Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • Aion
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 1999
This is an enchanting C.D and a must for anyone with an interest in all things mystical and magical. I found myself transported to another era and totally inspired in my art-work.I first heard of this band as a recomendation from my brother and since recomended it to friends whom all find it awe-inspiring.The artists are a couple who inhabit a converted church where they make most of their recordings, hence the really good accoustics. I totally recomend this one. Brilliant!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2000
From the opening track to the end of the platter you'll just want to play it over and over again until the tracks are firmly lodged within your personna. Ethnic vibes, chants, mystical riffs, a truely brilliant album that will go un noticed to the majority of Music Lovers. What a waste ! , DCD's finest hour
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2012
This took well over a month to be delivered - but it was worth the wait. This is probably my favourite DCD album - which is high praise indeed. If you have heard and enjoyed any of their other albums then this one should be an automatic purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2002
This is an enchanting C.D and a must for anyone with an interest in all things mystical and magical. I found myself transported to another era and totally inspired in my art-work.I first
heard of this band as a recomendation from my brother and since recomended it to friends whom all find it awe-inspiring.The artists are a couple who inhabit a converted church where
they make most of their recordings, hence the really good accoustics. I totally recomend this one. Brilliant!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
A real jewel, in my opinion the best album of this band, they bring you between the middle age and the renaissance, a deliciuos musical trip while relaxing on your sofa
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2008
This is a special, limited de-luxe edition. It is a STEREO, HYBRID SACD - in other words, it is not a multi-channel release but it CAN be played on a regular CD player and does NOT require special SACD hardware. The album has been re-mastered by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab in the USA and these pressings are packaged in Japanese, mini-vinyl replicas of the original sleeves, including replicas of any inner sleeves, plus an additional booklet with lyrics.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
After hearing the excellent The Painted Caravan by former Dead Can Dance percussionist, Peter Ulrich, I was expecting great things from this album, but it was a huge disappointment. To me it sounds like a failed attempt at fusing elements of Hildegarde von Bingen and Arab music, with a bit of Bowie thrown in, but resulting in only noise. It isn't an altogether unpleasant noise, but it's just noise nonetheless. It is the only DCD album I've heard, so hopefully it's not representative.

If you like this sort of fusion, I can wholeheartedly recommend The Painted Caravan, which explores similar themes, but blends them in an altogether more creative and satisfying manner.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
This is really high quality stuff. It's not MFSL release, but it sounds much better than the original pressing. And it's 180g!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Takes you on an extraordinary journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2016
Always good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.64

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)