Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
303
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 August 2014
NASA discovers a huge meteor simmilar to the one that wiped out the dinosaurs is heading to Earth. Coming up with a plan they recruit a team of oilrig workers to land on the meteor and blow it up before it reaches Earth and destroys all life on the planet. One of director Michael Bay's early films, this is a cheesy, ridiculous film that you can't take seriously for a second yet also a lot of fun with Bruce Willis in good form and a good supporting cast including Ben Affleck, Liv Tyler, Steve Buscemi, Billy Bob Thornton, Michael Clarke Duncan, Owen Wilson and Will Patton all playing it completely tongue in cheek. Spectacular action and effects and looks stunning on bluray too. One of Michael Bay's best films.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I, as i'm sure apply's to many of you, just love these apocalyptic type movies with bucket loads of special-effects.
The story tells of a giant 'Asteroid' hurtling toward earth with little over a couple of weeks before impact, a 'team' are gathered together, put through a 'crash' course training regime to enable them to travel into space ,along with an experienced crew, land on the Asteroid shifting through space at 22,000 m.p.h., drill a '800 ft deep hole then plant the 'Nuclear Bomb' to separate the Asteroid, then...try to escape before detonation........not a huge task ?
'Bruce Willis' leads the cast list as 'Harry Stamper' - 'Liv Tyler' plays his daughter 'Grace' 'Ben Affleck' plays 'Grace's' suitor and
fellow 'driller' and mission companion to 'Harry'
This is an exciting and tense roller-coaster ride, maybe a bit 'gun-ho' as many of this type of films are, but putting that aside...it's great fun......'great 'Blu-ray' material.
Both picture and Sound quality - very good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
INTRODUCTION:

In 1998, "Armageddon" was the second highest grossing movie that year (to date: $201 million), just behind "Saving Private Ryan" (to date: $216 million). It has since grossed $554 million worldwide. The original Touchstone DVD release was non-anamorphic. The Criterion release was slightly improved, but still the video was non-anamorphic. This long awaited blu ray release is worth the wait, and represents the definitive version of this movie.

VIDEO:

This 1080p AVC MPEG-4 transfer (aspect ratio 2.35:1) looked fantastic, considering the age of this movie. The blacks are inky black with lots of details. The picture was full of vibrant colour. The special effects, although dated, still looked awesome. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

The DTS MA 5.1 mix is much improved from the previous lossy Dolby Digital mix. The result was simply awesome. One could close one's eyes, and just hear discrete sound from individual speakers. The bass also rocked the entire house. To hear Aerosmith singing their #1 hit "I Don't Want To Miss A Thing" was very satisfying. (4.5/5)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

"Armageddon" is a fun fun adrenaline-filled pop-corn film experience with stunning imagery. This blu ray video is totally superior to all previous "Armageddon" home video releases, which featured non-anamorphic video. They looked so bad today that I do not even feel like a double dip. If you like explosions, space shuttles, with a love story, this is the movie for you.

One minor point: When the Russian astronaut banged on the computer in the Space Shuttle to restart the engine, he noticed that the parts were "Made in Taiwan". And when I looked at the 3D glasses that I sneaked out from IMAX a few weeks ago, guess what, they were also "made in Taiwan". Some things simply don't change.

This blu ray disc is highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
OK, I'm holding back a star. This is tosh. But it's great tosh.

There are so many great bits of fun in this slam bang actioner that it's hard to know what to talk about.

So, in no particular order, the acting from a universally hugely enjoyable cast (if no oscars here):

Billy Bob Thornton-brilliantly quiet and understated.

Bruce Willis- huge fun

Ben Affleck, another enjoyable turn.

Steve Buschemi- humiliating the head-shrinkers and other great scenes

The much-missed Michael Clarke Duncan-as he cuts into the singing of "Leaving on a jet plane" with a voice deep enough to shake out your fillings.

Oh, you could keep on, but for this type of film, the perfromances are perfect.

The medical screening- high order slapstick, and MCD's table dance !

Effects- generally good enough. One bad call, I think we see meteorites from the comet coming in at all angles- well, probably they'd all come from the same place. Aside from that, it wasn't supposed to be realistic, but it's good enough.

The story- well, you know it, but it's well done.

A big film, big entertainment, but fun. Great but not GREAT.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Im on a mission at the moment to buy all my classic fav films and this was one of the first I bought have watched it a million times and could watch it a million more.
the all star cast is just amazing Bruce willis liv tyler and Ben Affleck what more can I say... well not alot or i'd spoil the plot lol a must see film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2003
This DVD is a msut for all fan of Willis who have not yet purchased these four films, but it also offers a lot to just movie-fans in general. All four films are worth getting on DVD and are neatly and handily packaged in a DVD box set. All four are arguably some of Willis' best films, and a re certainly the four that have been box office hits with the paying public.
The Sixth Sense was simply a cinema master-piece and really revieved Willis from a grey patch in his career. The plot, the storyline and the introduction of a young Hayley Joel Osmon make a movie which delivers so much and leaves you on the edge of your seat right till the end. The twist was spectacular and really was a brilliant film from start to finish. Unbreakable was from the same director and in a subtle way, the same kind of film with a 'big and shocking twist' as the finale. Even though it was still an exciting thriller it lost the edge that sixth sense had via losing the originality. For me Armaggedon is a great film, even though it rates high on the cheese factor it's a powerful tear-jerker that has the pulse racing as Willis and his team are sent to drill a hole into an astroid to save all of mankind. Not only that but there is able support from Ben Affleck and Billy Bob Thorton, plus a great sound-track from Aerosmith. Finally a true cinema classic with Die Hard...Bruce Willis fights crime with a white vest and gets down and dirty to save lives and look out for himself at the same time.
All in all, for just over twenty pounds, this is a great bargain and a great chance to own some cinema classics.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2006
Watched this on TV last night and feel compelled to write a review. I remember seeing this in the cinema as an impressionable teenager and thinking it was the greatest thing ever; explosions, tough nut men and funky gadgetry. Having watched it again now, I can't believe how different my opinion is.

This is the most blatant piece of American propaganda ever. A huge comet is ploughing towards Earth, and who notices it first? The Americans. Throughout the course of the film, you get the impression that the rest of the world is still living in a cave somewhere, scratching its collective head and banging a bone against a stone. Of course, only America knows that this threat is coming. Of course, only America has the technology to stop it. Of course, no other countries in the world have the slightest inkling that anything bad is happening, or come up with their own ways of stopping it, or even run away (non-specific Asian man sits eating noodles by a river, then BANG! Bye-bye non specific Asian city. Innocent looking French kids are playing around on a Citroen 2CV, probably having just finished their lunch of onions and frogs legs, when BANG! Paris gets wiped out. We then get a lovely sweeping shot of decimated Paris, because apparently the dust and debris from a comet impact settles immediately). The only other country that is credited as being capable of putting a man in space is Russia, but whilst Team America are whizzing around in their new, shiny shuttles (named "liberty" and "freedom", or some other patriotic nonsense) all Russia can muster is some drunken, insane Cosmonauts aboard their creaky, decrepit space station, which just so happens to explode as soon as America boards it. Goes to show just how much of the space race resentment is still held by America.

I won't even get started on the script; it's just dire beyond belief ("I've got just 5 words for you - Damn glad ta see ya boy!"). Some of the set pieces are well staged and look very pretty, but I can't stand films were half the characters are brought in just so they can be killed. By the time they've landed on the comet, I frankly couldn't keep up with who's dying and who's alive, and quickly got beyond the point of caring. One point of unintended humour was the fact that the guys at mission control got so distraught when one of the shuttles crashed, even though they pretty much knew this would happen anyway, that's why they sent two in the first place! ("At NASA, we don't take chances..."). And I've never seen such a drawn out ending, we knew from the start one of them was going to have to take one for the team, we don't need a seemingly endless scene where he looks all patriotic and nostalgic, just blow the damn bomb you fool!! And of course, the explosion works perfectly, and the world is saved. That is, one assumes, until the two massive chunks of comet get caught up in the nearest gravity field and flung straight back to Earth.

I know I shouldn't get so worked up, it's just a film, but it seriously worries me to think that America; a country that can't even deal with its own internal disasters (Katrina anyone?), portrays itself as the be all and end all solution to the worlds problems. Let's just hope that if a comet is about to hit, Bruce Willis and his cohort's real life counterparts are waiting in the wings to save us all. Not a one star film, because it does have a place, Im just not sure where that place is. Do yourself a favour, if you want an apocalyptic comet based film, go for Deep Impact.
99 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2005
The story is improbable to say the least; an asteroid the size of Texas is going to hit the earth. Two space shuttles just happen to be ready to intercept and destroy it in a mere 18 days. The people who are chosen to blow up said asteroid are a motley crew of drillers. BUT...this is great fun. It's gung ho, fast paced, high action FUN. Harry Stamper (Bruce Willis) leads his crew of oil drillers on a mission to save the world. A less likely bunch of astronauts has yet to be seen...the gang includes Rockhound, a womaniser who likes his girls young (Steve Buscemi), Oscar, a brilliant but spaced out geologist (Owen Wilson), A.J. Frost, an irresponsible daredevil (Ben Affleck) alongside an alcoholic, a gambler and so on.
Liv Tyler plays Grace, the daughter or Harry who is driven to distraction by his immaturity and Billy Bob Thornton is Dan Truman, the mission leader at NASA who defends the decision to bring in the drillers as opposed to using Americas 'finest young astronauts'.
This film is pure entertainment and doesn't pretend to be anything other than that. What you see is what you get, a high octane, action filled, special effects packed, fun film. Don't look for any deep meanings, just enjoy.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 September 2012
Armageddon is the granddaddy of all disaster movies ever made - as far as I'm concerned that is - it was also the highest grossing film in the world in 1998 and deservedly so. With a terrific soundtrack that included the iconic Aerosmith song I don't wanna miss a thing and an engaging film script brought to us by the highly talented Jerry Bruckheimer and Michael Bay I can never get enough of the film, despite the cheesy one liners!!

Thrills, spills and spectacular action scenes help keep this movie chugging along at a fair pace and even the slower scenes are well delivered, the great cast help with this. I'm not ashamed to say I even had a lump in my throat once or twice, I just lost myself in the story and went along for the ride.

The picture transfer is excellent and on the whole it doesn't miss a beat. Crisp and clear the video transfer is a real winner but if anything could surpass the video clarity then it's the DTS transfer that left me speechless. Loud, vibrant and shockingly good this is one film you'll want to play time and time again just for the audio track alone!
Adrenaline junkies will love this film and to be fair it has a little of something for everyone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 February 2011
The summer of 1998 was mostly unremarkable, with the majority of films failing to impress. The overblown Godzilla was a humongous letdown, as was Armageddon's rival Deep Impact. Armageddon came out champ of the summer season (along with Saving Private Ryan, Lethal Weapon 4, and There's Something About Mary). But none of these films managed to push past $217 million, which would be absolutely unthinkable now, inflation or not.

Despite the relatively low box office returns (just a smidgen over $200 million), the marketing machine for Armageddon was in our faces everywhere, and I feared it might burn-out audiences before release. I know I felt a little cynical when I went into the cinema that day, my expectations very low.

I've said before that Michael Bay does himself no favors. The man knows how to make a blockbuster, but he's utterly clueless when it comes to making a good film. Armageddon is the only film in his entire resume that I find watchable and entertaining, though he still should have held back some scenes (the notorious animal cracker love scene really should have been dropped).

A big boulder of iron ferite hurtles through space, knocking smaller meteors toward Earth (thinking of breaking a frame on a pool table). NASA recruits immature oil driller Harry Tasker and his band of roughnecks to go into space and nuke the comet before it ends all life our little blue planet. With an 18-day countdown it's going to be very, very close.

Although it took a total of 18 writers to staple the screenplay together, Armageddon succeeds in almost every area where Deep Impact failed, plus more. The soap opera is kept to a minimum while the action is ramped up, delivering one hair's-breadth escape after another, all to the sound of Trevor Rabin's amazing score, which the life blood of the movie. The huge cast of fine actors, the SFX, and the action would all be significantly inferior without Rabin's soaring tunes, which turn many of the key scenes into wordless music videos of visual storytelling.

That's not to say that the acting isn't notable. As a matter of fact, Bruce Willis is surprisingly effective, as is Will Patton, who rarely gets a decent role in mainstream movies. Though, as with Con Air a year before, Steve Buscemi owns every scene he's in (tying with Peter Stormare). Just ignore the horribly miscast Ben Affleck whenever he appears. He's the only real weak link of the movie, to the point where you ought to switch off during his screen-time.

As the only truly exciting blockbuster of the 1998 summer season, Armageddon defines a lackluster year, and elevates Michael Bay's classless resume. It's exciting, colorful entertainment, and none-the-worse for it.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse