Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2015
It's great to have this wonderful series on blu ray finally. The picture is fantastic as you would expect, and I didn't notice the change of aspect ratio, and it certainly did not subtract anything. In life generally what you put you in determines what you get back, and The Wire is no different. The first few episodes were a hard watch first time around, I almost gave up but slowly the characters and story start sinking in, and once it grips, you then realise are watching quite possibly the finest television show ever made. The detail is superb, and the script is bang on. There's no watering down of characters, and the fact you form bonds with characters from both sides of the law only adds to the depth of the show. Once you have watched it all, give yourself a few months then watch it all again. The Wire looks at all aspects of a poor city in the US, and the back stabbing and careerism of the people in power is almost as shocking as the violence of the drug world.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
The wire is in my opinion one of the best crime dramas of all time, the stories are very well written and that writing is done justice by the excellent performances put in by the actors, there isn't much more that I can say about it that hasn't already been said except that it is a definite must-watch for anyone who is a fan of drama. This blu-ray release looks great and is considerably better than the original, apart from noise in some darker scenes which is understandable due to the age, the picture is very good, importantly it has also has now been adjusted to take advantage of 16:9 (originally the show was broadcast in 1.33:1).

It is just a shame that they cut corners at the last minute, while it probably won't be a big deal to most I was disappointed to see that this box-set has the discs for each season inside cardboard sleeves instead of blu-ray cases. I understand that this is a very long series and that something had to be done to reduce the costs and physical footprint of the box-set but I wouldn't have minded paying an extra 10-30% extra for something a bit more robust and practical. Within seconds of opening it up I had several discs almost fall out of the sleeve with was quite annoying to say the least.
review image review image
33 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Having only seen the first season in its original TV format prior to watching everything in this HD widescreen format, it becomes difficult to compare in that regard. I suspect purists would balk at all this. For me..? What I can say? The picture is mesmerising, the widescreen to me looks like it was always widescreen, excellent clarity and colour and the series as a whole is a work of genius, a show that demands your attention to fully take in the quality writing, brilliant acting, and a raw real-ness and honesty even mixed in with some dark humour at times. The Police are depicted as flawed and often reprehensible, whilst we also get to empathise with characters you wouldn't otherwise expect to. The show often used authentic real to life people for some of the parts which all adds to the authenticity.

A show that wasn't nearly as popular as it ought to have been during it's time in spite of critical acclaim. It's surely a show deserving of Breaking Bad like status, and well worth the time of anyone seeking out intelligent drama that demands your attention (which this does). And if you do, and stick with it you'll be rewarded.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Had the DVD box set and upgraded to blu ray. So pleased I did and for my all time favourite tv show it was worth every penny. Quality picture, quality extras and just buy or upgrade from dvd, you will not be disappointed the difference is easy to see
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Top quality blu ray for one of the best tv series ever- a real treat.

Upgrade / buy with confidence.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
Probably the most brilliantly comprehensive cop show that I've ever seen. Full of great characters, great dialogue and meticulously structured season narratives. I personally found the blu ray version just as effective as the dvd for sustaining the gritty realism that largely defines it, but I can understand the aficionados who argue that it detracts from the original scope.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Best TV serial ever - best viewed with subtitles and multiple times to catch every nuance. A masterpiece of work for sure.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
When you are producing a TV show for one of the few channels in the world, HBO, that is subscription based and therefore doesn't have to aim for cliffhangers every 10 minutes to satisy advertisers, you have the chance to use a whole series to tell a story. That means approximately 10 to 13 hours (depending on the season) in which to build characters and complete a story 'arc'. No other art form, certainly not film, theatre or even opera has this chance, and the genius of David Simon is he was one of the first to see and exploit the full potential of this resulting in five gripping seasons of The Wire.
Couple the above with years of investigative journalism in the fields covered and the inclusion of an ex-homicide detective, ex-school techer, Ed Burns, as a co-writer (plus Simon's apprenticeship served writing for Homicide; Life on the Killing Streets and The Corner mini-series) and the result is simply the best TV to come out of the first decade of the 21st century.
There is a main story 'theme' to each season, dealing with aspects of life in Baltimore, Maryland, USA - a bankrupt city with an appalling drug problem, abject inner-city poverty and one of the highest murder rates in the US. For all that, Simon loves his hometown and, as he says himself, Baltimore is not just a back-drop but a main character throughout each season.
The Wire will make you both laugh and cry. Not everyone can take its gritty realism and if you are happy with the episodic format of, for example, 24, it may seem slow moving to start with. That's because it is. Stick with it through the first two episodes, use subtitles if you can't understand the Baltimore accent, and you will be rewarded many times over for the time you have put in. When you have finished the final episode of the fifth season, just start again on episode one of season one because, unless you fall extremely lucky, you aren't going to better this with another drama.
The one pity of The Wire, for me, is the 4:3 format, which HBO (or someone) decided to stick with throughout all five seasons. Do adjust your sets. Don't allow your TV to stretch the picture. There is a scene in season two with a display of the most spectacular breasts ever seen on television which it would be criminal to distort.
This is serious entertainment and all TV should aspire to be this good and this intellectual, especially when produced for channels without advertising. The BBC, which has always had the chance to produce series in this way, should take note - but they didn't even show The Wire until after it had completed in America. They should be ashamed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 January 2016
The best TV series I have ever watched - period! Five fabulous seasons of an amazing story that will grip you from start to finish. Prepare to lose weeks of your life bunging on this wonderful drama. This blu-ray version has been mastered in wide-screen and is the perfect accompaniment to any TV series aficionado's collection. Supreme and sublime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
I have been recommending this fantastic series ever since the first series began on TV. I actually purchased this box set for my daughter who missed it on TV. Since it arrived I have started to watch it over again, so it could be quite a while until she gets to see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)