Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
27
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2003
I love Dead Can Dance they are one of the best musical groups of the 80's and 90's. For me this is where there style began. Their first two albums had hints of what would come but from Within the Realm of a Dying Sun to Aion is a complete work that can be listened to from beginning to end. This is a must listen to for any musician wanting to learn how to create feeling, depth and sound out of limited instruments. This band created a sound, a language that feels ancient and primal and yet moves the listener not via dance or trite lyrics but with resonance to that part of our soul that responds to music.
22 Comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2001
This CD starts with brooding, orchestral gothic tones that really really grow on you after a few listens. This, however, only sets you up to be absolutely blown away by the final 3 tracks.. which just soar onward and up into something the likes of which I have never heard before. Words cannot describe something that makes your hair stand on end, but suffice to say that this music, although darkly pagan, is not the typical gothic "wallowing in self pity", it is tremendously empowering, defiant and above all truely beautiful. I feel I could stare down the sun after listening to this.
11 Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2003
This is one of of the most awesome albums ever made.Ive lost count as to how many times ive listened to it, but if you want to feel the true power of music, then get this album. When I first heard it, it had a profound effect on me, no other group has touched me like Dead can Dance, and all thier albums are stunning (althought to be honest i think the cracks were showing with spiritchaser) this one has been produced like its made out of solid stone towers sound, creating music thats deeply resonating with humaness,enigmatic and powerful.No one else can touch it.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 September 2000
It sounds just like the cover looks.Brooding, mournful, uplifting descent into myriad darkness and light. Production so thick you can almost cut it with a knife. If this album were cloth it would be a heavy linen Bayeux Tapestry.Moody deep voiced vocals from Brendan Perry offset by the spry octane of Lisa Gerrard and songs of such mesmerism you wonder how the hell anyone manages to find such inspiration. I really think you owe yourself this album.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2003
While Dead Can Dance's music was always more baroque and eclectic than the 'goth' label might suggest, _Within the Realm of a Dying Sun_ is certainly one of the more brooding entries in their back catalogue. Of their early material (which is to say, before the more overtly 'ethnic' stylings of _Into the Labyrinth_ onwards), this is by far the best. Making superb use of Lisa Gerrard's astonishing vocal range, it runs the full gamut from dark-and-langourous to soaring inspiration. As usual, Perry's vocal contributions take a little longer to get used to; 'Xavier' sounds like 80s pop, albeit DCD-style.
It also contains 'Cantara', which for me is Dead Can Dance's best single track, and a reason to buy the album in itself: a glorious, undulating kaleidoscope of sound that just begs you to turn up the hi-fi...
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2000
Dead Can Dance have been around for a while now, and seem to have dabbled in a number of different musical styles. But for me, this early DCD release is their finest, and its one of my all-time favourites. It contains the kinds of moments to make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up, with its luscious, echoing chords and ethereal singing. Needs to be played at great volume to be appreciated to its fullest! Can't recommend this enough to anyone who loves music that makes you listen.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2006
This is one of my all time favorite albums, since buying this in 87 it gets a regular airing.

The music just takes me to another place, the production and quality are second to none. Mixing neo classical with folk is probably the best description I would apply to this masterpiece.

Gothic gloom some might say, probably they would be right. If only I could find another band that still makes this sort of music I would be happy. The nearest I've found are an Italian band called Gothica, any other contenders out there?

Buy it, you wont be disappointed.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2002
Upon hearing This Mortal Coil's first album in the mid eighties I pursued the artists that had contributed to it, and the 4AD label. I'd been a fan of the Cocteau Twins anyway but my research had opened new doors of listening pleasure. Xmal, the Muses, and of course the Dead Can Dance.
As an avid music listener and buyer, my tastes are wide and varied and this sits nicely alongside my hip hop, house, classical and pop.
I was pleased to hear how Lisa Gerrard's voice became a part of the Gladiator soundtrack, although it's a pity it doesn't grace the whole of the movie.
I can't help but get emotional at the thought of how appropriate their sound would be on a film like The Lord of The Rings Trilogy. If you haven't heard a DCD album before then buy this and you'll know what I mean.
This is a great album......don't miss out on the others.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2006
This album can really conjure up images of times long lost, beautiful and archetypal, majestic and serenely simple. Like a Cecil B. DeMille movie for your Hi-Fi! Not quite sure why 1(!!!) reviewer gave this 1 star.. If you've no interest in something why be opinionated on it?? Nevertheless, one of their classics.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
I have this album on vinyl already so knew it was great. If anyone is thinking of starting to listen to Lisa Gerrard or the group Dead can dance then you couldn't find a better album to begin your journey.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.14
£9.53

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)