Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
29
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2002
This absolutely splendid box set, features the music from Elvis' "That's The Way It Is."
TTWII, is a cracking film, featuring Elvis third season in Vegas (Aug 1970) plus rehearsals and behind the scenes footage.
The music is staggeringly good, especially the live parts where Elvis really is spot-on; perhaps at his best ever!
This 3CD box is really excellent; with a full live concert, rehearsals plus the original TTWII album and bonus tracks.
CD1 is the original album, plus bonus tracks...and starting with the legendary version of "I Just Can't Help Beleivin'"; this favourite is still an amazing masterpiece, extraordinarilly sung and very sadly omitted from the DVD.
"How the Web Was Woven" is another beautifuls song; I really love this gentle piece of music. After this Elvis growls, "hut, two, three four" and lets rip with "Patch it Up", really rockin' on this one, with superb drumming from Ronnie Tutt.
The very famous "You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'" and "You Don't Have To Say You Love Me" and "Bridege Over Troubled Water" are given the Elvis treatment on CD 1, and damn, these are good!
CD2 is a full concert, this is tremendous; really one of the very best concerts he ever gave. Opening with the one, two punch of "That's Alright" and "Mystery Train/Tiger Man", the King is sheer dynamite and in unstoppable form.
The big hits are here too; "Hound Dog", "Blue Suede..." plus a really bluesy "Heartbreak Hotel" and "One Night."
"Polk Salad Annie" is here also; this stunning funk is always amazing as is the recent live, hit version of "Suspicious Minds"; this is just thrilling.
CD3 has 8 or 9 live tracks from other concerts, whilst the rest is the rehearsals; and this is fascinating; listening to the man at work; goofing off, messing up and delivering big time as he is really just having a great time getting down with the band.
Elvis is on electric guitar on much of this; the fantastic "Little Sister/Get Back" especially with Elvis on rythmn guitar and really cutting loose on this gem.
"Johnny Be Goode" is cracking; plus "That's Alright" and a very rocking "I Can't Stop Loving You" really are gripping....whilst a slightly poorer sounding; but absolutely mesmorising version of "Oh Happy Day" might just be the best track on the box.
TTWII is amazing music; as a live performer Elvis may never have been better, and that's including the 68 special. The diversity and range here are amazing.....buy this and the DVD to get the full experience of the King at his best.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
This is a probably one of Elvis's best works. Especially the second cd, the live recordings. You get to hear Elvis at his top, his voice is great and most importantly he is having fun, and when he is, you are too. The way he does "Polk Salad Annie", "You've lost that loving feeling", "Heartbreak Hotel" etc. etc. Is just simply genius. The third cd is a jewel for the real fan, the rehearsuls. It's great to hear the man creating. The first cd is the same as the standard cd That's the way it is, but it includes extra songs:Love letters, When I'm over you, Something, I'll never know, Sylvia and Rags to Riches. Oke to sum it up, if you don't have this cd your collection is not complete, and if this is your firts Elvis cd, go for it!!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 April 2013
Make no mistake, for all his Rock 'n' Roll trail blazing in his early days, after Gospel ballads Elvis personally favoured ballads. Even back on those early Sun sessions before Elvis, Scotty and Bill discovered "That's All Right", Elvis was concentrating on ballads. In those early days Rock 'n' Roll took over and we all appreciate that. But, by the 1970 Elvis was in his mid-thirties and comfortable with himself and in returning to the stage after the Hollywood years he wanted to express himself vocally over and above what was possible in a Rock 'n' Roll song. So Elvis returned to ballads and produced some terrific music in this period. Classic hit singles asside such as "You Don't Have To Say You Love Me", "I just Can't Help Believin'!and "I've Lost You" tracks like "Just Pretend", "Twenty Days And Twenty Nights" are just expertly performed, by a supreme all round vocalist. Elvis was more than a Rock 'n' Roll artist and an early pioneering rebel, he was a singer. By this time he chose to simply sing and in doing so he captivated.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2001
'Thats the Way it is' is for Elvis fans. Ignore those who say the King peaked in the late 50s and never recovered anything worthy, in 1970 Elvis was never fitter, musically mature and arguably happier. This amazing collection of studio and concert recordings represents the peak of Elvis' career. The next seven years would take their toll but this pivotal box set stands as a fitting tribute to Elvis' body of work. 'Patch It Up' and a stunning rendition of 'Suspicious Minds' which could go on for ever and ever and ever and retain its magic. After getting the CD check out the video/DVD if you haven't already, I guarantee you'll see why Elvis remains embedded in music culture to this day.........enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2000
This 3 disk set captures Elvis, vocally and physically at his peak. 1969 to 1970 he was at the orbit of an incredible comeback, and the tremendous exitement of those live engagements are evident on the live cuts, which are the real gems, particulary on the concert disk two which is my favourite of the set. The sound quality is excellent, and we hear Elvis and the group giving full throttle to Polk Salad Annie, Lovin' Feeling (which includes a soulful encore, which must be the envy of any Motown artist) and Suspicious Minds. Elvis chats with the audience between songs, and is good spirit. His voice deep and powerful, he pours his heart and soul into every tune with perfect phrasing. Disk one is mainly studio cuts, which have been issued before, and these showcase the different musical directions he was taking at that time.
Disk 3 is the rehearal has more good live outtakes, so they are not rehearsal at all. Elvis and his rythm band hash around with some oldies in preparation for the concerts. The rehearsals sound quality varies from poor to average, and are more of historical interest. Listen to "Oh Happy Day", and hear, the full grasp that Elvis had on Spiritual and Gopsel music. With this unreleased material which continues to surface, one wonders what else lies in the vaults of RCA and MGM - perhaps the concert at Phoenix which was filmed in September 1970? Or the live sets from Vegas in August 1969? Only time will tell!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2003
The side of Elvis as revealed in his Las Vegas concerts is an important one. In these shows, he proved himself to be the supreme perfectionist, that is the perfectionist who presents himself as casual and off-the-cuff. He has to be one of the very best performers in relating to his audience, and this set shows this.
There are three CDs here: The original "That's The Way It Is" with additional tracks, a complete concert, and the 3rd containing 9 live performances and a number of rehearsals.
Of course, many of Elvis' major hits are performed here, but there are many rarer songs too as well as unique renditions of contemporary songs made famous by others, such as George Harrison's "Something", B. J. Thomas' "I Just Can't Help Believin'", Simon & Garfunkel's "Bridge Over Troubled Water", and the Righteous Brothers' "You've Lost That Loving Feeling". And these weren't hap-hazard selections. These were the show-stopping type numbers that Elvis realized intuitively would go over with the Las Vegas crowds. And in each of these above selections, he puts in his own personal interpretation so that whether or not you prefer the original, you appreciate his spin on the number. For me, this is especially true with his thoughtful rendition of "Bridge Over Troubled Water".
Sound quality is poor on portions especially of the 3rd CD, but this is a price that must be paid if one is to have access to these rare recordings. Only a rank cynic can say that this release is merely a marketing ploy. These recordings are released because the producers felt there were those who would want them, even with the sound quality.
This is one magnificent set to have in your collection, if you in any way appreciate Elvis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
The description given for this set far exceeded my expectations. It was brilliant and the condition was like new. Delivery was within two days far better than that stated as a guidance. This was my first time in buying a CD this way and although a little apprehensive I was so very impressed with the service that I would have no hesitation in buying or recommending this way of purchasing CD's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2001
This 3-cd collection is an extended version of an critically claimed Presley-album originally released in 1970. To many Elvis-fans today this is one of the most popular periods of this legendary artist. However, if you're into 50's rock'n roll this is not a collection for you. By 1970 Presley had musically matured so much that he couldn't really care for any of his early recordings. Instead he performed more contemporay country and pop songs. This collection included some of his finest recordings from this period. The first cd has whole original 1970 album plus few bonuses. The second cd has a previously unreleased complete show from August 1970 in Las Vegas. The third cd has a few more live performances and rehearsal recordings. The sound quality is outstanding. There are so many great performances that it is hard to name the highlights but here are few: "I Just Can't Help Believing", "You've Lost That Loving Feeling", "Mary In The Morning", "Words", "Suspicious Minds". If you like the 70's Elvis this is a must for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
When I'm in the mood I love my early Elvis cds but, time and again, I come back to TTWII. I saw it as a kid when it was first broadcast and nearly wore the groves off the vinyl album. This box set is probably only for purists (or someone who loves the concerts) as it's a mix of production quality tracks, a concert recording and rehearsals. So some (not many) tracks are repeated.

For me the period between the '68 special and TTWII produced many of my fav all time tracks and many of them are on here. His voice was warmer and richer by this point and I often sit at my pc and keep pressing repeat on Bridge Over Troubled Water. I think it's just slightly better than the S&G version and sets the hairs on back of my neck on end.

But then I also love I've Lost You, You've Lost That Loving Feeling, You Don't Have to Say You Love Me, The Next Step is Love, Twenty Days and Twenty Nights...the list goes on. It's a treasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2001
THIS HAS TO BE ELVIS AT HIS ULTIMATE BEST, FROM THE ROCKIN "PATCH IT UP" TO THE BEAUTIFUL BALLAD "I JUST CANT HELP BELIEVIN" THROUGH TO THE WORTHY SINGLE RELEASE "JUST PRETEND" OR A VALENTINE RELEASE "THE NEXT STEP IS LOVE". BY FAR A RELEASE TO GET ELVIS BACK INTO THE CHARTS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)