Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 December 2013
I first had this on the Amiga 500 way back in the early days of electricity and although this has been updated [Bermuda is deleted] it's still great fun.
If you don't know the game, you play a young lad who finds oneself destined for a life of servitude in the Caribbean. At the start you get to choose from four nationalities but as the game progresses you can actually change your loyalty, but not the actual nationality -thus you could be French fighting for the Dutch. Through circumstances you suddenly find yourself thrust into the captains position on a small boat. A sub plot allows you to search for other members of your lost family, another gives you treasure maps. The idea is to sail the Caribbean rescuing these family members and amassing a monetary fortune as you go along. Your aided in this but accumulating various objects [a telescope that gives better sight etc.] and get to interact with the locals in the towns. At the inn you can gain crew and information. Visiting the governor can lead to official job offers or even romance with his daughter. Visiting the shipwright allows you to sell, repair or upgrade your ship[s].
As time passes, so the monetary levels required to keep your crew happy grow. At some point the crew will want to divide the plunder, when this is done you can either end your career or you might be lucky enough to go back to sea and start virtually anew.
Each game is random as are events throughout the gam, thus every game is a new adventure. It's difficult to get bored with this, but once you get good at it, it does tend to feel a bit same 'ish.
Guaranteed to give hours of fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2015
I love playing this game from time to time. There's something terribly relaxing about sailing your ship around the Caribbean. On top of that, especially due to my dislike of Spain and Spaniards, I take particular pleasure in sinking every Spanish flagged ship I come across, and devastating their ports. I do the same to the Dutch as well, and even go as far as to always name my ship 'Dutchbane'. This game is sold at a great price, and I received the product in tip top shape and have never had any problem running it (though do watch out for Windows Updates that sometimes affect the machine's capabilities of running older games). Rule Britannia...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2014
Me and my 8-yr old love this game, its fast-paced and stuff is always happening. I also think it has some educational value in map reading and use of compasses, the geography of the Caribbean and real pirate characters.
If it was just for me, I would actually like it to slow down a bit . . . . . ships shoot out of port and slalom about, other ships go whizzing past and its all just a bit too quick. It would be nice to introduce some tension in the way of sighting a distant vessel, closing in to identify it then deciding what to do.
They could always have introduced a time-accelerator for long voyages
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2015
A brilliant game for adults or kids with Tom and Jerry level of violence. I am running it on Windows 7 without problems although with any long game like this it is advisable to save regularly just in case. Hint: while you can play as a pirate you will gain more promotions if you leave the merchant ships alone and hunt other pirates instead. I bought this disk to replace the first one which wore out after years of playing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2017
When I tried to install the game, it stated that it was uninstalling some applications. When complete it had removed some McAfee dlls, which blocked the operating system completely. Had to carry out a recovery reboot and go back to a previous restore point. Not sure what caused this but it has caused hours of work. Will not be trying to install again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2016
Part of my collection as I have all Sid Meier's Games now and what I love about his games is you can continue to use the Mouse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2015
I have a new HP laptop running windows 8.1 and this game works perfectly. It's a bit dated but it is fun. There are a few monotonous bits to it but overall very enjoyable. I wish Sid would make another one. There is so much potential to be seen for making a new game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2012
A bit on the fast side when sailing. Dancing with Governors daughters is a pain.
BUT still a great game, that keeps me absorbed for hours.
Highly recommended.
Shame all the other XP games were not compatible with Windows 7.
Thanks again Amazon.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2016
just so so
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2016
cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here