Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Serpent's Egg
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 June 2014
Here's the thing - all the sounds, both vocal and instrumental are extremely evocative and you'll never have heard anything like like it. But... What Gerrard sings is not another language and there is no meaning in her words, just emotion. If you can live with that, then it is simply awesome. But for me, it detracts a star.

I would listen to Opium from their recent album on repeat - and have done on a recent flight - as it is far more rewarding due to the marriage of insightful lyrics and mood.

But there is a whole lot of mood on display here and it really should be bought and tasted. I can't gee enough of Host of the Seraphim. This track is worth the price of the CD alone.

I'd encourage you to try.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2017
Interesting music. Not totally hooked on it....yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
magica
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Well, what can I say? Lisa Gerrard and Brendan Perry are among the best voices around. Brilliant album, like their others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2001
Looking back on it, Dead Can Dance were a remarkably consistant outfit. "Host of Seraphim" follows right off where "Persephone: the gathering of flowers" (finalé from their previous album) finished. There's no denying its one of the bands finest moments. Elsewhere there's medieval polyphony, the delightfuly Celtic-tinged "Writing on my fathers hand", and Brendon Perrys excellent Ulysses. Its amazing to think that this was recorded in the mid 1980's, is so completely removed from the style of that period. Then again, this music doesn't seem to belong to any set timespan. Oh, & great cover art. If you liked this try "Within the Real of a Dying Sun" & "Aion", also by Dead Can Dance.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2017
 Love DCD, however I'm on to copy number 4 of this and they have all been warped, 2 were scratched, ALL have a surface mark 1/2 way through Severance (Trk 2) which causes an annoying POP for 3 - 4 rotations, MPO, I believe is also responsible for Spleen & Ideal which is a great album but Side 1 was pressed off center on all 3 copies I went through before giving up. Someone there needs to find another job, you are costing everyone down the chain money, time & profits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2001
I remember a freind of mine playing this album to me when it first came out. I was absolutely stunned, I had never heard anything like this before. I became a dedicated fan and was lucky enough to see them play a rare live concert in 1990. For anyone unfamiliar with Dead Can Dance they are an eclectic collection of medieval, tribal, gothic and ambient. But this really does not do them credit. The first track is quite simply awesome and I defy anyone with depth and taste not to be touched. If you recognise the vocals that is because Lisa Gerard ,the female half of Dead Can Dance, now spends her time making film soundtracks with Hans Zimmer. The stunning Gladiator soundtracks are a testament to her vocal talents. Together with Brendon Fraser they have created some of the most diverse and beautiful music I have ever heard. Enjoy!
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
4AD Records have always been the charm for me. Artists and particular sounds, covers all beautiful, very comfortable. Dead Can Dance is one of the groups that I loved most. The mysterious voices so soft and then as a powerful new force. This album remains their most successful for me, a masterpiece that could come after years, and instead they publish it after 2 or 3 albums.
It seems to be in the Middle Ages, the Odyssey, the court wizard Merlin, but it all happens in 1989.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2002
with mystic soul vibrating vocals this album gives you a peace that can only described as erie yet beautiful, calming yet deadly, you can almost feel death is soothing you in to your clay overcoat, to just as you surrender, jolt you back out again in to a primeval celtic hacker, which gets you bouncing and bearing your teeth at the modern entrapments about you and the cat if near by, although like a fish on a hook your lured back in to spicy middle eastern mantras conjuring up images of belly dancers on the caravan routs of old, dancing round the night time fires, you half expect them to be painted blue and captain Kirk is looking on concerned with a sweated brow, that is the modern yet ancient mix this album gives out. as with there later albums its rich and deeply textured, if you like Greenaway type visuals Lisa Gerrard is the vocal embodiment, with a soothing voice that stroke your soul, not supriseing the tv media gripped this album with both hands, using it as backing music for just about everything, from nature/history programs to love in sifi metropolis, if you want to get lost in the past whilst being able to touching the future this is the album. personally it was the music i was listening to when my daughter was born it holds that much weight, as music for life changing events wether it death or to be born too
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2008
This is a special, limited de-luxe edition. It is a STEREO, HYBRID SACD - in other words, it is not a multi-channel release but it CAN be played on a regular CD player and does NOT require special SACD hardware. The album has been re-mastered by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab in the USA and these pressings are packaged in Japanese, mini-vinyl replicas of the original sleeves, including replicas of any inner sleeves, plus an additional booklet with lyrics.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Aion
£9.68
Anastasis
£9.99
Spiritchaser
£11.08
Dead Can Dance
£10.88

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)