Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2014
A little like being greeted by an over enthusiastic but genuinely well meaning Rottweiler 😨 I was a bit taken aback by it's unrelenting enthusiasm but having sought refuge in a darkened room I know this is one cd I won't abandon but will explore a little at a time 😋
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
First heard Amadou and Mariam this year at a small festival and have loved their music ever since, very funky
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
Great music. Thank you Jools Holland for having all those great bands on your show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
If you've not experienced these artistes, you're missing something special.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
Amadou & Mariam have made another great album that bridges the gulf between African and Western music. The first had Manu Chao fingerprints all over it but with this latest offering they are developing a quite unique style. The vocals are as mesmerizing as ever, the rhythms captivating and they have added some awesome guitar work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
I thought Dimanche a Bamako was a great album and hoped this would be as good. I wasn't disappointed. Some interesting collaborations but still has that wonderful warmth that Bamako had. Perfect sunday morning listening.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Joyous album, fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2008
"The most exciting pop album of 2008"
`Top 50 Albums of 2008' #2 *****
Observer Music Monthly

"Stands with the output of anybody on Atlantic, Motown or Stax"
`The 50 Best Albums of 2008' #21
**** Mojo

`Album of the Week'*****
Metro

"Damon Albarn assists joyous assault on the Western pop market"
***** Uncut

"Triumphantly vindicates Albarn's recent declaration that, `you won't find anything more authentic, genuine or ecstatic this side
of Bamako." **** Q

"Their big breakthrough album." NME

'CD of the Week' Daily Telegraph

`Mali stars shine'**** The Independent

**** The Guardian

'Album of the Week' ****
Saturday Times
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2009
Very disappointed with this album. Not a patch on their original offerings. There were a few riffs here and there that were recognisable as Amadou & Mariam but mostly swamped by western rhythms and noise. I doubt if I will listen to it again.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2008
Right, I've had it, I can't take anymore! I'm moving to Mali. This is great!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.30
£9.99
£6.75

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)