Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2003
Fans of Rob Reiner's 1989 romantic comedy "When Harry Met Sally..." will tell you that this Harry Connick, Jr. album that's sold in the Movie Soundtrack section of most music emporiums (including online stores such as this) is not, in fact, from the original motion picture soundtrack. Instead, Columbia Records released this non-soundtrack as When Harry Met Sally...Music From the Motion Picture. Yes, the songs played and sung here by Connick were heard in the movie...but most of them were performed by other artists.
This doesn't mean the album is bad; it's not. It just isn't an "original soundtrack album."
That having been said, this 10-track set is an enjoyable collection of romantic standards, some of them now over six decades old yet sounding timeless. Some of them are cheerful and peppy ("It Had To Be You," which is heard in two versions here), some are riffs on loneliness and separation ("But Not For Me" and "Don't Get Around Much Anymore"),others still are odes to romance ("I Could Write a Book" and the gently reflective "Where or When"). There is even a little bit of the holiday spirit added in for good measure (a solo piano rendition of "Winter Wonderland").
Connick pulls double duty as vocalist and piano player in most of the tracks (with the exception of "But Not For Me," with Marc Shaiman doing the honors at the piano), ably reflecting each song's emotional context with his old-fashioned stylings and New Orleans accent. Listen carefully to the World War II-era "Don't Get Around Much Anymore" and there's a sense of longing there for an absent spouse or lover. In his rendition of "Where or When," Connick conveys the feeling of awe everyone feels when he or she has fallen in love with someone, yet can't figure out "where or when" the transition occurred.
I suppose I like this album because I am, as Louis Renault said of Rick Blaine in Casablanca, a "rank sentimentalist" -- a charge to which I cheerfully plead guilty. The fact that these songs were around 30 or more years before my birth over 40 years ago and can still touch people's hearts and minds is proof that some things are indeed timeless. Connick and Shaiman (who also produced the album) chose their material well, making When Harry Met Sally....Music From the Motion Picture a fine addition to anyone's library of jazz and easy listening CDs.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
A great introduction to the music of Harry Connick. Thoroughly recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Best Movie ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2003
A brilliant selection of jazz ballads sung with breathtaking clarity by Harry Connick Jr, who almost rivals the young Farnk Sinatra in his ability to project a song.
I say 'almost' because Connick lacks Sinatra's absolutely precise enunciation and loses a few letters in his singing.
That aside, it's a stirring performance that managed to get my 75yr old mother enthused and making the comparison to her idol (Frank Sinatra).
At this price, the CD is pure value. Great background music for a dinner party or those times that you enjoy lying back in a warm bath and relaxing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2000
Harry - you are the MAN! This recording of 30's and 40's standard jazz ballads is just sooooo cool. The sublime orchestrations from 'It Had To Be You' right throught to the minimal scoring of 'It Had To You' still sends shivers down my spine every time the CD goes in the tray. Alright, it's only 45 minutes long, and the film doesn't use any of Harry's arrangements, but this is the BEST big-band style CD you will ever hear. Infact, anybody buying this CD after hearing Harry singing his own big-band compositions, will think these all are his. Harry - You Are The Man!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2016
Don't buy this thinking you are buying the soundtrack to the film. The CD is OK of itself but does not really remind you of the film much (Winter Wonderland is an instrumental here, for heavens sake!). I bought the CD after having watched the film for the umpteenth time over many years. Whilst I knew the CD was not THE soundtrack, I hoped it would be a better reminder of the film than it is. Not a bad CD though - easy listening, although the sound quality could be better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
I bought this expecting happy , quirky interpretations of the songs as used in the film. However, although they are by the original artist, the tracks are not the arrangements used in the film. Very disappointed as each track is slow and serious, not at all the same feel as the film .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
It was what it said it was and it does exactly what it says on the packet. Arrived very quickly too. very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
As described, well packaged and promptly sent. Smooth, smooth, smooth!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2000
Harry - you are the MAN! This recording of 30's and 40's standard jazz ballads is just sooooo cool. The sublime orchestrations from 'It Had To Be You' right throught to the minimal scoring of 'It Had To You' still sends shivers down my spine every time the CD goes in the tray. Alright, it's only 45 minutes long, and the film doesn't use any of Harry's arrangements, but this is the BEST big-band style CD you will ever hear. Infact, anybody buying this CD after hearing Harry singing his own big-band compositions, will think these all are his. Harry - You Are The Man!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)