Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Daler - Rowney Stay Wet Large Refill
Price:£8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 July 2017
Brilliant as always! I would recommended for any painter, it will save you a lot of money and paint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2011
Because of the quick-drying nature of acrylic paints, they can't be left on an open palette for long and the "stay-wet" system is an admirable solution to the problem of working with what is, after all, what is considered to be the main strength of this medium.

The stay-wet palette consists of a plastic tray with a layer of absorbent paper. This is then soaked and the semi-permeable "membrane" paper laid on top. Acrylic paint can be placed on the membrane and, with the plastic lid covering the tray, the paint stays moist for ages.

I was a bit dubious about its effectiveness at first, since the tray is rather large and has additional spaces for paint tubes and brushes built in. Rather than being hand-held, it will have to be left on a surface beside your artwork, but this should be no big drama since workers in acrylics will need something to sit a lot of water jars on anyway. If you find that you've added too much water at first, simply leave the plastic lid off for 20-30 minutes to allow some evaporation.

One thing to note: the net price for the reservoir & membrane set may seem to be good value, but check the postage & packing before placing your order.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Brilliant if you use acrylic paint, mixed paint stays wet ready for your next painting section, though Im in Spain so it does dry out a little in the heat of the summer (july /August) so I I just give it a quick spray with water, bu cant imagine not having it, as it does save wasted paint, and I paint for a living.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
Totally satisfied with the service. The product is overpriced.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2016
Rowney is quality and therefore it's the best product if you take your painting serious. These refills go with my wet pallet perfectly and save me a fortune due to no wasted paint when I use acrylics.

Just a point, never get a refill that is too small for your pallet, it really needs to go to the edges otherwise you may end up with to much water overflowing into your paints causing them to bleed into each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
A bit pricey for what you get but in my case I need the refills as they do keep acrylic paint usable for days
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2017
Great product for any artist. It keeps acrylic paint wet for days and saves cleaning a palette. All you have to do is throw the membrane away when it's used, A good time saver!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Have ordered these before, very fast delivery, just what I needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Good service, great price for a useful item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)