Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 10 April 2001
Spiritualized's debut album is arguablly their finest. Their brand of 'Trance-rock' reaches powerful heights, which are echoed in Ladies and gentlemen... but never as perfect as here. 'Run' is an uptempo bouncer, along with 'Angel sigh', but Spiritualized's tue genius is in the floaty, slow spaced-out tracks such as 'Symphony Space' and 'Sway'. This is where the Spiritualized sound really takes off. The entire album is filled with beautiful droning noise and frenzied guitars that make this a classic album and a must for people getting into Spiritualized or is thinking about buying a Spiritualized album. One of the best debut albums ever, and one of the few never to be bettered by later albums.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2001
This is a very good record - I think a lot better then the later "Ladies and gentlemen..." (although that's a good record too). The record contains very floaty songs with beautiful harmonies. Favourites are "Sway" and "200 bars". I would have given this record five stars if it wasn't for some songs that I don't find as beautiful. Some of the songs are a little bit harder and noisier than the more soft and floaty ones I like. These noisier songs forces me to reduce my rating with one star.
Conclusion: This record is a very, very nice experience - I would recommend it to anyone. It always gives me pleasure to put this record on and let the Spiritualized atmosphere fill up my room.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 February 2006
Ex “Melody Maker” scribe and renowned music journalist Simon Reynolds once described Jason Pearce, along with Bobby Gillespie as one of rock music’s scholars. Someone who can transcend their influences and record collection and renew rather than replicate. Essentially it’s a poncey way of saying they are more than mere copyists. Then he started blathering on about how a band like Spiritualized were infused with Apollonian attitudes ( Airiness, radiance serenity) rather than traditional Dionysian rock conventions and my head started to hurt. He was, as usual correct though, and nowhere is this better represented on what is by the length of any winged ankle their finest album.
It’s a brilliant album title as well as it encapsulates so very well what the music within is like-suffuse with light and with each track hitting a singular groove, eschewing linear expansion and recalling great Kraut bands like Kraftwerk and Neu who specialised in a free way form of rock known as “Motorik” .
With sly irony there is a track called “Run” which is propelled by a scalding fuzz-riff yet still leaves trails of sparkling iridescence in its wake. “If I Were With Her Now’s knee stepping bass line wouldn’t be out of place on some funked up floor filler but the fizzing repeated one chord note takes it somewhere else altogether. As do the multi -layered vocals that permeate the songs glorious honey dazed climax. ”Step Into The Breeze” highlights the bands increasing utilisation of strings and brass and segues into “Symphony Space”, all orchestral resonance and aching ebb and flow. “You know it’s True” suggests the heat of some impassioned lover is fluttering this music along as does “I Want You” whose guitars and consumptive tenderness point to a blurred edge of desperation. This is so good it hurts. “Angel Sigh” does the old ambient drift elliptical thing before exploding into euphoric redemptive elation .Wraithlike brass and out of phase vocals pretty much repeat the formula on “200 bars” which suggests that out of all the universal forces perhaps heat, medicine ,love and music are the greatest. A chiming note of optimism then.
There is no doubt that music is a universal language that crosses boundaries like nothing else. It bleeds across race, creed and culture and can take the listener somewhere else in the blink of an eye. “Lazer Guided Melodies” like all truly great music does this so effortlessly it’s breathtaking and seems to suggest that the power of music and love combined can burst us, glowing with tumultuous radiance, onto a higher plain of existence. Hippy tosh maybe, but while this album is playing you will believe. Ride the light and break on through.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2013
This is Spiritualized's essential, indispensable album, "Lightning In A Bottle!" Listening to it you can't help but be amazed and wonder how ever did they manage it? It's sophisticated ethereal music that explodes majestically and then in turn mesmerises you with subtle ambience.

Composed of separate tracks skilfully arranged in complementary cycles, as they progress "I've been here before" feelings arise. This is surprising and very clever - because it's mostly illusory due to either lyrical trompe-l'oeil effect or (equally likely) the clever production. The soundscape is impressively broad, at times sounding as close to 3D as 2D stereo can get.

Spiritualized's "The Complete Works" career summation 2-cd set leans heavily on this album, giving a clue to it's importance. Whilst the tracks on "Works" are interesting (pre-Lazer, Lazer and post Lazer) the original tracks on here were correctly chosen and are the best ones. This album's last track "200 Bars" even demonstrates (in context), interestingly, how synched reiteration loops work!

Spiritualized later chose to explore other musical directions including issuing singles and seeking and finding commercial success. But this is Spiritualized's best, most important, consistent, and significant album. Psychedelic rock is rarely as sophisticated as this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2002
I bought this CD thinking it would be one of the most beautiful albums in my collection. I was very wrong. Upon listening to this album, I waited and waited for that chills-feeling you get when you hear a refrain or chord change that is truly beautiful. I waited, then I waited some more, and it never came. This album is interesting and innovative, and I've never heard anything like it. But it's far from beautiful, as all the reviews promise. It's 4-in-1 song structure is annoying, and forces you to listen to the entire album; the only band I've found that can achieve this without seeming pretentious and/or condescending is Godspeed You Black Emperor. Spiritualized managed to find a way to make music that isn't beautiful, nor does it rock you. It just kinda floats there, and serves no purpose. Maybe it's an aquired taste.
The songs all sound pretty much the same, and the stand out tracks are impossible to locate because of the way the album is put together. I don't have the patience to fast-foreword, so I forget that there ARE any stand out tracks.

When it comes down to it, I just don't see what all the fuss is about. Laser guided melodies just aren't my cup o' tea, and neither is this album.
33 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2012
I remember taking a punt buying this on a tape cassette way back in 1992 and was so glad I did. I love this album and have never tired of it. It soothes and washes over you, its spaced out melancholy lifts your spirits. When I've felt ill, or down, or just out of it and needing bringing back to Earth this is the one I reach for, it always heals me.

i must have listened to it hundreds of times and I still hear new things, I'm sure I recall Jason Pierce remarking in an interview on its release that there were sounds on the album that he couldn't remember recording, its that rich.

The Spaceman must be one the the most under rated British musicians of the last 25 years, ladies and gentlemen maybe be the album that gets all the plaudits , and perhaps the best place to start with the band, but this really is their shimmering treasure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2016
Bought as a Christmas gift, good price and prompt delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2017
Great debut!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2015
good first album. best by spiritualized. Downhill from this . The albums after ladies and gentlemen... are not worth having.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2015
Unfortunately the 2 tracks by these people were either live or recorded for Radio & are different to the record. Shame. JohnH.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)