Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10


on 30 May 2017
Amazing album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2005
Please don't mix this up with the soundtrack to Armaggeddon. This is the ORIGINAL SCORE of the movie. That means you're in the wrong place for Aerosmiths 'I dont want to miss a thing', and no this not a mix of artist with 'Leaving on a Jet plane' on. No, this is much more than that. I believe that it is the heart and soul of the movie. I think that half of the movies success is in the soundtrack, how well it creates the atmosphere and how it draws you into the the movie. This is an excellent score by Trevor Rabin who has done a brilliant job in doing just that. The whole score just oozes aura, style and atmosphere and will make you remember each part of the movie with surprising clarity. In fact I wouldn't be surprised if after listening to this, you wanted to watch the movie again! This is the first musical score that I bought many moons ago and it was this soundtrack that made me recognise how wonderful they are. I went on to other soundtracks like Gladiator, The Rock etc. What made me buy this? The guitar riffs for the love story and re-occuring main themes. If you were moved by the tragedy but also the love story within the movie then you will love this. I love the guitar in the Armaggeddon Suite as it somehow reminds me of Mark Knopfler - don't know why.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 May 2015
Since I bought this CD in November 1998 I guess I better get a review done already!

How I do not long for the old Media Ventures days. Hans Zimmer's score production company features the likes of his good self, Mark Mancina, Trevor Rabin, John Powell, Harry Gregson Williams, Nick-Glennie Smith, and occasionally James Newton Howard. No score belonged to a single composer regardless of what the movie credits would tell you. They would cover for each other on certain tracks and cues and go work on each others' movies and muddle it all up, which is why many of these flicks sound similar to each other. I never liked this ethic and it always led to wasted opportunities and confusing, error-laden score CD releases. Armageddon, sadly, is no exception.

Harry Gregson Williams is entirely absent from this CD. His stuff is great in the movie but it ain't here. All we get is Trevor Rabin's contribution. It IS still very fine music, but it covers about half of the action. As expected the CD is completely out of chronological order with alternate arrangements as is typical for Media Ventures fare. The excitement of "Launch" and the tragedy of "Long Distance Goodbye" can justify the purchase of the CD alone, but the beautiful Armageddon theme that plays right at the very beginning of the movie featuring a fragile Earth being struck by a meteor is not here. The jaw-dropping disaster of the Asteroid Chase and Shuttle Crash - not here. The heartbreak of "Goodbye Grace" - not here.

I am confident that a company such as La-La Land Records will correct everything that this Sony release got wrong. However, Armageddon is a Disney property which means it will probably come under Intrada's umbrella. Either way, I wouldn't give up hope on a Complete Score release one day.

Score as heard in the movie - 5/5
Score as heard on this album - 2/5
Overall - 3/5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2007
This is one of the most beautiful soundtracks out there, especially the piece 'Leaving', but I found another US import which is very rare, with some 45 tracks from the orchestral score throughout the movie, including the narration at the beginning by Charlton Heston with that amazingly haunting theme in the background. I think the actual music is phenomenal and really hits the movie on the head superbly, but it has to be said the quality of production and orchestral use is quite synthesized and plastic sounding..u'll know what i mean if u compare Rabin's work with Zimmer's.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2006
The guitar riff from the main theme is recurring and used to such great effect. I can't imagine the film being half as good without this amazing score to accompany it.
Listening to it makes me want to watch the film everytime. Forget Hans Zimmer, Trevor Rabin is 'God'! (Of original score soundtracks!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2013
Although the film was not the best, the score is amazing to have on as background music. Its makes you sway through every emotion and I never get bored listening to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2015
i have got the cd now
from tom leighton
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2005
The film is my all time favourite, went 2 c it at the cinema....
Have only just got the soundtrack, its excellent, cant believe i waited so long! But it was well worth the wait. For fans of Aerosmith and the likes, i recommend it highly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2016
beautiful soundtrack, for a film that inspires.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2015
Great soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Armageddon - The Album
£7.99
Armageddon - The Album
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)