Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2000
Whilst the more recent 'A Few Small Repairs' has garnered Colvin with Grammies and accolades and a bonafide pop hit in 'Sunny Came Home', this for me is the pinnacle of excellence. Still sounding as fresh as it did when I first bought it, Colvin deftly paints pictures with deceptively simple melodies, crisp clear production and heartfelt (sometimes bittersweet) lyrics. 'Round of Blues' is great drivetime AOR, 'Tenderness on the Block' must rank as one of the great folk/pop songs of the decade and 'I Don't Know Why' is a poignant ode to love and Music. My personal faves 'Monopoly' and 'Tennessee'. Buy this and you can't go wrong.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2003
For the second release from Ms Colvin she has put together a steller cast of players, ranging from the likes of "Larry Klein" ("Joni Mitchell's" ex husband) who has produced most of the tracks and co-written 2 of them and adds his superb bass playing on most of the songs.
I defy anyone to listen to the closing lines of the song "Monopoly" "I would rather be anywhere than here without you" and not be moved.
"Bruce Hornsby" makes another guest apperance, again playing piano and this time also adding background vocals along with "Mary Chapin Carpenter" to one of the key songs on the album "Climb on a Back that's Strong".
The following track "Object of my Affection" if you listen to very carefully you can hear handclaps and extra pecussion this is "Joni Mitchell" adding some of her magic to the ambience of the track.
Another high point on this collection of songs is "Set the Parairie on Fire" which has a wonderful errie atmosphere, this is created by the sound of "Hammond B-3 organ" this played to great effect by "Booker T Jones" this is counterpointed by "Chris Whitleys" national guitar sound.
To close the album she sings one of her self penned songs called "I don't know why" a simple title for such a complex song which has been arranged by the keyboard player "Kenny White" the singing on this track is angelic sounding and closes this set of songs perfectly, heart felt songs for any music fan collection...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2011
"This is the most remarkable album in her catalogue!" :

"It took a three song sample taped on a Maxell cassette to get me hooked on Shawn Colvin's FAT CITY. STEADY ON is terrific. COVER GIRL has some pleasant moment. But it's FAT CITY that remains Colvin's best. These eleven songs are cutting, emotional, strong, and consistent. The production is inspired. Colvin's vocals are majestic. The melody on the opening track is perfect; "Polaroids" is a collection of images and stories about life, matched with a flowing melody. "Tennessee" has a rocking melody and strong rock lyrics. Colvin covers Warren Zevon & Jackson Browne on "Tenderness On The Block", just as good as Linda Ronstadt did on some of their other songs in the 1970s. With a colorful, positive, spirited melody "Round Of Blues" has a folk feel in rock setting. It's pulled off flawlessly. The cutting,emotional lyrics of "Monopoly", reflect what an awesome songwriter Shawn Colvin is. "Orion In The Sky" is passionate, equally intriging to "Round Of Blues". I'd have to say that "Climb On" is the best song on the album, if I'm wrong, it's my favorite. She has perfectly fitting lyrics that compose a complete story within about four minutes. This is present on all the tracks. "Climb On" matches melody and lyrics flawlessly. "Set The Prarie On Fire" is the longest song on the album, there's a completely different atmosphere established on the song. Colvin's delivery is stunning. "Object Of My Affection" blends magnifiscent lyrics to a dazzling melody. One of the most addictive stories on FAT CITY is "Kill The Messenger", poetic and passionate, it's four minutes of magic. The closing song is remarkable. "I Don't Know Why" was one of the most beautiful songs of 1992, and is one of Colvin's best. It's also the first song she composed. FAT CITY is a listening that will take you through joy, pain, and wonder; and will provide one of the most satisfying listens I've heard in a while. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED."

Just to note this is a review from the American site. I wouldn't have been able to convey my feelings for this album more vividly than this review. I fully agree and support everything said :) It is an unbelievable listening experience!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2007
This was my first taste of Shawn Colvin after hearing a track of hers on a freebie magazine cd and to my mind Shawns best album ever (well to date).
There are no weak tracks on this album and with some fine muscians and guests playing on it, the whole cd is a masterpiece.Some fans say the album is a little over produced but i disagree and feel the instruments sound really great and well played.
Ok i,m a big SC fan............
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2000
Shawn Colvin has something that so many singers today need. A great singing voice, this album is worth buying just for the song "I don't know why?" listen to it once and feel the music run through you.
I love it, she's the best.
Mark.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Ive been a fan of shawn colvins for some years ,and recently saw her live she was great.
I have owned several of her albums for some time ,but never managed to get round to buying this one ,i wish i had though,not a bad track on it ,classic shawn colvin from start to finish,and for that price a must .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 December 2009
I have over 5000 tracks on my iPod, but I still really like this album. I bought it on cassette back in the 80/90s, and purchased the CD to replace it. Great tracks on this, sung by a good arist. Cover Girl is also good, but this is better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
Great album not a duff track
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2003
Wow... this girl has such an amazing voice. I am not sure how you categorise this music but that does'nty matter. It's the type of music you can lay in the bath listening to,living her words. It's not slushy just meaningful sensual music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Rather disappointed with this CD. Only the last couple of tracks are at all memorable after listening. Somebody said it grows on you with more listening but I am not so sure it will. Almost everything this lovely lady does is good but this collection is a bit formulaic. Still a fan though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)