Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
34
5.0 out of 5 stars
The Low End Theory
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99

on 3 March 2017
Just what I was looking for, thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2002
It seems that this is arguably the best ATCQ album, arguably because many people say their follow-up to this, 'Midnight Marauders', is better. It depends on what you like; those into rawer beats would like this better. Anyway, I bought this album after hearing the excellent 'Midnight Marauders' and reading all the 5-star reviews here. No disappointment, this really is as good as everybody says. Q-Tip shines throughout and Phife also sprinkles many tracks with his smart lyrics. The best tracks are 'Buggin out', 'Show Business', 'We got the jazz' and the dope LONS duet 'Scenario' with Busta Rhymes and his unorthodox but memorable lines such as "RAAH! RAAH! LIKE A DUNGEON DRAGON!". If you like old skool or underground, then get this.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2006
This album was released in '91 during the rise of the West Coast and G-Funk. New York Hip-Hop was really in the shadow of NWA, Ice-T and Ice Cube's Death Certificate. It would take something powerful to happen in New York to get some recognition. That's what The Tribe provided.

In a time when G-Funk was rap, Q-Tip gave us an album of jazzy beats and incredible flow alongside co-lyricist, Phife. The album opened with the a high base beat of Excursions, where Q-Tip showed how he flows with the beat as if it was a part of him. Phife steps up on the second track "Buggin' Out" with the introduction verse. Q-Tip and Phife both offer amusing, experienced stories of youth on tracks like "Butter" and "The Infamous Date Rape". Every other track on the album is first class, but I'll let you all discover the genius.

The great thing about this album is that in a Hip-Hop world that was quickly forming a hardcore gangsta theme A Tribe...managed to give us a completely original production style and lyrics that were easy to listen to and with a light-hearted attitude towards the world. Even today the album is a breath of fresh air in a rap scene that's plagued with commercial drivvle and entire albums dedicated to a rapper's rims on his car. This album is Top 5 of all time, if you want to hear great true Hip-Hop, Turn off the motherf***in radio (like Ice Cube) and get this album immediately.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2003
Laid back, different, influencial, jazzy, intellectual, beautiful. ALL THESE WORDS DONT EVEN COME CLOSE TO DESCRIBING THIS ALBUM. ATCQ produced all of this and i prefer it when it is done that way it gives the feel of an all exclusive masterpiece. If you dont have the taste for a little jazz then leave this be. but if you do you are in for such a treat...... Just listening to Q-tip's laid back yet very lively lyrics along with Phife Dogg's funny and parodic words along with the subtle flowing "butter" like tunes is better than having sex on an e. Need i say more, the ones i really enjoyed were "butter", "excursions" "we got the vibes" "show business" and "jazz" If you want to be a true rap fiend, then buy thhis album.
Nuff Said
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2000
Low End Theory is the LP that changed a thousand hip hop groups..showing them that the Marley Marl uptempo sound was not the only way to go..The Roots were direct offspring! This might be the most unique LP in hip hop, with strong jazz basslines dominating this affair. It came right when Ice Cube and LL were probably the most heralded MCs, with attitude the name of the game. Tribe just demonstrated that once...with the astounding posse cut 'Scenario'. 'Excursions' was the first song and immediately after the first few bars you know you are listening to a truly rich album. My joint has got to be the 'Vibes and Stuff'...jazzy, relaxed, perfect Tribe...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2002
This is by far one of the best hiphop albums recorded. Every tune has a funky laidback feel to it and this is an album you can listen to right through without skipping any songs. I especially like Buggin out and What. Q-Tip and Phife Dogg are at their best, bringing the lyrics to life, something that is rarely heard in more recent hip hop albums . If you consider yourself a fan of real hip hop then i would recommend that you get your hands on a copy of this album as soon as possible because you are missing out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2002
We got the jazz, we got the jazz, we got th.. huh? sorry(!) catchy song, ya know? Anyway you want my opinion on the low end theory - i bought this knowing nothing about atcq and now im hooked, if youre getting a bit sick of the mindless swearing in gangsta rap, then take a copy of this, chill out. Intelligent lyrics with some really cool beats, rap dont get much better than this. baby. and thats no lie
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
A great and often overlooked real hip hop album. This is Quest at their absolute finest. Oh my God I've just realised I sound like a pretentious music journalist. Sorry. I grew up on this album and look forward to blasting my lost adolescence from my Renault Scenic whilst my kids sigh and beg me to play some lame Radio 1. Hell no! 'Back in the day when I was a teenager before I had status and before I had a pager, you could find the abstract listening to hip hop my pops used to say it reminded him of b bop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2009
Cant believe this has had only 5 previous reviews. in my mind the best hip hop album ever released. Smooth, articulate rythym and poetry.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2007
One of the first "real" hip hop albums I listened to and it continues to sound fresh after all these years. They took everything great about their debut and maximised it; throwing in experimental touches and a subtle use of live instrumentation into the mix, creating what is, in my humble opinion, the greatest jazz-rap album we'll ever hear. Q-Tip and Phife aren't the greatest rappers, but they sound so suitably relaxed and eloquent over the beats that it's easy to understand their lofty status in the world of hip hop. Everything works on The Low End Theory and there's never been a more perfectly suitable closer than "Scenario", the greatest posse cut of all time. Has Busta ever sounded more crazy than when he's roooaaaarrring like a dungeon dragon? This record is way more than historical significance and a source for both inspiration and samples, it's a superbly listenable and, above all, FUN album in its own right. Truly great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)