Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
39


on 3 December 2017
Nice One
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2008
This is the second volume in what is really a Greatest Hits collection as these tracks represent Dolly Parton's most commercially successful songs. It includes the brilliant story songs Joshua, Down From Dover and Harper Valley PTA, moving ballads like Heartbreaker, To Daddy, Where Beauty Lives In Memory, Just Because I'm a Woman and the magnificent Emmylou Harris composition Boulder To Birmingham, a song written in memory of Gram Parsons. Other highlights include the Elvis cover In The Ghetto and the duet with Porter Wagoner: Please Don't Stop Loving Me. Together with the first volume it is a great introduction to the music of one of the most delightful of all female country singers but for longtime fans, the real gems are found on albums like Coat of Many Colors, The Essential Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton, Porter Wagoner and Dolly Parton - 20 greatest Hits, and on solo albums like Little Sparrow and The Grass Is Blue.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 August 2007
Quickly released to cash-in on the success of Dolly Parton's first ever top 10 UK album: The Very Best Of Dolly Parton, Sony have dished out another collection of her greatest hits.

These are the country music superstar's secondary hits, and indeed, the compilers have decided to focus more on her country-and-western material rather than the pop music she delivered for the majority of the 1980s. Some of these lesser-celebrated songs are amongst my Parton favourites, and I regard them as much better than the likes of 'Jolene', '9 to 5', and 'Here You Go Again', which you can obviously find on the earlier volume, and indeed, on countless other CDs.

What Parton really is, is an incredible songwriter, who excels in penning sad, clever, and bitter-sweet songs which deal with death and heartbreak.Two of her very best are, the truly haunting, and very cleverly-written 'Down From Dover' (update: covered to perfection by Marianne Faithfull on her 2009 album 'Easy Come, Easy Go'), and 'Where Beauty Lives in Memory' from her excellent 'New Harvest, First Gathering' album. These, along with her five star interpretation of Elvis' 'In The Ghetto', and her early '90s classic 'Eagle When She Flies', are reason enough to buy this album.

Dolly Parton is a great, but alas, her voice tends to grate on me after a while, so I could never been an avid fan. Having said that, all what she has achieved is amazing, and The Very Best of Dolly Parton, Vol. 2' offers fans of the first volume, to chance to discover deeper cuts in her vast discography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2009
The Very Best of Dolly Parton, Vol. 2 this is really a great cd, bought vol1 and vol2 together glad i did, sound is brilliant and a good mix of songs play them all the time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2008
Has much has i Like Dolly Parton, I do wonder how many more times are her managers going to release her Greatest Hits & Best Of Albums.
I think she should come back and do something New!!

I brought Dolly Partons Greatest Hits back in 1999 The Album i have is a 2x Disc version With the same songs and same listings in the exact same track listing order has these 2 seperate Albums!! Why it has been Re-released has two seperate Volumes is beyond me, Especially when the version i have is still avalible to buy.

I have given this a 4 Star if it was a New greatest hits it would have got a 5 Star, However it isn't. And plus it's not Dolly's thought i blame the record company!!! :-)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2010
Introduction

Zacharias and Elizabeth 1913-14
Tate and Sheffield Galleries & Museums Trust
© Estate of Stanley Spencer. All rights reserved, DACS 2001 Stanley Spencer (1891 - 1959) was one of the most original British painters of his generation. His art had two high points: a very early flowering in the years just before the First World War, culminating in his masterpiece Zacharias and Elizabeth 1913 - 14 (no.14), completed at the age of twenty-two; and the strange, complex period of the mid-1930s, when marital and stylistic crisis propelled Spencer into a flow of extraordinary paintings. Most previous accounts, including Spencer's own, have tended to interpret all the work after 1915 as a quest for some lost wholeness; but it was only through a 'loss of Eden' that Spencer was able fully to participate in the experience of the inter-war years, as well as to embark on an exploration of sexuality and selfhood unparalleled among his British contemporaries.

The exhibition is drawn from the whole range of Spencer's achievement. Juxtaposing paintings and drawings, it presents Spencer not as a merely eccentric or provincial English oddity, but as a major twentieth-century artist whose work is linked thematically and stylistically to the painting of his time, and closely engaged with the changing nature of modern experience. There are early religious pictures included here, and works depicting Spencer's military service in Macedonia - an experience that would also generate the great murals painted between 1927 and 1932 for the Sandham Memorial Chapel at Burghclere. However, the images at the heart of the exhibition (rooms 3, 4 and 5) show how a prolonged crisis of the 1930s produced an enormous yet fruitful tension between the once-harmonised visionary and realist strands in Spencer's imagination.
Closing with late works, including Spencer's famous paintings of ship-building in Port Glasgow during the Second World War, and with autobiographical masterpieces such as Love Letters 1950 (no.109), the exhibition charts the insights of an artist exploring and developing across five decades, in what he himself called 'a wonderful desecration'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2017
I lost the original cd I bought years ago, and since I like to drive whilst listening/singing along to country music I purchased a replacement. It ticks all the boxes for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2012
Dolly at her best £5 for 19 tracks. Great driving music and picks you up as only Dolly can do.(to be fare it was bought for M&D and they really enjoyed it)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2011
Brilliant content on this Cd. Item was delivered well with the timeframe window and in excellent condition. I would reccommend this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2011
The Very Best Of Dolly Parton
THE VERY BEST OF DOLLY PARTON AND IT REALLY IS ALL MY FAVOURITES AND SOME. GOOD PRICE AND WELL WORTH THE MONEY I THINK SHE JUST GETS BETTER WITH AGE. A VERY GOOD SELECTION OF HER BEST SONGS
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)