Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Germ Free Adolescents (Deluxe Edition)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 June 2017
Hadn't listened to this since I was a kid and brought back a lot of memories, every song on this vinyl played perfectly. Now I am hoping that Amazon will finally get me the radioactive vinyl soon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
I'm germ free
Brilliant music.
Ta!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
great lp
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Brings back great memories. Such a good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Great seller, everything ok. Thank You.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
I'm a bit of a sucker for these deluxe albums and by and large I've been fairly pleased with them. This is probably the 5th incarnation I've had of this album, so you can tell that I like it!

However, the last version I bought, entitled Anthology, which combined the Germ Free album with a live recording is probably a better package than this one.

Disc 1 of this set has the Germ Free album together with the singles and BBC sessions from the John Peel show; as far as I know this is the first time these recordings have been made available.

The second disc has demo and instrumental recordings and for the most part the sound quality is poor. The performances sound pretty good but the compressed sound makes listening tiring. The last few demos and instrumentals (the better sounding ones) were also included on the Anthology set mentioned above.

So on the plus side, you do get the Peel recordings here but most of the demos aren't really worth having and the best ones are available elsewhere.

So my advice would be: if you don't know much about X-Ray Spex then seek out the original 1 disc album featuring the album and the singles; if you want more then try to find the Anthology set, although it doesn't look as if this is available anymore, at least not from Amazon; and if your still want more then try this set but take on board my reservations about the poor sounding demos.
22 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Classic "f*** you" punk rock from the little girl from Somalia. RIP Poly xx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
This is probably the greatest punk album EVER! Poly Styrene was an absolute legend. As if the album wasnot brilliant enough to begin with, this copy had some fantastic extras. Buy it ... play it LOUD ... and NEVER forget the genius that was Poly Styrene!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
Blistering, mind blowing X Ray Spex tracks that never get old and would smash everything else off the stage within a 5 mile radius these days.
Sounding as fresh and new as the day they came out, this really IS one of the pivotal punk albums with incredible musical talent, social and political messages of the time that are as relevant today as ever.
An absolute barnstormer, play it before you go out and play it LOUD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)