Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
147
4.0 out of 5 stars
Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360)
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Standard|Format: Box|Change
Price:£13.99 - £29.95


on 28 April 2017
I'm sure it's common sense, but wish more games being sold would say what region lock is on them; ordered this game without thinking about regions and tried to play it on a US Xbox 360 (I'm in the UK) and was rejected because the CD was region-locked to UK consoles. Thankfully bought it on the cheap but it's essentially a waste of plastic in my room rn (my own fault but would still caution other buyers to be aware of region discrepancies)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Not "new" as described. Has been re-sealed. No xbox seal. Disc looks like repolished. Descibed as new and sealed. A con.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
I bought this for one of my son's for Xmas.... great value and its always worth getting a second hand games ivory never had any trouble
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Marvelous videogame!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 January 2009
Over Christmas I played through Tomb Raider Underworld (Xbox 360),Prince of Persia (Xbox 360) and tonight I just completed Mirror's Edge. The latter was by far the best.

The visuals are stunning! A limited colour palette with red, turquoise and orange in predominance against white, makes for a stylishly beautiful and overall sophisticated effect, which in places took my breath away. The free-running skills take practice and patience but once they become smooth it feels great. I am not a fan of combat and managed to avoid most confrontations through the game choosing to focus on the puzzles. Obviously, there is rough path to take through the game (lit with red objects) with a range of objectives to meet, otherwise what would be the point? However, there are massive variations in this route you choose to take as your skills progress the movements become more sleek, intricate and impressive. In the time trails it is up to you to work out the quickest route to each checkpoint and you ARE able to roam freely if you desire. By using Xbox Live, you can learn clever routes and new moves by racing ghosts.

If you enjoyed the free-running in Assassins Creed or the Tomb Raider series this is definitely the one for you, but if you prefer a standard first person shooter, this may take you out of your comfort zone.

Highly Recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Great purchase arrived soon and just as described, no problem
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Thanks 100%
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2009
Got it for my 10th Birthday, played it once and fell in love with it! Amazing graphics as you have to free run your way through a dangerous city: City Eye. Some people forgot about city eye's faults, and chose a comfortable life... but "others" didn't. These "others" communicate using runners. People that use rooftops as paths to move. They keep out of sight, which makes them exist in only the edge... the mirrors edge. You are a runner called Faith. There is a murder come to the city. A man running for mayor... DEAD. You and your sister have been accused of a crime you did not commit. It is your job to clear your sisters name, and find who the assassin is... but who? When I got this game, it inspired me, it shows how to be free, live. I
recommend this game to you. Can't wait till the second one comes out! ENJOY!!!!
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
This is a very high quality game, and is certainly something very different from the run-of-the-mill you get these days. Basically, if you like Portal, it has very simular elements, for example the type of graphics and the syle of a first-person adventure game.

The game contains, and is structured around, a gripping story of Faith and the runners within the city and this is one of the most important and quality factors of Mirror's Edge.

The gameplay in Mirror's Edge mainly consists of running, jumping, puzzling and weaving in and out of enemies. There are occasional sections where you end up shooting one or two enemies, but these are infrequent and work well in the game anyway.

Mirror's Edge is a game with very mixed opinions. Some love it and some seem to hate it. Personally I think this is one of the best games of this generation and I would highly recommend you buy this game.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2008
Mirror's Edge (Xbox 360)
This game is simply amazing. The dynamic is like no other game I have played. It really is about the rush of escapism, the thrill of running and keeping up momentum. Forget shooting and cover (although guns can be snatched off enemies and used), run for your life instead. You feel invincible as you traverse the city, jumping from rooftops to cranes, down storm drains, up levels of offices and scaffholding. The motion of first person is very fluid and the controls are straightfoward enough. You have to time your jumps and roll into landings from greater heights, which you master over time.
I have not completed the game yet, but it is quite short according to reviews. That's just the nature of the game in that you are always on the move. However, there is massive replay potential in time trials, where you can complete individual speed runs and beat your times. It's about finding the route which will maintain speed.
The graphics are bright and vibrant in a neo futuristic world. Simple but effect design. Every building has a different colour or theme. Using the Unreal Engine 3 (which was used for Gears of War), there have added new lighting dynamics which enhance the style.
There's a storyline to follow (cutscenes are told in manga animation style and during the chapters). But this is all about the immersive, addictive gameplay. Expect shades of Half Life 2 (when being chased, you really feel that the enemies are'nt far behind) and Portal (with various innovative ways to find the way out). Perhaps even some Tomb Raider (swinging on poles and shimmying along ledges). But this game is still original and shines with brilliance. I won't look at First person games the same again. EA are planning a trilogy.
If you like the dynamic gameplay and the challenge of escaping intact, you'll love this.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)