Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
21
Ninja Tuna
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 21 November 2008
Mr Scruff is back, and his new album - Ninja Tuna is a perfect mix of jazz, funk, breaks and hip hop, with collaborations with Latin maestros Quanitc, UK hip-hop legend Roots Manouva and Danny Breaks, a veteran of the dance scene.

The best track on here for me is with Quanitc - Donkey Ride just has this quality about it, and the heavy Latin chords really make this perfect. The beats slide in there and the whole track makes you feel giddy with excitement.

Another fine moment is the collaboration with Roots, his lyrics still raw, and Scruff's soundscape fitting well with the darker side of hip-hop

This album is a bit more varied than the other offerings from Scruff, but it's not as wide as people would like to think - but this isn't a bad thing as Scruff does it well, tracks like Whiplash with it's classy use of jazz just makes it sublime.

Excellent - well worth listening to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2014
Mr. Scruff never fails to deliver the ultimate in feel good smooth grooves....the fore-father of electro-swing does it again; another wonderful album! ..so glad i bought it!! ...hope you do the same!! thank you mr. scruff!!! <3
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2009
Ninja Tuna Looking for something new to add to my music collection i stumbled across this GEM of an album. A sumptous mix of frayed around the edges D&B/funk/light jazz fusion. All the tracks wend their way on a sometimes unseen path but their destination is ultimatly a happy one. Some tracks took a few listens to but its all strangly addictive. A big thankyou Mr Scruff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2017
Truly Puts the FUN in FUNK! His Greatest Work. But more than that, Mr Scruff understands beats, jazz, funk, soul and also knows how to develop sounds into unique and beautiful tracks that make you smile. I think this is personally his most accomplished album as it sounds super developed and deeper into beat and soul knowledge I think. I cannot find fault with this at all and will be playing it time and time again. Expect, Dope mid tempo jazzy beats, blips and soulful voices merged to create a sound that could only be the Scruff. I have all of his stuff and recommend getting it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2014
There's only one good tune on this CD, the rest are weird.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 July 2009
Mr Scruff ( nee Andy Carthy of Macclesfield ) has a singular musical vision.
A bit cut and paste, a bit worn around the trouser bottoms but never less
than entertaining and infused with generous good humour.

'Ninja Tuna' reminds me of the busker I saw in Canterbury this morning.
The handwritten sign attached to his guitar case read :
"Granny Kidnapped By Ninja - Money Needed For Karate Lessons".
Getting my drift ? No ? Listen to this perky little release
and it will all fall into place.

The fourteen tracks are a real mixed bag.
Stripped-down lo-fi drum and synth compositions like 'Nice Up The Function'
stand shoulder to shoulder with more sophisticated arrangements such as the
fluidly jazzy 'Music Takes Me Up' with its fine central vocal performance
by the redoubtable Alice Russell.

'Hold On', a soulful sunny summertime collaboration with Andreya Triana,
is another delight despite the synth bass needing a little love and attention
in the tuning department. (If the effect is intentional I apologise to its creator
but still think it detracts from an otherwise terrific number).

'Kalimba' is a funky little treat which chugs along nicely, going
nowhere in particular but clearly enjoying the journey.
The string synth intrusion halfway in is a nicely executed surprise.

The shuffling latin rhythms of 'Stockport Carnival' with its
hilarious vocal hoots and whoops and slinky trumpet and flute solos
is perhaps the album's most musically satisfying highlight.

The true pleasure imparted by this music comes from its lack of pretension.
Guileless and determined to have a good time Mr Carthy's labours deserve
our attention, appreciation and affection. Crikey ! You can even dance to it !

Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2008
It's hard to write and describe just how enjoyable this album is. It deserves awards and accolades far greater than I can provide. It constantly surprises and shifts your expectations.

Apart from a disappointing opening track, there's no other bad elements.

The music is enticing, enjoyable and at times eclectic. Whenever the eclecticism seems as though it's going to overpower, the funkiness returns and ensures you've just enjoyed another track.

'Music takes me up' is a joyous piece of uplifting and soulful house music. 'Donkey Ride' has a tremendous jazzy underlay.

Even Roots Manuva's track is a surprise in itself. I rarely find myself drawn to this kind of track but this is good.

One track I have to mention is 'bang the floor'. At first I was not drawn to this, it seemed almost out of place on the album as a whole. My advice, though, would be to give it another listen, it rewards you.

Of the remainder, 'get on down' with it's quirky breaks and funky jazz style beat is a definite highlight, 'give up to get' takes a while to build up into a classic ultimately surprises yet again and 'this way' is sheer class.

I can recommend this album to you completely and utterly without any doubt whatsoever.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2011
There's a wide variety of styles on this album, and each track rewards a careful listen in a different way. What they all have in common is an infectious optimism. I can't imagine anyone not feeling cheerful after listening to this for a few minutes.

It's a cleverly produced album with a lot of good ideas. My only criticism is that some of the instrumental tracks don't develop beyond repeating a riff - often a strong or hypnotic riff, but one that would have been better used a launching pad for a solo. A bit surprising, as Mr S obviously likes jazz.

Don't let that minor gripe stop you from buying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2008
Well, the Mancunian maestro has done it again. Another simply stonking album, tracks 2 and 11 in particular being the stand-outs. This is a very ecclectic album that takes in more genres than say, Keep It Unreal. It's a combination of breaks, hip-hop, electro, soul, jazz and funk but so wonderfully Scruffy you can't help but fall in love with it. He has (bar the title) ditched the references to fish, and IMO thats a good thing because, if we're all honest, the joke was wearing a bit thin.

A bold statement coming up, but this is perhaps his most accomplished album as it probably best sums up what makes Mr Scruff so marvellously quirky and fresh.

The music really will take you higher. Buy it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)