Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
34
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2012
Etta James has the classical voice for this genre of music. Easy to listen to but emotional at the same time. I listen to it in the car, but not sure I should as I tend to drift off with the atmosphere. If you like Blues, you've got to have this in your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
very good we enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
If you like Blues and Etta James this has to be in your collection. Unlike the music of today this is Blues in the old style and the words can be heard. I have 3 CDs in my collection by Etta James and rate this as one of her best. Sorry but 5* just not enough.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 February 2016
CONTENT:

“Blues to the Bone” by Etta James, her 32rd domestic album release by RCA Victor in 2004, contains 12 songs. I have compiled a song listing as follows:

LP “BLUES TO THE BONE” (Etta James)(RCA Victor 60644)(2014):
01 Got My Mojo Working
02 Don’t Start Me to Talking
03 Hush Hush
04 Lil’ Red Rooster
05 That’s Alright*Etta’s personal favourite.
06 Crawlin’ King Snake
07 Dust My Broom
08 The Sky Is Crying
09 Smokestack Lightnin’
10 You Shook Me
11 Driving Wheel*Etta’s personal favourite.
12 Honey, Don’t Tear My Clothes

POSITIVE POINTS:

1 After watching “The Martin Scorsese Presents (The Blues)”, it somehow ignited the fire within Etta James to create the current Blues CD with 12 wonderful songs. Thank you, Martin. And thank you, Etta.
2 The sound is very well remastered. Of course, the spine-tingling voice of Etta James is the centerpiece. The backing band was also up to the task, with her sons Donto James on drums and percussion, and Sametto James on bass.
3 There is an 8-page booklet with an informative essay by Lithofayne Pridgeon.

NEGATIVE POINT:

None.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Etta James was born Jamesetta Hawkins on January 25, 1938 in Los Angeles, California. She was nicknamed “Miss Peaches.” She has a long illustrious career. Her singing style spanned a variety of music genres including blues, R&B, soul, rock and roll, jazz and gospel. She has frequent bouts of heroin addiction, but finally cured in the late 1970s. In 1996, her album “Mystery Lady: Songs of Billie Holiday” won Best Jazz Vocal Performance Grammy. She was diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease in 2008. She died of leukemia on January 20, 2012 (age 74). Her mighty, moving voice is sorely missed.

After collecting all her 123 songs (as singles, except one song “Bring It on Home to Me” her duet with Tony Orlando), I am in the process of collecting all her domestic albums. “Blues to the Bone” is her 32nd album release (excluding live albums) and is also found in the “Complete Private Music Albums Collection” box set. The entire album is totally enjoyable, and will be treasured. Etta and Blues are perfect combination. Naturally this set is highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
Etta James has really nailed the very essence of the blues on this outstanding album! She sings with passion and real feeling to bring out the meaning of the songs. There isn't a bad track on this collection and that is something you can't say about many albums. If you are a true fan of the blues then this album without doubt deserves a place in your collection. Buy it! I guarantee you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's the great Etta james and {for what it's worth} it won a Grammy for Best Traditional Blues Album, so it was never going to fall below a certain standard. It doesn't, and it's a generally enjoyable set of twelve classic blues numbers sung with care and feeling by Etta, but sadly missing both variety of dynamic and that extra ounce of soul we know Etta once had oozing out of her in spades.
There's a lovely version of the wonderful Elmore James song The Sky is Crying, and a nice take on Little Red Rooster, but too much of it plays safe, with an unfortunate Smokestack Lightnin' that had me longing for the wailing of the Wolf.
However, it's still pretty good, Etta was singing well enough in 2004, and the band ~ which includes her two sons ~ rocks like crazy, with harmonica well to the fore much of the time.
I loved Etta James, and this hasn't altered my devotion one whit, but it isn't a great blues album, merely an intermittently good one, with moments of magic.
Mojo working? Most of the time, oh yes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2005
I've been a fan of Etta's for nearly 40 years, and I especially love her blues material, but, frankly, this isn't her best shot at it. Most of the songs are covers of the songs that made me get into the blues in the first place, such as 'Don't Start Me Talking', 'Smokestack Lightnin' and many more, but the sad fact is that she doesn't really seem to put her heart and soul into it, just, well, run through a collection of standards. The only one that really seems to work for me is 'Crawling King Snake', which has a slightly unusual arrangemnet which lifts it out of the ordinary. Her attempt at 'howlin' (like the Wolf) is, frankly laughable. Most of the tracks don't really stack up against the originals, admittedly a pretty tall order since they were so great. All a bit sad, in my opinion. At least I must say it's great to hear her singing the blues again, and seemimgly in good health. I hope she makes many more blues CD's.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
If you're looking for Etta James' blues all in one place, this is a must! I absolutely recommend it. Spot on!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
This is one of the best blues albums I've bought. Her voice isn't what it was but I don't think this detracts from the sound. I've been a fan of hers for years, but have never liked the way her records have aged. The backing on a great many of her best recordings is awful. But this is wonderful. Worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Etta James is one of grand old ladies, who is a must in a jazz/blues collection .
Her deep, rather rough voice goes to the bone. She is a cool lady.
Difficult to compare her to other female blues singers. She is in a class of her own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)