Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 16 February 2015
Other customers have had a range of satisfaction levels with this product, but with a carriage-inclusive price many times less than two of the more complicated versions, I thought it worth a punt.
The adaptor worked correctly to allow a standard PS/2 keyboard and a standard PS/2 mouse to connect correctly to just one USB slot on my PS/2-less more-modern deskside PC. Every keyboard character worked correctly - even the notorious "\" and "/" that caught out the machine of a recent customer and maybe even one of the dearer adaptors.
The connection set also worked perfectly with a Bluetooth-based wire-free keyboard and mouse set made for older PS/2-connected gear.
The plugs are not very deep, so position the adapter and plugs away from any disturbance. I managed to accidentally pull on the cables of mine, gentle pulling being enough to disengage the mouse PS/2 plug from its socket on the NEWlink adapter, and I spent several minutes using keyboard scrolling to make up for the mouse not working before I sensed that I might need to re-seat the mouse connection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2014
The descriptions of these cables can be quite confusing - particularly the title of this product that says USB to PS2 which makes you think it will be converted into a PS2 cable. In fact this cable is for people who have a keyboard with PS2 connector who want to plug it into a USB port because their computer doesn't have a PS2 port.

Reading through the reviews of various connectors I have seen comments about the fact that the keyboards need to have some kind of USB-friendly wiring inside to actually work when you use a connector like this. I bought a couple of keyboards that were supposed to be USB but the seller gave the PS2 version instead. After some complaints the seller just gave me a full refund and left me with the two PS2 keyboards - but on the keyboard packaging box I could see they had PS2 and USB and had put a sticker on PS2 to show that version, so I knew my keyboards had the right wiring inside.

Anyhow - the cables work fine and were good value. They were priced at £1.30 each when I purchased, and the sellers were making clear that they were posting from Hong Kong so the slow posting was expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2012
I bought this hoping to use it to connect a port of my Aten PS2 KVM switch to the USB port on my Raspberry Pi, which runs a standard Linux system and so should recognise this device as a USB keyboard and mouse (The Pi works fine with a stand-alone USB keyboard and mouse).

Result: nothing. No response to either keys pressed or mouse movements, though a few garbage characters appeared on the login line when I plugged it in.

It sort-of works without the KVM switch (keyboard and mouse directly plugged into the adaptor), but the absence of the backslash key on a UK keyboard is a fatal flaw.

Also, the Amazon technical details page says it supports Mac OS and Linux, but the packaging says "For PC use only", so beware it may not work on other types of computer or with KVM switches.

I've given it two stars, though, since it is cheap enough to try and then throw away if it doesn't work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2010
Just bought a replacement laptop same model as my weary Portege laptop whose keyboard was playing up.

Bought the same model 'cos I had an expensive ultra battery and other odds and sods that go with it.

Bought this so I could use one of my old PS-2 keyboards on either of these laptop. but also tried it on my Samsung N130

I found that neither of the keyboards would work on any of my laptops with this adaptor but the old and the newly bought PS-2 mice would. But you don't need two mice do you.

The card with it stated it worked with W.98. W.98Se, and XP. (which is not mentioned on Amazon) so I did not try it on my Vista laptop.

The Operating Systems I tried were Windows 98, XP Home and XP Professional.

So if your laptop has a PS-2 socket and a USB you could use this with your PS-2 mouse in the USB socket and plug other items in the PS-2 socket.

Hope this helps someone 'cos my old keyboard still won't work - Urghhhhhhhhh.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2011
I've been using this for two weeks to connect a PS2 mouse to my Windows XP laptop USB port. It works, but only if you don't touch it at all. Any movement in the cable or the device will stop it working and it needs to be unplugged and reconnected (sometimes to a different usb port) before it will work again. I suspect this is due to very poor build quality as it makes clicky noises if you move the cables either side of the joint. Having this connected to the side of my laptop means I accidentally touch it quite a lot, so I doubt it will last very long.
Worth spending a bit more money and getting a better put together product IMHO.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2011
Get an IBM Thinkpad T60 with XP Professional on it. Get a lousy old PS/2 mouse that you rescued when your ex-employer was sending perfectly good gear to the tip.

Then put one of these between them. No silly messages about having to disable 'your other pointing device' - no drivers - just proper plug'n'play and it lets you use a comfortable old mouse, unlike some other bits you can buy.

Just a word of warning - if you have this connected to a PCI USB expansion card this device won't be recognised if you put the laptop into standby and then wake it up again. Connected to one of the onboard, properly powered USB ports it works a treat! Some of you will have met this before, no doubt. For completeness, the mouse is a Genius NetScroll. It doesn't seem to work with my Microsoft IntelliMouse 1.3A but I'll retest and let you know.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2015
I bought this in a effort to re-purpose a laptop with a smashed screen as a desk top PC, using old spare components. As laptops don't have PS2 sockets for older mice and keyboards, this cable is crucial in providing these connections. As a result I was able to build a half decent PC for under £10. Given the price of the product, I was very happy it actually worked. The build quality of the cable isn't great, but then what do you expect for pocket change prices?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2015
Terrible. Build quality is bad. Keyboard input works, but mouse input doesn't work at all with a MS Basic Optical Mouse. I would return it, but the postage will cost more than the refund I will get. :(

I bought this alongside a Perixx PERIPRO-401B, PS/2 to USB Adapter - For Keyboard & Mouse with PS2 Interface - Support PS/2 Port of KVM Switch - Built-in USB IC - Black to test - the Perixx is superb and works perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2014
I work with servers & kvm switches on a daily basis. As others have mentioned, some manufactures insist on using USB. maybe they hope i'll bin all my kvm switches & buy new usb ones. No Chance!

I bought 5 of these last year and they all worked perfectly. I bought a couple of spares based on the price & some of the reviews here. didn't need to they were all good.

I now find i've just deployed the last one and so have bought 10 more - hell 1.30 each & free p&p - No brainer!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2013
I expect a product to work 100%, but this does not. I have other USB-PS/2 keyboard and mouse adapters which look identical to this one, and which function correctly for ALL keys. But using this adapter, when the backslash/pipe key (adjacent to the Z key) is pressed, nothing happens. Unless you never need to use the backslash key, I strongly recommend avoiding this product. I have now ordered the Belkin USB-PS/2 adapter (below) which, although not as cheap, will hopefully work perfectly.

Belkin USB PS/2 Adapter
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)