Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
4.8 out of 5 stars
Soul Box (Dig)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 22 September 2016
I had the privilege to talk with a jazz saxophonist recently who, told he'd never get very far as a musician by his music teacher at school, saved all his pocket money, and took home all the Grover Washington Jr records he could get his hands on, and listened, and copied, over and over and over. Now he's playing at Ronnie Scott's. Well done Tony. And thanks for inspiring him Grover. There's hints of Miles Davis So What in the 2nd side of this albums track "Trouble Man" but this is a bit more sultry, slightly less delicate, and possibly used for samples in the track "LSD Nikon" on probably my favorite album from the 90s... Anyway Grover is a humble band leader here, all the players get their moment to explore and express, within the mood of the piece.

This is a solid second shelf occasional, know where it is when the mood is right record, unless you've got the dedication and the feeling and would like to be playing at Ronnie Scott's some day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
This is an absolute masterpiece. Bob James did the arrangement on the album, and I would equate it to jazz symphony. When you listen to it don't do anything else it is one of the best albums I have heard in a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2017
Bought as a present ... Recipient very pleased ... I have a fire stick and would like to listen to my purchase through my TV ... Is this possible ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
anybody who likes soul jazz will love this , very easy listening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
arrived on time and just love Grover and his music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
THIS IS A TRULY BEAUTIFUL ALBUM, GROVER'S TAKE ON THE TEMPTATIONS MASTERPIECE ( WRITTEN BY NORMAN WHITFIELD ) IS SO WONDERFUL, TO KNOW THE FULL LENGTH VERSION BY THE TEMPTATIONS PRODUCED BY NORMAN WHITFIELD CERTAINLY WILL HELP YOUR POINTS OF REFERENCE WHILST LISTENING TO THIS FANTASTIC TRACK.
GROVER TAKES " MASTERPIECE " AND WEAVES MANY STRANDS THAT FINALLY BECOME THE " MASTERPIECE ".
ALL TEMPTATIONS FANS WOULD CERTAINLY LOVE THIS VERSION, THE TEMPTATIONS VERSION WAS TRULY INSPIRED.
GROVER's VERSION AGAIN IS TRULY INSPIRATIONAL..... THIS IS A TRULY WONDERFUL PIECE OF JAZZ/ SOUL MUSIC THAT
NEEDS TO BE LISTENED TO AGAIN AND AGAIN.
STICK THE HEADPHONES ON LAY DOWN IN THE DARK AND WEAVE IN AND OUT OF THE LAYERS THAT GROVER DISHES UP
FOR US TO ENJOY.... I BOUGHT THE ORIGINAL TEMPTATIONS ALBUM " MASTERPIECE" SEVERAL DECADES AGO, AND THAT ALBUM TRULY IS A GEM, NOW WHAT DO WE HAVE HERE " SOUL BOX " ? ........ THE FOLLOWING TRACK WE
HAVE A 15.55 MINS LONG VERSION OF MARVIN GAYE'S " TROUBLE MAN" , FANTASTIC, FANTASTIC.
THIS IS A TRULY INSPIRED VERSION OF MARVINS " TROUBLE MAN ", I KNOW ALL YOU SOUL BROTHERS AND SISTERS MUST
SURELY ALREADY OWN A COPY OF MARVIN;S EARLY 70s ALBUM SOUNDTRACK TITLED " TROUBLE MAN "..... IF NOT DIG IN
TO YOUR POCKET AND DO YOURSELF A SOUL/ JAZZ FAVOUR AND GET YOURSELF SORTED OUT,
GROVER HAS THIS " TROUBLE MAN " IN HIS POCKET.
THIS VERSION REALLY IS SUBLIME,WE HAVE THE SOUL, WE HAVE THE FUNK, WE HAVE THE BURNING JAZZ.
GROVER WASHINGTON JR GIVES US THE FLAVOUR AND THE CHARACTERISTICS OF MARVIN GAYE IN THIS TRIUPHANT RENDITION..... GROVER UNDERSTOOD " MASTERPIECE " AS THE MESSAGE , AS A CONCEPT.
THESE TWO TRACKS ARE IN MY OPINION ARE TRULY WONDEFUL STATEMENTS UPON THE SOCIAL ILLS OF THE LATE 1960s AND THE NEW 70s DECADE ..... UNDERSTAND THE MUSIC, UNDERSTAND THE MAN, UNDERSTAND THE MESSAGE.
GROVER WASHINGTON JR AT HIS VERY SOULFUL BEST.... TWO HEAVY WEIGHT TRACKS JUST WAITING TO BE LOVED AND UNDERSTOOD.
BUY THIS ALBUM ON THE STRENGTH OF " MASTERPIECE " AND " TROUBLE MAN "
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
Excellent album a jazz fans Must have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2016
Smooth sax from Grover. Just enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Double the pleasure. Brilliant CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
A soulful classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Winelight
£5.78
Inner City Blues
£8.68
A Secret Place
£13.73
The Definitive Collection
£12.71

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)