Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
76
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2007
Well, I was there back in 1985 when this album was a must-have and was played in student halls of residence up and down the country. It was just about perfect then, and still is.

The revelation is the bonus disc of acoustic versions: this on its own would qualify as one of the best albums of 2007, a 're-release' or not.

It doesn't matter if you're not a Sprouts fan: if you appreciate quality music of the sensitive singer-songwriter variety, I can't imagine how anyone wouldn't love this acoustic material. As a huge fan of Elliott Smith and The Blue Nile, this is now one of those indispensable albums of staggering beauty and subtlety.

Still some of the best lyrics every written:

"The sunlight makes a fence out of the forest

But here I am with head inside the bonnet ...

I've lost just what it takes to be honest."

Paddy's voice is exceptional, light and intimate in tone, hitting some rare and beautiful low notes here for a change. The multi-layered acoustic guitars create a detailed fabric of warm sound which, even without a vocal, would be worth a listen on its own.

It's very rare I get this enthusiastic about 'new' music, but this is exceptional. The kind of record you want to tell all your friends about. Makes you want to say God Bless Paddy, and without a trace of irony. Makes you want to swoon ... a lot!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
One of the best song writers ever with a brilliant producer. Only with time and perspective does the true value of this album in its various forms stand up. Re recorded, re mastered or just on the plain compact cassette that i fist played it end to end, endlessly. The craftsmanship, the melodies, the melancholy. I cannot recommend this album highly enough. There isn't a highlight or a filler, there is light and shade. Sadly so often played that I could probably just hear a initial note or chord and play the whole thing on in my head. I recommend you familiarise yourself until you too can do the same. It will be time and emotion well invested.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
The Prefab Sprout masterpiece that is STEVE McQUEEN is well known by now by those who seek intricate yet accessible pop songs with intelligent lyrics with a startling poetic intensity...So, the very special reason for buyng this particular remastered version of that masterpiece is the extra disc of acoustic, unplugged versions, which are out of this world...Yes, Paddy McAloon has done the unthinkable. He's interfered with his magnum opus and, well, made it better. The acoustic versions on the extra disc strip the original songs to their basics, but in doing so highlight the exceptional lyrics (it's often about the boldness of carefully placed repetitions of words and phrases that quickly gain in intensity) and Paddy's bittersweet sensitive vocals. The achingly long double-tracked guitar intro to 'Desire As' is utterly magnificent, one of many unexpected highlights in how it offers a heartbreaking deferred gratification on a poignant scale that eventually leads to the greatest of Prefab Sprout songs. There are so many breathtakingly wonderful moments on this extra disc that I won't spoil your enjoyment by attempting to list them. Anyway, you will have your own favourite moments, which is really what matters in the long run. This music reaches out in a subtle, intelligent, infectiously catchy way.

The original album is perfect as it stands, but the extra tracks on the second disc are more than anyone who loves Prefab Sprout could have hoped for. Make a friend of this album and you will never be alone.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
as I remember excellant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2007
i grew up as a teenager in the eighties, while friends bopped to 'a-ha' or rocked to 'status-quo' i quietly pursued the works of Mr. Mcaloon and Co., during these formative years it was he along with Matt johnson (the The) and Morrisey/Marr that taught me the 'rules' of good song writing.
So with great joy i discovered that Paddy had re-recorded a collection of songs from his definitive masterpiece 'Steve McQueen'.
I played the CD of the new workings once, I cried, I played it again, i laughed, I played it time and time again, each time renewing different emotions re-released from a decade long gone. i played it home, I played it in the car, at work, I ran thru the fields naked chanting the lyrics to 'bonny'.....ok slight embelishment...anyhow,
Paddy, thanks for this rework, thanks for eveything you've ever done, no one has ever or will ever compare to you.
you are the Master!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2007
Got this for my birthday and am so so pleased. Have loved Sprout since my sixth-form days (quite a while ago...)and have yet to find another songwriter who quite hits the mark the way Paddy McAloon does. Rediscovering much-loved Steve McQueen tracks on the accoustic disk, so creatively and beautifully done, is quite mind-blowing. Paddy's voice is richer and even more expressive these days. For fans who already have Steve McQueen from first time round, I cannot emphasise enough - get this new one. For those who have yet to discover Prefab Sprout - there's a fantastic back catalogue awaiting you out there.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Not as good as I remembered it being
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2007
Steve McQueen is an album I've been hoping to be re-mastered for years, along with Prefab's other great album, Jordan: The Comeback. Jordan was an incredible album packed with great songs diverse both musically and lyrically. SM was, however, more ethereal in its production with a sound that really has not been duplicated, ever. Most people who listened to their first record, Swoon, are aware that Thomas Dolby, the producer, had an enormous influence on the outcome of SM. Not only is the production different but the structure of the songs is better crafted. Having at first listened to SM as a record, I always felt that the CD version lacked depth. It must be added that the CD version I am used to is the American version of SM (called Two Wheels Good because the estate objected to the title). That version included a fantastic extended version of Faron Young, a great county cover of He'll Have To Go and one more track. When Love Breaks Down is also in an inferior state on Two Wheels Good, being slightly edited and mixed

Now, more than 20 years after its initial release the album has been re-released, re-mastered by Thomas Dolby himself. The extra tracks from Two Wheels Good are nowhere to be found. That is understandable since Dolby had nothing to do with that production and they were also not really part of the original Steve McQueen release. On a brighter note, the better version of When Love Breaks Down is intact.

Although some recent re-mastered versions have improved the sound quality significantly, often it is simply because the transfer to the CD was initially incredibly sloppy. Despite not being satisfied with the sound quality of Two Wheels Good, I cannot say that it was bad. Many CD releases in their early stages simply were substandard and TWG was actually above the average for that period sound quality wise. This makes the difference even more astonishing. It is as if the music was transferred into 3-D. Not only is there (much) added depth, the clarity and yet softness is way beyond what I am used to. I even suspect that Dolby may have done some subtle re-mixing to obtain this effect because this is better than most productions done even in today's standards. The only re-release that I can think of having been re-mastered closely as well is Fleetwood Mac's recent 2-CD edition of Rumours, but that version was initially transferred in an atrocious manner. This re-mastered version would be worth the price alone.

There is, however, an extra CD included in this release. Paddy McAloon decided to re-record acoustically 8 of the 11 songs from SM, as opposed to the usual demo/different versions/live versions/omitted tracks route. This is admirable both in regards of bothering to set so much effort in a re-release project (recording of the acoustic set took supposedly much longer than the initial one) and also taking the chance re-recording classics that probably are a hard act to follow. What surprised me is how complex the arrangements are. Instead of Paddy strumming through the tracks with a guitar in his hands, most of the songs are complex interactions of guitars woven together. Many of them are also re-arranged in a fashion that they are almost like different songs. This works well on most of the songs but it most be kept in mind that in general people listening to these tracks are biased, being used to the older versions, including me.

The standout track is, surprising, Desire As. The acoustic version is almost unrecognizable from the original one and, dare I say, better than the original one. Another track which falls into that category is When the Angels, a lovely version that brings the text more to life. The two tracks that I feel are lacking are Bonny and Goodbye Lucille #1. Bonny is my favorite Prefab Sprout track, period, so maybe that makes it simply almost impossible for me being unbiased, but the singing is way below Paddy's usual standards and the arrangement lacks cohesion. Goodbye Lucille #1 needed actually more re-arranging because the vocal interaction makes the song special but with only one voice it does not work out. Faron Young has a Western feel in this arrangement and becomes very addictive after a few listens. When Love Breaks Down, however, has a sweet feel, approaching the performance with a gentle approach once again but from a different angle. Trying to maintain an objective stance, I rate this version as a 4 star record.

This set, however, is a 5 star project, both sonically and musically and very worth purchasing, both for those who own it already and others who still lack one of the most ethereal and stunningly produced releases in the last few decades.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2003
When answering the eternal question "what is your favourite album of all time?",the usual suspects come to mind...Revolver,Aja,It's too late to stop now......However it is this album'Steve McQueen'that wins out each time.It is quite simply superb;from the country parody of Faron Young to When the Angels,each track creeps up on you and stays forever.Having originally owned the vinyl version,I must admit that side 2 was neglected for some time due to the strength of side 1.However this only delayed the pleasure of discovering the gems on this side.I cannot recommend this album highly enough.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)