Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2010
Season 1 of the American version of the Office gets off to a bit of a slow start as the character development begins. In later seasons you'll note that many of the original character's have moved on leaps and bounds. It is well worth pushing through the first 6 episodes of season 1 to then move on to the hilarious dialogue and excellent chemistry displayed by this awesome cast. Season 2 sees the romance angle really come into it's own with Jim longing over Pam like Ricky Gervais' original characters Tim and Dawn in the English version of The Office. What's great here though is that as time goes on this angle can be explored in more detail and ultimately becomes more rewarding throughout each season. The addition of Andy Bernard (The Nard Dawg) in Season 3 if my personal highlight. He is an excellent character that adds an extra flavour to my favourite show. If you enjoy this box set then you'll be very happy to learn that Seasons 4, 5 and 6 are also now available. I say roll on 2011 so we can all enjoy Season 7......cos in my opinion The Office: An American Workplace is far more superior than Ricky Gervais' original Office.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
I Love The Office! this 3 season set is an excellent starter for anyone who wants to find out what all the fuss is about, Season 1 is only 6 episodes and is very different in tone from the other seasons, watch it but don't judge the series just yet think of it as a getting to know the characters. Season 2 from episode 1 The Dundies it hits the ground running, its very funny, great characters, writing and acting, Steve Carell is a joy to watch. It has a few jokes straight out of the UK version but soon moves off on its own path, some great extras too. I like The Big Bang Theory, 30 Rock, Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm things like that so if you find any of them amusing you will like The Office, even my husband sits down and watches it with me which is rare for him, it a Quality programme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2009
Remakes are always things to be approached with caution. But don't hesitate with this one. Steve Carell has taken a slighty different take on the manager character than in the UK version. It's better than Ricky Gervais in my opinion, especially as he's someone I find it harder and harder to watch these days since his smug, obnoxious public persona infects everything else he's done. Carell's take is still vile at times, but with more attempts made at giving him a heart, so he's a lovable idiot rather than a complete twit. Add in an excellent ensemble and, after a few episodes to reset itself, this becomes an hilarious depiction of the hideousness of the workplace. The petty squabbles, bonding through silliness and the hideousness of spending so much of you adult life with people you would actively avoid in your personal life. All are featured and used for humour here and it's wonderful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
This series is fantastic and is so much funnier than the UK version (which I loved). I think that the Jim and Pam (Tim and Dawn) storyline is done a lot better then the UK version and the other characters are also better too. Dwight is just hilarious and is easily my favourite. When you watch it try and put any similarities to the UK version aside if you can and try and enjoy it as it's own series. One thing that annoys me though is that the US are onto to season 6 now on TV and we're only up to season 3 being released on DVD....hurry up and get the rest of them out....that's what she said!!!

Overall a very funny series and I can't wait for future boxsets of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
Warm up with the first season... sit and enjoy this hilarious sequel! Focused on each character through an funny, effective and bold script, The Office season 2 became my favourite among the first three. (What I like less from season 3 is the continuous use of embarrassing stories as hook). Very creative, this American version surpasses the original British craft with new twists calling for an endless series of fun. All this said, I recommend The Office seasons 1-3 though, with rich deleted scenes. Two thumbs up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
Like many people, i was very sceptical about the American version of The office and kept avoiding it as i couldn't imagine it would even touch Ricky Gervais and co, but after catching it a few times on TV, I was hooked. I think the best way to enjoy this is to try not to compare it, as once you stop, you realise it is genius in its own right.
I have never written a review before, but I felt compelled to as so many people are missing this as they think nothing can top the English version - I wouldn't say this is better, as it's quite different after the first season, but i definitely enjoyed it more and am so glad i gave it a try.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2009
Firstly...

Don't be put off if you're already a big fan of the UK version, the US version really does stand up on it's own.

Secondly...

Like many other reviews have said, don't bother watching season 1. It's not very good and doesn't represent the show as a whole.

Thirdly...

Season 2 onwards are AMAZING! Every show has many laugh out loud moments and the relationships between the characters have been written beautifully. The Jim and Pam relationship is what makes the show for me and Dwight "Assistant to the Regional Manager" is cringingly awkwardly funny (his facial expressions and smirks are hilarious)! Michael Scott is perfect as the boss, thinking he is very popular and an 'entertainer' but really everyone thinks he's a fool!

Fron season 2 onwards you'll be hooked on this show. Even if you're scared it wont live up the the UK version, give it a go... it's just as good as the UK version... if not better!

Enjoy :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2010
Having been a fan of the UK version for ages I was always very sceptical about the American version and refused to give it a go when it first came out. After seeing the box set of series 1-3 on sale for the price of a single season I decided to give it a go. I was not disappointed. Season 1 is very similar to the UK version with a lot of the jokes, talking heads and Tim(Jim)/Gareth(Dwight) pranks such as the stapler in the jelly being the same. But it is still very funny. Season 2 is where it starts to develop into it's own style. You forget about the comparisons between the characters of the UK and US versions and enjoy it as something completely different. Season 3 just gets better, I will definitely be getting hold of season 4 at my next opportunity!

One drawback however is the quality of the packaging. It is very shoddy, the DVDs are in cardboard sleeves and the outer sleeve is quite fragile. So don't be surprised if you end up ripping the outer sleeve in the first week of owning it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
One of my favourite shows - the characters became like family while I was watching it.
After Season 1, it's very different to the UK version, so please don't compare it - both are fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2009
This is the best comedy around! I don't think it should be compared to the UK series (fabulous in it's own right) as in this box set alone, there are 50 or so episodes which is far more than what we saw in the original..The result is that you get better character development of all of the workers at Dunder Mifflin, not just the main characters. This means more side stories, romances brewing etc.. the fact that Ricky Gervais and Steven Merchant are involved in this version meant it (hopefully) shouldn't have been be a total disaster...but i didn't have any idea how hilarious it would be! It's fantastic.

There are different writers and directors throughout the episodes so one could be quite different to a previous episode. There's a huge group of very talented people involved in this series.
Steve Carell and Rainn Wilson are fantastic as Michael and Dwight, but the cast are universally brilliant - a lot of them are also writers / producers throughout the episodes (inc Toby, Ryan, Kelly..). For example, Steve Carell wrote the Casino Night episode which is a cracker!

Season 1 is only 6 episodes but it's not really until season 2 that things get going...
Get this boxset and enjoy - extras including commentaries and hilarious bloopers are a big bonus. And it's a total bargain at under £20!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)