Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
63
4.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£28.40+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2009
Chrono Trigger was originally released in Japan way back on the Super Nintendo in 1995, then shortly afterwards it received a North American release. It was also ported to other consoles in the same regions later on, but only now has Europe got a port of it.

The game has indeed stood the test of time, almost everything about this game is perfect:

The games story starts out simple enough, Lucca; a friend of Crono invents a short distance transportation device and demonstrates it at the "Millenial Fair." A girl whom Crono recently acquainted tests the machine, it malfunctions however because of the pendant she's wearing. The malfunction creates a time gate and this is how Crono and his friends journey through time begins.

As time travel is involved, a lot of the game will raise many questions if you're playing close attention to the story. The basic plot and game objective is simple, paying close attention to the small details in the story may make certain things seem convoluted at times - like "how did that upcoming event happen when I'm meddling with something to do with it in the past?" Chrono Trigger isn't lacking on twists either, they're ubiquitous throughout and lead you to not wanting to put the game down.

The time travelling is very interesting, for example; one side quest later on in the game features greedy mayor who has stolen an item that belongs to you. Go back in time 400 years and offer the woman who lives in that same house a gift for free and she tells you how she will raise her children to be generous and giving; fast forward 400 years and the mayor is now TOO generous and happily gives you the stolen item back!

There's 13 endings that have numerous variations depending on certain choices you made during the course of the game, when the game is finished it allows you to create a New Game+ file which keeps your levels, skills and most of your items from your finished games saved file. This allows you to breeze through the game and finish it in a different matter, hopefully acquiring a different ending. It's possible to "breeze through" the game as the final boss of the game is accessible right near the beginning, you can choose to fight it whenever you want. Without doing the "side quests" however this is practically impossible during your first play through.

Another great thing about Chrono Trigger is the characters, everyone is endearing and charming, even Crono somehow, the typical RPG silent hero. Each character also has a compelling back story, some emotional, all great.

The battle system is so fast paced and fun that even somebody who hates RPGs will enjoy it; after playing Chrono Trigger other turn based RPGs seem slow in comparison. Random encounters don't exist, instead the battles take place then and there upon bumping into the enemy on the map.

The graphics are SNES like but oozing with as much detail a 16-bit game could fit in, another nice feature is the anime cut scenes which were included for the PlayStation port are here on the DS version. The character design is recognizable immediately as Akira Toriyama art, known for his distinct art style which most of us know from the Dragonball series.

Lastly and probably my most favourite thing about the game: the soundtrack. The retro beeps and bleep combine to make an astounding soundtrack; especially the Boss, Epoch and Black Omen themes which are absolutely amazing. Playing this game with headphones is a must!

All in all, Chrono Trigger is an immersive and addictive game that'll last you a while with its numerous things to do and unlock. If you have a DS then do yourself a favour and treat it to this masterpiece.
22 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2009
It's time for a massive amount of nostalgia and a trip down memory lane, because the origional Chrono Trigger for the SNES was the first game I ever played. My Dad hade brought back an NSTC format SNES from the US and brought this game for me. I was lucky to have been able to play this masterpiece of a game, which is really the only RPG that is equal to the utterly sublime Final Fantasy 7.

The story begins with a group of friends named Crono, Marle and Lucca who live in the year 1000AD. Lucca and her father construct a time machine and during a test where Marle volunteers to be teleported here pendant interferes with the machine causing a portal in time to be created, which she is sucked into. Crono and Lucca then recreate the portal and set out to rescue their friend. While persuing Marle however, Crono and Lucca meet a set of different characters and when after a sequence of events they find out that a global catastrophe is soon to occur in the future. The friends also learn that they have the power to stop it and embark on a adventure to save the world and the whole universe. It is truly a benchmark for video game storytelling, you have to play it to believe it. It's fantastically topped up by some of the most interesting and likeable characters that I've ever come across in any RPG or any game for that matter. It also features entertaing and humourous dialoge.

Next we come to the gameplay, which is similar to many RPGs. You navigate your characters across many different locations including forests, towns and dungeons. You fight monsters using a standard RPG Active Time Battle system, a player takes action in battle once a timer dependent on your speed stat reaches zero, you can attack with either your weapon, magic or special physical techniques. Magic and Physical techniques are handled by the Techs command. Unique to Chrono Trigger is the exsistance of cooperative techniques. Each character has a total of 8 personal techniques which can be combined with other character techniques to create more powerful attacks, double and triple combinations exsist. For example Crono's sword spinning Cyclone move can be combined Lucca's flame toss to create the Fire Whirl combination. This aspect makes fights interesting and tactical.

Another feature unique to Chrono Trigger is the concept of time travel. The players can access seven different time period of the world's history and choices made by players in the past affect things in the future.
The overall gameplay is fantastically balanced and hugely entertaining. Whether you're thinking about the best ways to kill a monster or interacting with various characters or exploring the very colourful and varied environments across history.

However the thing that makes this tower firmly above so many RPGs is it's replay value. The fact that time travel is crucial the the game and the story means that the game has multiple endings, 13 multiple endings to be exact! Given that this is a game that you'll want to experience again and again it means that it's a great value for money.

In conclusion Chrono Trigger is a true masterwork of a game. I can't think of anything wrong with it. Every scene is memorable in some way or another. It's a true benchmark of video game storytelling, character development and gameplay. It never stops being fun or entertaining. Utterlly epic in every scence of the word, a sublime experience from start to finish. Along with Final Fantasy 7, Chrono Trigger is easily the best RPG ever made and has only improved over the years.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
I never played this on the the SNES so I was a newcomer to the Chrono Trigger world. At first I was put off by the graphics in this game, which are pretty ordinary, even for the DS. But once events started to unfold, and I got a grip on the controls, I realised that under this modest appearance is a true pearl of a game. The story is really quirky and fun, the characters are amusing and likeable, and the gameplay is simple but delightful. In particular, I recommend this to anyone looking for a fix to fill the hole left after finishing Zelda.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2008
Chrono Trigger is an RPG from the heyday of the genre on the Super Nintendo game console. For anyone who has never experienced the game due to it never being released in Europe, but who loves RPG games from around the mid 90's (Final Fantasy, Secret of Mana) this is a must-have.

For anyone who _DID_ experience it in either the original SNES form or its re-release as part of a late-90's Playstation compilation (especially the latter) you may well be warned that little has changed.

To elaborate: the game was produced as a collaboration between Square and Enix (who at time of writing are now one company), featuring the art style and creative input of Dragonball creator Akira Toriyama.

The characters are few but memorable: a samurai-sword-wielding lad, a mysterious girl with powers of healing and ice, a madcap inventor girl with powers of technology and fire, and a few others that, for the uninitiated, I won't spoil.

The game is similar to Final Fantasy in gameplay (turn-based menu combat, no genuine real-time combat like that found in Zelda or the Mana series), with character positioning and technique combinations making for more strategic play.

The plot starts out as a simple case of mistaken identity and wandering about in the classic RPG-game style. The lead, Crono, meets Marle, a secretive girl, at the Guardia Village millenial fair, and the two take part in a space-displacement experiment by Crono's friend Lucca. It goes fine until Marle volunteers; her pendant causes not a space, but time displacement, and Crono must travel back in time to the middle ages to rescue her. From there, the three realise that it was fate, not accident, that it happened, as the three protagonists end up in the future, where what they see compels them to make a pact to do whatever it takes to save the world. Beyond that, I say no more.

On completion of the game, the time-related story - that in the end has the player hopping between 1000AD, 600AD, 12000BC, 2300AD and a slightly unimaginitive Prehistoric era (perhaps the weakest point of the game) - allows replay with an existing save to uncover other alternative outcomes. By existing save, I mean that, barring 'key items', your character roster, and money, you keep everything you had, i.e. levels, items and equipment. I'd be lying if I said the extra endings were 'awesome' - the endings weren't really that in 1995, so they certainly won't be now - but they add replay value, justifying the shortness of the game when compared to similar offerings of the time.

-A note to those who have played this before-
As is the norm now with re-releases (I wouldn't dare call this a remake), a few FMV's (cartoons done by Toriyama studios) bridge key sequences and provide more aesthetic candy (those even these are not new; they're from the Playstation version). As for new in-game, interactive content, weeell expect the obligatory encyclopedias, music players bla-bla-bla, and a new bonus dungeon or two that bridge the story with Chrono Cross, its Playstation-only sequel that Europe didn't get either. Those dungeons are Recycle City, so expect no frills.

This is, along with Final Fantasy VI and Secret of Mana, one of the best RPG games released in the early-mid 90's. It may look dated, it may be shorter than what is now expected gameplay-wise, but it has lost none of its charm, mainly due to the absence of CGI, which dates faster than anything (although why this never got the same respectful remake treatment as Final Fantasy IV and Dragon Quest IV did on DS, I do not know). This game did help the introduction of time-consuming long animations on pretty much all attacks, and annoying lags between characters moving during battle due to the 'Active Time' system, both of which killed this genre for me in recent years, but it isn't so bad as it is now.

So, if you'll excuse the pun, if you like RPGs it isn't a waste of your time; if you own a previous release though, it might be a waste of your money.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
This is an amazing remaster of one of the best Super Nintendo games ever made. I also own the original and have to say this is the way to play this game, and it keeps the other half happy as I can sit on the sofa playing whilst she watches her to shows!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Bought this as many many times i have seen in forums people putting this game on there list of favourite RPG's on the Playstation however i never got the chance to play it on my Playstation back in the day so when i seen it was on DS i jumped at the chance to finally try it and see what all the fuss was about.

After having played it for many hours and completing it i can safely say that all the hype was correct, back in the days of the PS1 this would have been an amazing RPG to play and the fact that you can replay it on the DS just makes it a bit of a timeless classic in my opinion. There are many different characters that you can have in your party each with different strengths and weaknesses to be used in the right situations, along with a good amount of different weapons and armours etc.

The game also offers quite a large amount of side quests which is typical of RPG type games and is very much suited to hardcore players who go for 100% completion of their games and seek to get all the best gear.

The game involves time travelling to different eras in order to ultimately stop a catclysmic event that near destroys the planet and almost wipes out all civilisation.

Overall a great buy and would recommend for RPG fans who like to game on the move.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2009
Back in the 90's this fantastic game was only ever released in Japan and the USA on the Super Nintendo.
It was then re-released on the original Playstation, again in Japan and the USA.
Despite being considered one of the greatest RPGs ever released, it's only until now does the UK get it's hands on it with the Nintendo DS.

Story is same as before, untouched (from what remember!) and still stands well against many of today's RPGs. Time travelling has never been so much fun - with the many possible endings, you can play it again and again.
The graphics are still the same from the SNES days, but obviously they look great on the DS. It's a shame there aren't more of the short animations, which were introduced with the PS version, but that's a minor grumble.
The gameplay is the same, albeit there's an option for DS users to choose from the original method of playing, or by using the touch-screen and pen. I personally used the original method for some old-school gameplay.
Music is just as good - i'd forgotten how good it actually is.
Obviously overall, this game has dated somewhat in comparison to more recent releases, more visually than the actual story or gameplay. The game could have had a graphical overhaul similar to the recent DragonQuest games, but I think this would have lost it's timely feel. The actual story hasn't aged, I think - it's up there with many recent games, if not better.
It's arguably just a iconic as Final Fantasy 7, or at least it would have been if it saw a release back in the Playstation days in the UK.

My only grumble in comparison to the previous release: The many, many variations on the ending could literally mean many, many playthroughs of the game. This could be seen as a good/bad thing... the Playstation version would actually allow you to complete the game twice (regardless of the ending you view), and then give you access to all endings in the mini-theatre . Sadly this doesn't seem to be the case with the DS version.

Apart from my one grumble, I really can't recommend this game enough! Go get it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
When this game first came out many, many years ago i was misfortunate to miss it as i had a Genesis at the time and we simply could not afford to buy the SNES as well, so there were a lot of gems that i completely skipped over, this included. (along with all the marios, zeldas, and metroids of those years)

when it was reissued on PS1 i also missed it, it simply wasnt available where i was living at the time (Iraq) instead i played Chrono Cross, and kept looking forward to playing the original :)
i managed to play it some time after that via emulator on PC, but somehow its not the same as on a proper console version.

finally, this release has all that i need, the cleaned up graphics of the reissue, along with so many fixes (which i probably will never notice having not played the original through and through!)

Anyway, this game is well worth the money any given day: Playing it on a 3DS, I still find it mesmerizing and enchanting so many years after its original release (18 years now?)

GET IT NOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Everything that can be said about Chrono Trigger HAS been said, but not everyone who can express their love for it have expressed it yet... So here I am saying: I LOVE CHRONO TRIGGER!
And having this beautiful story, music, characters, setting, gameplay, all of it combined into one tiny little cartridge to insert into your portable console and take it on the go, whenever, wherever?! Hell yeah we'll take it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
When this product first launched I was 15 and didn't have a SNES. In fact, it wasn't until I started obsessively watching Giantbomb's Chrono Trigger endurance run playthrough that I even found it existed. And Boy Howdy am I glad I do now.
Sure the graphics are basic, but what the game manages to do and convey with them is amazing and in many ways more impactful than the ever present mo-cap around today. There are some usual and well worn JRPG tropes (awesome fighters have floppy weird coloured hair; staring at a sunset whilst brimming with angst etc etc) but this isn't a game that follows these, rather it set them as a benchmark others hoped to follow.
The story is interesting too, with some twists that hit like a kidney shot, and a real sense that you as the player can influence aspects and outcomes of the game and at times not even realise you have.
The DS version's translation has been improved since the SNES version and is infinitely better and the addition of Anime Cutscene was a great surprise.
As a small warning it is worth noting that compared with todays hand holding everything is laid in front of you style games, Chrono Trigger is not always explicit in what it expects you to do next. That said, if you ever get truly stuck there are a plethora of game guides out there and therefore this should not be a barrier to you experiencing this game.
All in, an ageless game that still feels fresh today and will give you hours upon hours of entertainment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)