Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
118
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

At last Wallace and Gromit are back in a half hour feature which they seem best suited to. This time they have converted their house into a windmill and have opened a bakery, with dough to door delivery. When making their deliveries one morning Wallace goes to the rescue of Piella Bakewell, the former Bake-A-Lite girl and a pin-up of his. Could Wallace have found love at last? If only things were that simple, because there is also a 'cereal' killer on the loose, killing bakers.

There seems to be something not quite right about Piella, and even her poodle looks scared. Surely Piella doesn't know anything about the murders? And surely no one is out to kill Wallace?

If you haven't seen this on the tv, I don't want to ruin it for you, so you will just have to watch it to find out who the killer is, and see if Wallace, or Gromit can find true love. What I really like about this is the more subtle humour, such as the tribute to that famous scene from 'Ghost', and the album covers that pop up, just look at the titles and singers.

All in all a very funny edition to go with the rest of your Wallace and Gromit collection. Will be enjoyed by all the family, or just by yourself.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
Wallace & Gromit return to their better suited 30 minute films. This short is packed with the puns that we've grown accustomed to in their earlier features. The BluRay picture is top bun and you'll see jokes which you can't on standard DVD. It would have been nice to have a few more extras but since the BluRay is only a bit dearer than the DVD, it's really a complaint that can be levelled at both versions. My favourite joke remains Gromit's look after Wallace says that he's "in bread". Also like the homage to the 60s Batman movie when they can't get rid of the bomb because of ducks, nuns, etc.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2008
The best thing on TV this year worth watching was this, but don't worry if you missed it as the DVD is on the way!
Wallace and Gomit now run a bakery which get Wallace attention from the new love of his life. Unfortunately it is only Gromit that sees her evil ways!
The series is as good as ever, with many visual gags and laugh out load moments. Some great British TV!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2008
the highlight on the box on Christmas Day,and what can i tell you but it is an enjoyable experience for absolutaly everyone so much that this is the duo's most fantastically hilarious adventure yet.
it is surprising how detailed the storyline is given that its runtime is just under half an hour,but that is the joy of Wallace & Gromit,it has so much ligh heated humour for you to take in you can enjoy it way more than once.
this is full of references to popular culture and other films such as (Ghost,Aiens,and even The Matrix)and with a 'cereal' killer on the loose the possibilities of slapstick is endless, and it delivers by the mill load.
it was so great that this aired at the end of such a fabulous day so all my family could sit and watch it after unwrappng the tree presents,having some tea, and a slice of Chritmas Cake.
a true natured special episode that i cannot wait to see again,nd again,and you get the idea.
highly recommended purchase.
44 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2016
All Wallace and Gromit fans young and old will love this film. This pair really are national treasures and this film is of the usual high standard we have come to expect from Nick Park. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2009
Glad to be able to add this to my collection, but short run, would have been better to have the other short films together on this disc.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 May 2009
Wallace and Gromit aren't just a pair of cartoon characters, they're a British Institution, and as such I expect a lot from them. Undoubtedly, the unparalleled magnificence of their previous adventures couldn't have been expected to go on forever... but somehow I thought it would.

It's not the animation, which is as delightful as ever. It's not the puns, or cultural references, which are brilliantly incorporated (especially the Aliens scene). It's not that Wallace is any less gormless, or Gromit any more astute, or that the baddy is under par...

I can't put my finger on why it's not quite as good as their previous adventures, and surely I can't be the only viewer who's just slightly disappointed? I didn't laugh out loud in many places, which is unusual... and the story seemed just a tad cramped into its 29 minutes...and perhaps that's all it takes: two negligible complaints against an outstanding, beloved work of animation.

So 4 stars then... I didn't LOVE it, as I have LOVED them before... but it's still good Wensleydale-cheesy fun for the young at heart of any age.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2009
It dosn't matter what the actual film is like, wallace and gromit deserve 5 stars every time. This is easily the darkest film yet, but we still get the superb lines and pop culture references that we have come to know and love. Pull your finger out and buy this dvd. It's worth it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
potentially the plasticine world of W&G could generate thousand stories, but our guys just produced a bunch of fantastic films.
As usual the technique and visual creativity of the scenes is as delicious as amazing, and it is all conducted with a mix of naif and gentleness ad some crazy and anarchic spirit that comes up every now and then, in the unexpected action and reaction of the characters and some subtext where you can tell who made these films is not a bunch of innocent guys.
A mix that makes this film, too, enjoyable by everyone and intelligent as well.
Blu ray is of course excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2009
Ah, Wallace and Gromit. Always a beloved sight, and this one's no exception: the characters are delightful, the action scenes are skilfully done, the drama is high.

But there are a few faults in this which put it below the standard of its four predecessors. Spoilers ahead...

Possibly I'm being oversensitive, but the idea of a villain being a woman who's gone crazy because she blames food makers for her weight gain, in this age of body anxiety, strikes me as a bit tasteless. Making fun of the fat girl isn't very nice.

The action was great, but there was a point where some characters broke out of a storeroom with surprising ease; I was very surprised there was no scene explaining just exactly how they did get out.

Fluffles is charming, but her face isn't quite as expressive as it could have been. This has worked in the past: the evil penguin's face was completely expressionless, which added to his mysterious menace; Shaun the sheep's face is fairly static, but his smiling bleat adds a great deal and a lot was done with his body language. With Fluffles, emotions are done largely with her eyelids and lashes; it works well enough and would be fine if she wasn't a dog and Gromit's love interest ... but compared with Gromit's marvellously expressive brows, it's not quite as strong, which is a shame.

Having said all that, Nick Park's stuff is never less than great and everybody's entitled to an off day. Music, action and humour are all there as usual, and it's a good time.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse