lp aswell, it sounds just the way it was intended. So if you like me are of a certain fourty something age and wanna go back to the days of ya faded levi jeans worn with ya flowery shirt and doc marten shoes and ya floppy curtains hair ( yes we did it first you young'uns!) then get this brilliant piece of nostalgia.. . . On vinyl of course!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2016
When your first album is as good as "Raintown", it's always going to be hard to follow something that superb up and maintain the same high level, but this comes close, with lots of great songs and some classic singles. Add on top of that the extra tracks and dvd, and you're onto a winner!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2012 REISSUE ***

Named after the last track on Side 1 of Steely Dan's 1977 masterpiece "Aja" - 1989 was a breakthrough year for the Scottish Soul-Rock band Deacon Blue. Following on from the promise and songwriting sophistication of their 1987 major-label debut "Raintown" - their bombastic 2nd album "When The World Knows Your Name" delivered them a deserved Number 1 slot in the UK album charts in the Spring of that explosive year.

Featuring a truckload of hit singles (5) and a flashy gatefold sleeve with a lavish inner - this was CBS telling the world they believed in their boys and girl. And they were right too. Even now on this superb 2012 comprehensive Edsel reissue - the album still sounds incredibly confident (if not a little dated production-wise). Here are the finite details...

Released 22 Oct 2012 in the UK (16 Oct 2012 in the USA) as a 3CD/1DVD mini hardback book set - Edsel EDSJ 9003 breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (78:04 minutes)
Tracks 1 to 13 are the album "When The World Knows Your Name" released April 1989 on CBS 463321 (1, 4 and 2 after the catalogue number for LP, MC and CD).
Tracks 14 to 20 are BONUS TRACKS - non-album sides from the "Real Gone Kid" and "Wages Day" 7", 12" and CD single formats on DEAC 7 [tracks 14 to 17] and DEAC 8 [tracks 18 to 20]

Disc 2 (62:42 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 13 are more BONUS TRACKS - non-album sides from all formats for "Wages Day", "Fergus Sings The Blues" and "Love And Regret" on DEAC 8 [track 1], DEAC 9 [tracks 2 to 5] and DEAC 10 [tracks 6 to 13]

Disc 3 (69:26 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 9 are more BONUS TRACKS - non-album sides from "Queen Of The New Year" [tracks 1 to 9]
Tracks 10 to 16 first appeared on the 2LP/2CD compilation album "Ooh Las Vegas" in September 1990 [reached Number 2 on the UK LP charts] which featured "When The World..." outtakes

DVD contains 6 Promo Videos - "Real Gone Kid" Version 1 and 2", "Wages Day", "Fergus Sings The Blues", "Love And Regret" and "Queen Of The New Year".

The album opens strongly with "Queen Of The New Year" and just never lets up - hit and after hit. But I particularly like the lesser-heard "Joshua Tree" feel to "Circus Lights" and the Talking Heads jaunt of "Silhouette" combining so well with the unexpected loveliness of "Sad Loved Girl" and "Orphans" (lyrics from it title this review) showing the band actually had real soul amidst all the pop. Mark Feltham of Nine Below Zero adds great harmonica backing to "Love And Regret" and while RICKY ROSS seems to grab the lion's share of the songwriting limelight - keyboardist JAMES PRIME is due an honorary mention too - especially for "Fergus Sings The Blues" and the truly gorgeous "Sad Loved Girl". The PHIL KINRADE remaster doesn't seem to have messed with the original that much - it's just punchier. Superb B-sides "Little Lincoln" and the happy vibe of "Born Again" have benefitted from that sonic upgrade. In fact "Born Again" could easily have been another hit single - "...Feel like a new man...with the whole world in my hand...ooh babe...I'm born again..." Those lyrics must have felt true to Ricky Ross and Lorraine McIntosh back in 1989 - as the songs flowed like wine.

BONUS MATERIAL.
There was a time when DEACON BLUE 12" and CD singles used to go for real money precisely because their non-album sides were considered to be so good - and in some cases - better than what was on the album (with all its need to be commercial). Listening to Disc 2 and 3 - it's easy to hear why. There is some amazing stuff on here - "London A to Z" and "Back Here In Beanoland" while the 'Long Version' of "Sad Loved Girl" running to 3:17 is truly gorgeous stuff - as opposed to the album cut which is a snippet at 1:11 minutes. The only real dogs on here are the extended 12" mixes which all sport the usual Eighties excesses that now sound so unlistenable.

Another downer for me is the uber-polished Eighties production which drenches everything is super-slick sound and huge drums. Tracks like "The World Is Hit By Lightning" seems to want to hit you with instrument pop-ups every few seconds instead of concentrating on getting an actual song out. In fact I've found that many remastered 1980's albums are like this - there's something about the way they were recorded that gives a subsequent remaster a slightly disjointed feel to the whole sound stage. A personal opinion but one worth mentioning...

But these are minor quibbles in what is an astonishing overview of a great album. As you can see in the list provided below, Edsel have done Deluxe Editions on their whole catalogue and more - and they're to be praised for these superb presentations pitched at a more than reasonable price. Coming after the questionable and hugely disappointing reissue of Peter Gabriel's "So" which offers bugger all to long-suffering fans - this is one of those rare occasions where quality and quantity make good bedfellows.

In "Fergus Sings The Blues" Ricky Ross sings "...Can this white man sing the blues?"

Hell yes is the answer. And his band played a blinder too...

PS: the DEACON BLUE titles is this 2012 series are
1. "Raintown" (1987) - Deluxe 3CD/1DVD Edition on Edsel EDSJ 9002
2. "When The World Knows Your Name" (1989) - Deluxe 3CD/1DVD Edition on Edsel EDSJ 9003
3. "Fellow Hoodlums" (1991) - Deluxe 2CD/1DVD Edition on Edsel EDSG 8021
4. "Whatever You Say, Say Nothing" ((1993) = Deluxe 2CD/1DVD Edition on Edsel EDSG 8022
5. "Homesick" (2001) - 1CD Expanded Edition on Edsel EDSA 5015
6. "The Rest" (2012 Compilation) - Deluxe 2CD/1DVD Edition on Edsel EDSG 8023
7. "The Hipsters" (2012 New Album) - Edsel DEACON 001
77 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
I love this album. It was a classic of it's time and still sounds great almost 20 years later. I have only ever purchased 2 albums where the music sounded so familiar I could have sworn I had heard it before , but knew I hadn't. This is one of them. It's a happy album for me, good for driving to or just listening to. I am really pleased to have re-aquainted myself with these sounds.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Deacon Blue came onto the scene probably at the right time in the late 1980s when the charts were being ruled by the bubblegum pop scene and Stock Aitken and Waterman.

The album saw a mixture of rock, pop and soul and every song on the album is well crafted. The album was the follow up to the successful Raintown. The album went to number one in the UK charts and 5 singles were released and all went top 30. It features the classic Real Gone Kid and this is followed up by Wages Day, Fergus sings the blues, Queen of the new year and Love and regret.

The album displays the classic boy v girl with Ricky Ross and Lorraine Mcintosh providing excellent lyrics and vocals. They could play loud and also slow it down and the album ends with 2 great songs Your Constant Heart and the haunting Orphan a perfect way to end the album.

A real classic album from the 1980s with a bit for everyone, no real weak songs on this album and a well crafted album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
For some reason I never bought this. Knew and liked the many singles that came off it, but didn't bother with the album itself ... but I caught up with them live in 2012, loved them, finally bought it ... what a treat! Song after song of outstanding class and quality. The first four tracks, singles all, make it more like a Greatest Hits than a standalone album, but they could have hit the top 20 with several more. Standout moment is when Lorraine gets a brief few solo words ... like Wendy in Prefab Sprout, but with more 'oomph', she adds beautiful feminine colour to the songs. And Scotland's Mr Sport, Dougie Vipond, drives the whole confection like a train - a great drummer. Was there ever a better, thumping intro than 'Real Gone Kid'?

So I find myself, at 55, catching up with an album that takes me right back to ... ["1987 ... 1988 ... 1989"], even with songs that I only just heard ... better late than never. Don't miss out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2008
This album was really underated and never appears on lists of 'top' albums for whatever reason, but if you like DB then buy this ASAP. The best they made by a long way.

Its one of the best of its time and every track is excellent in its own right. I had it back in '89 but dont know what happened to it, I'm going to order this now, and I cant wait.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Replacing my old vinyl and enjoying which was one of my favourite albums, to refresh my memory before going to see them in concert in December
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
I purchased the reissue. Gatefold.Beautiful red vinyl and sounds great (even on my 1992 record player). Very pleased. Nice price also.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)