Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
48
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a great live album, an encapsulation of Bowie and the Spiders From Mars in their prime. he never had a better guitar foil than Mick Ronson, and the latter's sizzling guitar work is smeared all over this recording. Check out 'Width of A Circle' - Ronson's Jeff Beck style licks and sulphurous guitar tone are magnificent. Quality is excellent throughout, and is an essential purchase for anyone wanting to hear the very best of where Brit Rock was at, circa 1972.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
really like listening to david bowie, excellent cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2010
Before this live recording came out officially in October 2008 on the EMI label it was one of the most sought after vinyl bootlegs, of this F.M. broadcast from the 20th of October 1972 at the civic auditorium in Santa Monica U.S.A.
The bootleg was a double album and had a photocopied cover (oh why did I sell mine?).

There is also a semi-bootleg issued in 1994 on the Mainman label the number is Golden Years GY002 and has a colour cover owned by Bowie's ex-manager Tony DeFries.

The 1994 semi-bootleg lasted 76 minutes 40 seconds and for some strange reason Bowie has edited this version of the show to 74 minutes 22 seconds as he is believed to supervise all his EMI re-issues they have taken out most of the interaction between Bowie and the Audience, so I have taken off one star.

This show trashes the "Ziggy Stardust motion picture" in terms of musicality but not in terms of historical significance, as that was the last show Bowie played the Ziggy Character.

Can we please have the complete show and not this censored version, Ziggy deserves better.
44 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
(asked the no-bootleg man...).

Being a life-long Bowie fan, I tend to purchase all his new releases. As soon as this came out, I grabbed it. My, oh my - this is a tremendous Ziggy live performance that makes the original Ziggy Stardust live sound like a rehearsal! I simply couldn't believe my ears.

Admittedly, the sound quality is not top. But it still is perfectly audible - don't think for a moment that it will spoil the experience.

The band is at its absolute absolute top. Ronson's guitar playing is sublime, Mick Woodmansey's drumming is insane and Bowie sings his heart out. And the true bonus: on stage, Mike Garson is playing the piano!

I get the feeling the band were quite enjoying this performance, it's got a lot of spark that I at least hadn't heard before.

True gem, worth every penny.
11 Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
If like me you think all of Bowies best music came between 1970 and 1974 you will love this cd .
sound quality is very good imo .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Classic Bowie at his best. As other reviewers have stated mix is initially a bit shaky but soon settles down to allow you to enjoy the performance. Between track dialogue is mostly edited out, but this can become tiresome with repeated playing anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 January 2012
With the January blues, I thought I would buy this to give myself a lift...and what a shot in the arm it proved to be!

The album was originally released as a bootleg but Bowie loved it so much, it has since been given an official release by EMI.

The quality is truly excellent and the atmosphere is superb. I personally prefer it to the Hammersmith Odeon release which has been around for a while.

Bowie and his band are at the top of their game and very much into their alter egos of Ziggy and his Spiders.

Sonically it is a great listen. Songs from the Ziggy album are interpersed with Space Oddity, tracks from 'The Man Who Sold The World' and 'Hunky Dory'.

The musicianship isn't perfect, but too much gloss would have spoilt such a spontaneous and joyous performance.

An absolute pleasure from beginning to end.

Recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2008
I've not listened to Bowie for many years, but when I saw this had been released I decided to get it straight away. This was my favourite era, and I'm a big fan of live albums, seeing how well a small group can reproduce the songs on stage - and they certainly don't disappoint. The band wend their way through a brilliant 18-song set, ranging from the full-on rock of Suffragette City to a wonderful version of Space Oddity - just 2 vocals and a 12-string acoustic guitar. There are only one or two tracks which don't quite match up to the quality of the studio versions; but this is live music and you would expect that. The one thing that stops me giving this five stars is the sound quality and mix. Mostly it is very good, but frequently there are problems: Bowie's guitar is nearly always too quiet (almost inaudible, in fact) and his vocals are occasionally a bit lost in the mix, but my biggest complaint is that various sounds seem to wander over from one side of the stereo mix to the other during the songs, for no apparent reason - Ronson's guitar frequently does this, as do some of the vocals, which is really annoying. I've no idea of the sound source, but surely in this digital age something could have been done to fix it? The CD is nicely packaged in a small box, great artwork and lots of little goodies inside: postcards, booklet, etc. - a lot of effort has gone into this project - it's well worth the money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2008
A bit of a holy grail for Bowie fans, this is identical to the earlier CD release back in the 90's so if you already have then that don't buy this. That said any self-respecting Bowiephile should have a copy of this in their collection.

It's not perfect: what you get here comes complete with technical hiccups, Mick Ronson's flat backing vocals and bum guitar notes, and Bowie's attempt to recreate the 'lift off' section from Space Oddity ranks alongside The Laughing Gnome as a truly cringe-worthy moment. But what you also get is the definitive historical record of Ziggy in his most formative and creative period. When Bowie introduces one number with "This song was written by Ziggy" he's not kidding. At the time he recorded this he was living and breathing his most famous creation.

And there are some very special moments, too. Acoustic versions of My Death and Andy Warhol stand out, the latter adopting an eerie quality lacking in the Ken Scott studio production. All in all this is THE definitive Ziggy live album, rivalled only by the original bootleg versions of 'last' show at Hammersmith Odeon the following year.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2008
I've been waiting for this for so long - happy memories of 1973 onwards with this as the soundtrack. There are some of the original comments missing but most of them are there (including the pliers/strong hand one which one reviewer mentioned was missing). It's a fantastic live gig, far beter than the one from Hammersmith and if you haven't heard it already then get it now! It's great to hear Mick Ronson's spectacularly raw guitar playing which is a perfect complement to David's haunting vocals.Love it, love it, love it and it hasn't been off either my car CD player, Ipod or sound system since I bought it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)