Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
90
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 15 April 2017
A1
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Great really fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 November 2010
Computer salesman Chuck's brain still houses America's entire security secrets. Agents Sarah and Casey continue to protect him from enemies, who now include ruthless members of FULCRUM. Cue for 22 high speed, hilarious misadventures, full of spectacular stunts, plot twists and other genuine surprises - amongst them some of the guest stars and Chuck's final utterance.

The cast is superb, all of them - including the seriously weird Buy More employees ("no sign of intelligent life," declares the commissioned report). Zachary Levi is terrific as Chuck, becoming ever more adept and assertive. Also great are Yvonne Strahovski as Sarah (glamorously athletic and lethal) and Adam Baldwin as Casey (entertainingly humourless).

Great fun throughout, the stunts even better than last time (the three leads themselves performing many of them), no expense spared in the exciting two episode climax.

Bonuses include the stars commenting on their roles, a gag reel, sundry amusing features, a 3D segment (your own specs needed).

Chuck longs for a normal life. His fans disagree, thrilled with news of further seasons.

In short, a total delight.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 August 2009
Having watched both series 1 and 2, I can safely say that Chuck just keeps on getting better.

Right from the start of series 2 we have Chuck almost dying at the hands of a very cool guest star, with Sarah and Casey rushing to protect him.

In the second series we also get to see some of Sarah's past, more of Bryce and there are a number of big-name guest stars, showing just how much this show is loved.
The 'Charah' romantic sub-plot continues to develop and there's a very cool, game-changing series finale. We also get to meet Awesome's parents and Chuck's ex.

Thanks to Subway and an intense fan campaign we can look forward to a third series of my favourite show.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
I had never seen Chuck until I saw a few reviews and took a leap on buying the 1st series boxset. That was slow to start, but built up after 7 or 8 shows and then I was hooked. I bought this series straight afterwards and enjoyed this boxset even more.

It's not really a comedy as such, but the humour is the big plus in this show and is why I keep on coming back for more.

Just buy it and try it. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2009
have just finished watching series 2 of chuck and its funnier than series 1, chuck starts to take a more active roll as the series moves on and the other characters also develop well, relationships change - it's hard to actually say anything as I do not want to ruin the plot for anyone. The last 2 episodes move the series to a conclusion and its very funny with jeffster singing, a great final 15 mins - just as you think its all over its set up for series 3, and then the final 5 mins with chuck are just great (have watched it multiple times), am trying to say how good the final episode is without giving too much away. There are also some great one-liners 'chuck me' and 'unleash the Casey', there is a liner that is just awesome but I am not going too tell you where it is, you can find that out for yourself; look out for the guest stars as they are well know faces. If you are new to Chuck I would start with the 1st series as it gives the series a good grounding and is funny, I have recommended this to all my friends and they are all watching the 1st series, not one of them has a bad word to say about it. Cannot wait for series 3 to see what will happen next.
11 Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
How this series wasn't more well known is beyond me.
Excellent series - pure comedy.
Yvonne Strahovski is also a great actress
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
For those of you who have not watched Chuck before, I would recommend that you check out Season 1. Although Season 2 is superior in my opinion, Season 1 really lays down all the groundwork for what is to come.

For those of you who have see Season 1, you will not be disappointed by what the new season has to offer. In S1, Chuck was mainly the passive observer, the guy who flashed on things, and often made situations worse than before. However, at times he was given opportunity to save the day, in something I like to call a 'Chuck Moment'. Season 1 had a few of them (setting off the fireworks to distract the guards to save Sarah and Casey would be one) but Season 2 is full of them - and better off for it. Now don't get me wrong, Chuck can still be blundering and innapropriate, but in the new season, he always gets the opportunity to be the hero. The first episode has a particularly good example of this.

The season starts off very strong, following on with the storyline that involves the governement trying to make a new intersect (and invariably the team have to go on missions to help furthur that cause). In fact, the majority of the season is brilliant television, apart from a few select episodes that are merely good, dotted around the season. The season has a much more coherent storyline, with a smallish story arc near the start, and a solid story arc that takes off around episode 13.

The character's pasts are delved into alot more in this season, with a great appearance from Sarah's father, a conman. Chuck's past gets more attention however, as the long talked of ex, Jill gets reinvolved in Chuck's life. Best of all may be the casting of Scott Bacula as Chuck's father, who does a great job of convincing the audience of his connection to both Chuck and Ellie. Unfortunately, Casey's past does not get an episode that shows him in a new light, like the Ilsa episode, rather a fairly disappointing face-off between him and his old mentor.

Morgan's back, along with the rest of the buy-more crew, and a new face joins the buy-more - that of Emmet (played by Tony Hale, of Arrested Development fame) to provide more comic relief in that bizzare place.

A truly amazing series, with twists and turns abound, and an ending that will only leave you wanting more. BUY.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 March 2012
Chuck Bartowski continues his double-life, working at an electrical goods store in Burbank whilst also helping the CIA and NSA deal with threats to American national security. Chuck has the Intersect - the USA's combined database on all known terrorist and criminal threats - downloaded into his brain and is now an invaluable resource to the American government. However, Chuck is desperate to return to his old life and sets out on a mission to locate the creator of the Intersect and get him to remove it from his head...

The second season of Chuck picks up after the events of the first season (truncated by the 2007-08 Writer's Guild of America strike) and, for a while, it's business as usual. The Chuck formula - Chuck solves a spy problem whilst dealing with a more mundane crisis at home or at the store - is intact and remains entertaining, but also risks becoming stale after a few episodes. Luckily, the writers have taken steps to minimise that problem by bringing in a sequential series of multi-episode storylines. In short order, Chuck has to deal with the reappearance of an old girlfriend, try to track down his missing father so he can give his sister away at her wedding, find the original scientists who created the Intersect, deal with a CIA investigation into Sarah's ability to be his handler (given their growing closeness) and deal with a head-on confrontation with FULCRUM, a shadowy and criminal intelligence organisation.

This structure allows the series to sustain 22 episodes without becoming too tedious or repetitive, helped by enjoyable writing and great performances from the regulars and guest stars (Scott Bakula! Tricia Helfer! Chevy Chase!) alike. The writers aren't afraid to give real character development and growth to their recurring actors, particularly Zachary Levi and Yvonne Strahovski as Chuck and Sarah. Their will-they, won't-they relationship may be a long-running series cliche, but is given a few twists here (particularly the fact that Sarah is well aware of Chuck's feeling from the start) that makes it a bit more interesting. Particularly well-done is that it feeds Chuck's character growth, turning him from a listless nerd into a much more capable spy by the end of the season. Adam Baldwin also develops a bit more as action man John Casey over the course of the season, though surprisingly he doesn't have many episodes that focus on his character. Instead he is mainly used for macho comic relief, aside from some nice moments in the final episodes where he grudgingly admits to, if not liking, than at least finding Chuck mildly tolerable and useful.

As usual, the dramatic storylines are counterbalanced by a strong humour quotient. This usually manifests in storylines in the Buy More. Over the course of the season there are multiple changes in management, culminating in the power-crazed Emmett rising to dominance late in the season. We also encounter Lester and Jeff's synth-rock cover band (whose covers are...interesting, to say the least) and feel Morgan's pain as his mother embarks on a noisily passionate relationship with Big Mike. As with the first season, though it's not as prevalent this time around, there is the feeling that you could set a whole series in the Buy More with these characters and it would be just as much fun without the spy stuff.

Overall, the second season of Chuck (****½) is relentlessly entertaining. There are a couple of episodes that don't work quite as well as the others, but otherwise this is a terrific season of television which rarely flags or lets up the pace. The only problem is that by its end if feels like the series is pretty much over, and the addition of a few moments at the end of the finale establishing the direction of the third season feels a little incongruous: the series was very nearly cancelled after Season 2 and renewed at the last minute, explaining why the end of the season wraps everything up and then rather abruptly opens up again. The series is available now in the UK (DVD) and USA (DVD, Blu-Ray).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 June 2011
Season 1 wasn't great though more than good enough for me to want to watch/buy Season 2. Which is just as well because it's bloody brilliant. I just love almost everything about it. This is comedy/thriller/romcom/action/spy stuff at its best. Caution: some minor spoilers ahead.

The main cast has grown on me. Zachary Levy as Chuck the underachieving nerd with potential is simply perfect in his part as he manages to be convincingly nerdy while developing into an action lead. Yvonne Strahovski, as Sarah his still-unrequited love interest, is a lot more subtle an actress than I initially gave her credit for. Bonus point for being Australian totally convincing as American, plus another for actually needing a stunt double less than anyone else in the cast. Looking as gorgeous as she does doesn't hurt either.

There's a lot more going on than was revealed in the first season where Chuck got the superduperramalamadingdong computer The Intersect downloaded into his brain making him a national resource at risk from enemy action. Now we gradually find out that almost everyone in his past life is involved with it and that by the end it was pretty much only Chuck who could actually contain it in the first place. There really is a whole load, a mountain's worth even, of skulduggery involved as Chuck learns the secrets of his past.

I've become rather fond of Captain Awesome (Ryan McPartlin), Chuck's sister's husband to be, nicknamed after his favourite word. My first impression was of a stupid jock but while McPartlin partly plays him like that, the actor does far more with what could have been a nothing of a role. Awesome is a truly good person, genuinely kind and considerate albeit not the most perceptive person in the world. Originally just a throwaway character for the first season, the writers and producers saw what I've just described and he's now an important part of the cast.

The list of guest stars is to die for. Well, if you're into cult TV or movies that is. Guesting in four episodes is the lovely Jordana Brewster who lives in my memory as the lesbian criminal mastermind who falls in love with her good spy counterpart in the 12-rated spy/comedy/action/lesbian romcom D.E.B.S. (an Ian 5* recommended movie). Here she is the girl who broke his heart and now re-enters Chuck's life only for him to discover (spoiler warning but I'll be surprised if you're surprised)she works for the bad guys and always has. British actor Jonathan Cake is great as a tough MI6 agent who strikes sparks with Sarah much to Chuck's displeasure.

In the buildup to the season's climax, we finally meet Chuck's long missing father and he's played by the always-likeable Scott Bakula! (Quantum Leap!) And when he gets to say his catchphrase "Whoo boy", my face broke into a grin of sheer geek delight. I'm not going to tell you his precise role in Chuck and his sister Dr Ellie's lives but suffice to say, it's a doozy.

Other names of note include Chevy Chase as a billionaire computer baddie, Arnold 'The Mummy' Vosloo as a (and how did you guess) baddie, Michael Rooker (who should need no introduction), Bruce Boxleitner (Babylon 5) as Ellie's future father-in-law, Morgan Fairchild as Ellie's future...etc, etc, Dominic Monaghan (LOTR) as a British rock star, Tricia Helfer (Battlestar Galactica -the Cylon in the Red Dress!) as a CIA agent with plans to replace Sarah (booo!), and lots of other people I've vaguely or not heard of, and Nicole Richie (famous for being the adopted daughter of Lionel and ex-BFF of Paris Hilton) as Sarah's high school nemesis.

The scripts are sheer delight with wonderfully witty dialogue and some hilarious scenes. Point worth noting, as Levi says in a DVD extra, in his real life Chuck is the straight man and in his spy life he's the comic relief. Even the idiots Chuck works with in Buy More are more amusing than in the first series, though the Chinese girl doesn't get enough to do. (I like quirky women. My favourite character in Holby City is the ascerbic Ukrainian goth Dr Petrenko.)

And just in case you think I've forgotten, the show wouldn't be nearly as good without the contributions of the actor playing Agent Casey, the true American patriot with menace and a sense of humour that you can cut your fingers to bleeding ribbons on, the one and only, the amazing Adam Baldwin.

Perfect light entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)