Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2017
Thanks for the music, Mikey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Perfect for the car!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Quick delivery and best price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
We now have the vinyl and the CD. A classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Turn the page 1st track one of the best on the albums skips like a bitch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2004
'Original Pirate Material' is NOT a CD that you're going to adore the very first time you listen to it. When I first heard my older brother playing it non-stop I couldn't actually have hated it more. However I then started to like one song, then another, and another, until it was me who was listening to it non-stop. 'Original Pirate Material' is an album that grows on you as you listen to it more, so don't be suprised if you despise it a first like me. Now it is definately one of my favourite albums ever and I believe that literally there is not a bad song on it. 'Turn the Page' is an amazing track to begin the album with, brilliantly introducing Mike Skinner's unique stlye of music, and every song from then on is a masterpiece in itself, all the way through to 'Stay Poisitve'. This isn't an easy listening album, you really have to listen to the excellent poetic words in each & every song. My personal favourite tracks on the album are 'Turn the Page', 'Let's Push Things Foward', 'Same Old Thing' and 'Stay Postive'. But then there's the hilarious 'The Irony of it All' an 'Too Much Brandy' and the dark yet meaningful 'Weak Become Heroes' and the classice 'Don't Mug Yourself'. The problem is you really cant pick out any favourite tracks as they are all fantastic. You have to buy this album, you really do. Go on, you know you want to.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2004
What you should have said is, "if you ONLY like rap and hip-hop" do not buy this, yet I still disagree with that more acurate request. I love alot of different styles of hip hop and really dig this album. And it's not just because it is so different and unique, and I'm not some elitest who only considers underground independent music any good. This is simply an excellent album. The production matches the vocals, and alot of hip hop albums lack such agreement. And the lyrics are refreshingly straight forward, with no fluff. Many hip hop heads today only consider a rapper's use of big words and clever wordplay and then call the ensuing stream of obscurity poetry. I too appreciate this style but it is far from any good poetry ive read lately, which isn't accomplished through the use of awkward unfamiliar wording but rather a culmination of subtleties who's list is to lengthy to go over here. My point is Skinner touches on many of these aspects. And lastly my favorite quality of this album is Mike Skinner's cadence, completely original and highly infectious. So in closing, please disregard above negative reviews, hell, ignore this one if you like,(reviews are hard to make anything but subjective) but i can leave you with this, if you consider yourself one who has a truly ecletic taste, this album is definitely worth picking up.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2003
This CD should have been up for the Turner prize, as art that actually means something is hard to come by these days. It is also rare in that it completely lives up to the hype surrounding it. This is an album that can be enjoyed by fans of all musical genres.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2002
Right from the very first track, Mike Skinner grips the listener, with his powerful lyrics and soft beatlines. The industry class him as a garage act, but don't be fooled, its not your usual garage album. In fact, when listening to some tracks, you will swear its not garage. A classic blend of soft beatlines, hip-hop, garage meets ballad.
A true classic, which will appeal to all types of people. This guy will be a huge star.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2002
I'm sorry, but this album is possibly the best in the world. I'm a Rock Fan, i hate Garage. I came across this guy on Steve Lamacq's Evening Session on Radio 1. His First Two singles are poor in my opinion. However "Let's Push Things Forwards", "Stay Positive", "Too Much Brandy" and "Irony of it all" Are some of the best songs ever. Well worth the money. Buy it people!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)