Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
17
Burning Times
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49

on 27 May 2017
Enjoyable thought provoking lyrics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2005
Every song is so good, some are masterpieces. He just sings them so well. Some interesting sleeve notes that impart his philosophy on singing any song from anywhere with the same Irish voice; made sense to me. He is on tour singing the same songs from this album. Go and watch him, like I did in Liverpool, and when it finishes, you can just start talking to anyone else in the audience, the atmosphere is just so friendly. Christy says, there are songwriters and there is Dylan. Well, there are singers and there is Christy Moore.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2005
I am a great lover, of this velvet voiced giant.He always did have the knack of picking great songs and making them his own.
For inverted snob type reasons.I'm glad that he hasn't really been discovered?
At first I thought the guitar heavy production on this drowned his vocal assets...however with repeated playings this is by far his best album since the early days.So many songs stick in the mind, 'laundries', America' etc. but ' Hattie Carroll' is worth the admission fee alone.
His best for years, beg , steal, or borrow.
See him in concert, ease my snobbery!
22 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2006
Following medical problems and semi-retirement the 2001 release This Is The Day turned out to be a low key affair for a Christy Moore album. Thankfully he appears to have put this behind him and is looking stronger than ever.

His re-acquiantance with Declan Sinnott has proved to be a saving grace for Christy. His live performances over the past few years with Declan playing beside him have livened up and added another dimension to the music. This is evident on the latest album Burning Times.

All of the songs on this album are covers of other artists work, but that is true for a lot of Christy's work. His genius is being able to put his own twist on anybody's work and make it sound fresh. This is so well done that some of the songs are bare;y recognisable to the originals.

THroughout the album many different styles are played with, none of which produce negative results. Some of the stand out tracks for me would be Beeswing (originally written by Richard Thompson) and Magdelene Laundries (Joni Mitchell). One of the stand out tracks is America I Love You - a Morissey song that attacks the American ideals e.g. president akways being a heterosexual white male.

The best track in my opinion is The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll. This version is totally different from the original Bob Dylan version. More life and energy has been added to the song and it is sung with more feeling. As another reviewer has said it is worth buying the album just for this track.

All in all a superb return to form and well worth buying. And if you get a chance to see the man live - do not turn down the oppurtunity.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2005
looks like the fiery Christy Moore is still at it! I'm American (and Irish) and have to say that -- although there are plenty of people who won't like it -- I enjoyed every song on the album, including "America." He's right - we should stay where we live and stop invading countries that didn't hurt us. Politics aside, the whole CD is wonderful. I listened to it all day today while working on a particularly onerous task and it really did me a world of good. We're off to see Christy at a concert in Berlin next week - THANKS, Christy! Keep up the great work!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2005
Christy Moore has been playing and recording music for over 40 years and is somehow still relatively unknown outside of the Folk and Irish music communities. This is a crying shame as Christy is much more than a folk musician and, whilst remaining a heroic figure for the Irish diaspora throughout the world, should not simply and lazily be labelled as an "Irish artist".
Christy's latest albumn contains no new compositions by the great man himself but is a collection of cover versions of other artists' material. However, the term 'cover version' is an indequate and limiting way to describe these moving and inspirational songs as Christy, together with his long-time collaborator Declan Sinnott, takes the basic material and creates something new and vibrant, something that speaks to a new audience and concerns itself with recent events and troubles, whilst still retaining the core elements that first made each song so great.
Nowhere else is this more apparent than on the albumn's two centrepieces. Firstly, "Beeswing" Richard Thompson's poem to a long-lost and much-missed troubled love. In singing the song Christy is not merely adapting this song, but is providing his own intimate take on the subject matter. Christy doesn't sing other people's sngs - he immerses himself in the subject matter, displaying a unique understanding of the characters and situations as if, in the case of "Beeswing", he was the travelling man who loved but could not tame the wild and free spirited woman who left him for another.
You suspect that despite the sad end to the woman's life, Christy understands the need to be free of the shackles and ties that bind us to the life expected of us by our families and others around us.
With the song "Burning Times", Christy has recorded possibly the best song of his long and distinguished career. Long a staple of his live sets, in "Burning Times" Christy tells the sad and awful tale of the Inquisition and the murder of Pagan women in the name of God and the Catholic church. The song is quite rightly unforgiving and offers no apologies for the actions of the church and exists to remind us of the power of organised religion to murder, abuse and oppress those, as Christy sings, "whose powers it feared". Protest songs have rarely been so brutal in their subject matter, yet so beautiful as a piece of music.
Elsewhere on the albumn Christy deals with such subject matter as alcoholism, environmental disaster and the injustice of the legal system. However, don't be fooled into thinking that this albumn is downbeat or morbid in anyway. Quite the opposite.
The inspirational playing of Chirsty and Declan gives new life to the songs, makes them soar and shine and makes the listener long to hear them again and again.
On previous albumns the studio-setting has possibly not proven the best environment to hear Christy, with the songs sometimes losing a degree of the energy and passion of live performance. This is not the case with the albumn "Burning Times" which I would suggest is Christy's greatest work to date.
Understandably, Christy fans will still demand to hear classics such as "Ride On" at concerts but, hopefully, the new songs will be embraced and celebrated like the old stuff.
More than ever Christy Moore is an artist for now, this moment, for today, as he celebrates the good and the bad of the modern world, with a dignity and humanity few can master, and even fewer choose to attempt.
Christy Moore - turning metal into pure gold. Cherish him and buy this albumn now.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2010
Alongside his own strong songwriting talent, Christy Moore has always been a musical magpie, unearthing obscure gems or revealing new dimensions to well-known works with the flourish of a translator whose version of a classic foreign-language poem puts it in an entirely new light. Burning Times contains wonderful examples of this: Richard Thompson's "Beeswing" takes on new shades of wistfulness as Christy appropriates its look back over a deep but impossible love, The Handsome Family's "Butterfly" pleads with a self-destructive lover to step back from the brink of chaos, and Wally Page's "Sixteen Fishermen Raving" is a stunning evocation of enjoying the moment in the face of the dangers to be faced the next day, the day after that, and the day after that. At first I was afraid "Magdalene Laundries" was too obvious a cover but Christy manages it too, for all that it would probably be asking too much of anyone to add much to what Joni did with it.

Really the only tracks that don't live up to the standard of the rest of the album are "America" - I love a lot of Morrissey's music, but this is one of those that has all the subtlety of a sledgehammer, whereas Christy is at his best with songs that have shades of light and dark, a little room for ambiguity or empathy - and "Burning Times" - sure it's OK, but this is about the third time he's recorded this piece and I can't see what the newer versions add to the older one, so what's the point?

This is the disc that marks Christy's return to sparkling form after a bit of a fallow period over the last few years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2010
I listen to this album a lot. From 'Sixteen fisherman raving' to 'Barrowlands' these are quality songs given the Christy Moore treatment, none of these songs suffer in his hands he takes them in and treats them grand. Natalie Merchant's Motherland is more powerful than any national anthem, and Dylan's The lonesome death of Hattie Corroll bristles with injustice, Beeswing grabs me everytime. I recomend this album, I used to listen to the blues, this isn't the blues it is Irish melancholy that leaves me wistful and peering into the shadows of life just a little more keenly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2010
This is great album and a must for any big Christy fans. The whole album is very haunting and a dark but truthful theme exists throughout.

Best songs on the album are Motherland, The Magdelene Laundery, Beeswing, Butterfly and Barrowland. Most of these songs belong to other artists but when Christy sings them he truly makes them his own.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2012
I knew some of Christy Moore's previous albums; in particular, "Ordinary Man", "This Is The Day" and "Ride On". Although all three have some very special moments, this is just the most perfect of albums, consistently sparkling with gentleness, beautiful singing from our hero, with wonderful guitar and keyboard playing by the vastly underrated and very wonderful Declan Sinnott. I would also like to give a nod to the backing vocals of Declan, Mandy Murphy and Mary Greene - all understated and beautiful.

This is an album of twelve songs written by some very big names - Morrissey, Natalie Merchant, Joni Mitchell, Bob Dylan, Richard Thompson and Rennie & Brett Sparks (the Handsome Family) and Phil Ochs - there, I've nearly named them all. Every track is a gem with Christy's interpretations and I can't think of anything I like to listen to on an evening that this.

My favourite tracks are "Beeswing" (Thompson) and "The Magdalene Laundries" (Joni), "Motherland" (Merchant) and the title track (Charlie Murphy); but, in all honesty, every track is of such high class, it is an irresistible album.

Another plus is the booklet - apart from the lyrics, there are some interesting thoughts by Christy.

He hasn't released a better album, even though his subsequent albums have been nearly as good. In the end, though, if you don't know much about his catalogue, make this your first purchase of his music.

Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Voyage
£3.49

Need customer service? Click here