Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 29 December 2009
Take a little piece of my heart.You know you got it if it makes you feel good

I am a consumer of 60s compilations and I was pleased to receive this one as it has a lot on that you do not normally hear on the radio.As afar as I can tell they are all original recordings and their are 76 tracks which is plenty to listen to on long journeys.

The Phil Upchurch Combo was reputedly one of the earliest mod classics with You Cant sit down. Quite a few main stream classics such as Bob and Earl and the Harlem shuffle, Rufus Thomas Walking the Dog,Eddie Floyd Knock on Wood and Dobie Gray The "IN" crowd. You had to be there to remember all this stuff.

Great version of Hi Heel sneakers Tommy Tucker and Solomon Burke Everybody needs someone to Love.( great version in the Blues Brothers)

How could you not like Take a little piece of my heart by Irma Franklin- these ladies can sing.

All you need to know about love it here as Roy Head advises -Treat Her Right. I want to tell you a story everyman ought to know. Treat her right and you will get a reputation as a loving man. You will be glad every night that you treated her right. As Dusty Springfield sings there is no point Wishin and Hopin.

Great Classics like Rescue Me and My Guy. If you are tired of main stream sixties music of which there is alot and that is what is mostly played on the radio this is a god send.You can see why The Beatles etc were such fans of early Motown as it is all here to be revisited.

I am having trouble finding a duff track.

One of my best sixties compilations. So no Wishin and hopin go out and buy it or put it on your wish list.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
I bought largely because it was going cheap in the zavvi sale and was not expecting much. Typically they pad these compilations with obscure tracks that barely scraped the top 40 back in the 60s and this is no exception. However, nearly all the obsure tracks are utterly fantastic. I guessed whoever put this compilation together knew their stuff when I saw that it had Jackie Wilson's 'Baby Workout' on it, and I was right. Disc 1 is by and large motown, disc 2 is largely psychedelic rock, while disc 3 a mixture. I liked this album so much, it inspired me to seek out and buy more psychedelic sixties rock. It's great stuff. All in all, the whole album was really exciting and uplifting.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
if you are just getting into the mod scene or just love sixties music then this album is a must!!!
top tunes from mod gods the who,the spencer davis group,the small faces etc.
northern soul classics such as that driving beat by willie mitchell,
motown classics,stevie wonder etc make this a quality choice!!!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2008
As my friend says "You've got all these tracks but in a different order".
In this case it's only partly right but to a 60's Soul fan and a regular at the Hammersmith Palais on a Monday night this collection brings back some fabulous memories. I think that they are nearly all there.

Also memories of Ready Steady Go on a Friday night which had the catchphrase "The weekend starts here".
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2010
There are lots of mod collection cds out mostly blending a bit of revival stuff with sixties mod nearly every one of them are the same,this one is a tad different.This cd box set of 3 consists of all 60s ,first time i had heard 'buzz with the fuzz by chris farlowe' on a cd compilation.Some realbeauties on here even got 'doris troy watcha gonna do about it',not to be confused with the small faces version.There is the odd throw in usual from 'the kinks small faces etc'but mainly some pretty obscure stuff well worth the buy if you like, or are just getting into the mod scene.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
The music is fantastiv in every way and i throughly enjoy it as i drive arond the county on my journies i recomend this to all who like to listern to good music
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2009
WHAT A GREAT COLLECTION OF SONGS EVERY ONE WAS A BIG HIT AND PLAYED AT ALL THE CLUBS I WENT TO.TO GET THEM ON ONE BOX SET IS AMAZING,ALREADY HAD ALL THE TRACKS BUT TO HAVE THEM ALL TOGETHER SAVES A LOT OF TIME, I'D GIVE IT 6 STARS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
A lot of good sounds from the sixties, a reminder of what a good era for music this was. I would definitely recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
There are many such compilations on the market, many barely distinguishable from one another and with predictable track listings. This one's different. It features well-known artists such as Smokey Robinson, and others who were less successful, including The Action and The Creation. Hats off to the compiler(s) for including Dave Berry's "Don't gimme no lip child", surely one of the strongest B-sides ever. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
It is very rare that compilations are well thought out.But this collection really includes all of those great tracks that made that era so special.It has the best of early Motown,all the best soul records of the time along side the cream of the British bands at the time,Manfred Mann etc.I would say that anyone who was around in '65 or '66 will be very pleased to have this...a must have gem!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)