Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
109
4.9 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2017
A very old recording which I used to play at the end of a party in 70s/80s. Ideal for such a time as it winds down and helps your guests realise its time to leave.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Sad loss to the music world when this man died, again my kind of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
I had this on vinyl some 30 years ago and was reminded of it by a friend who still had the tape I had made for her. It has to be one of the best all time laid back CDs you will ever listen to. With a glass of something in candle light with or without someone special it is tops. Even though the tracks are 1940.50s it doesnt matter its the way he sings them in his most unique voice. Out of this world
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
This album was way out of character when it was first released more years ago than I care to remember but it was most remembered by me as a recording that could be enjoyed by all ages and older generations could enjoy music 'of their generation' subtly changed by a modern artist but which they appreciated. The changes to some of the original wording add a twist and the smooth singing of Harry backed up by the unmistakable Gordon Jenkins orchestration make this an album that should be in every ones collection.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
How could you not love this . Forget the vaguely saccharin feel and dive into the feather bed of arrangements . Surrender to the fragile perfection of the vocal and share the bliss that this perfect collection of classics spreads around . This is just gorgeous and all from the man who kept John Lennon company on the "lost weekend". A classic amongst classics .
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This classic album from 1973 saw the late American singer-songwriter Harry Nilsson do something which has since been experimented with by many artists including Rod Stewart and Bob Dylan. 'A Little Touch of Schmilsson in the Night' is a covers album of American standards, all of which showcase Nilsson's great skill of interpreting a song with his very appealing, easy-to-listen-to voice. Of course, Harry's biggest hit single, 'Everybody's Talkin' was also a cover, so it should come as no surprise that he was able to effortlessly make the majority of the numbers on this record his own.

Normally, this type of music wouldn't really appeal a great deal to me, but the beautiful arrangements and smoothly sincere delivery on each of these classic tracks, which all date back to pre-war, makes them sound appealing to contemporary to a more modern day listener, and this is more than enough to win me over.

The 'Little Touch Of Schmilsson In The Night' is a late-night listening record designed to relax, and to be enjoyed in the background with a few glasses of wine. Let the charm of such tracks as 'It Had to Be You', 'What'll I Do', 'As Time Goes By' (often included on Nilsson 'best of' retrospectives), and his sublime 'Over the Rainbow', which fades things out', take you away to a much nicer place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2006
I'm surprised to see that nobody has submitted a review for this album, perhaps younger people may feel the songs on this album are a bit dated? I first listened to this album when it was released in 1973, I was then 24 years old, so age doesn't really matter, I thought it was brilliant then & having now just bought & listened again to the CD, it hasn't lost any of its appeal. These are classic standards that lot's of people will sing along with even if they think they didn't know them, this album is the original major late night chill out album with your bottle(s) of wine. It now contains all the outakes previously unissued along with a very informative inlay booklet which gives a ton of information about the creation of this classic album. A great start or addition to any Nilsson collection!
11 Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
We are in our 80's now and we were so delighted to see this in CD format as we had the record some years ago and have updated and obviously cannot play it anymore. The lovely old songs are delightfully sung.I would recommend it thoroughly. I always look on Amazon first when I am buying everything !!! always the best price.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
I bought this album as an LP over 30 years ago. Great to have it as a CD. Wonderful music, golden voice, lovely memories..... Romantic and easy listening. If you like smooth jazz sounds, you will love this. Highly recommended..........
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)