Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
23
4.8 out of 5 stars

on 8 April 2017
A great story, well written and well told. You get on an emotional rollercoaster with the Cowboys of the 90's... you learn to hate them and finally you might forgive. This must be one of the great books on American Football!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
I'm not a big Cowboys fan, but i was intrigued to learn about the 90's 'Boys team. This was a fantastic book, chronicling the rise and fall of the franchise. Some of the stories are unbelievable, and i found it fascinating reading about how the Cowboys drank, too drugs and partied hard, yet still won 3 Superbowls. A very interesting read, I would definitely recommend this to any NFL fan
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2010
If you are an NFL fan get this book - Jeff Pearlman gives a great insight into the all-conquering Cowboys team of the 90's. Its really detailed and gets under the skin of what not only made the Cowboys great, but also what brought them down.

Some of the stories are hilarious and shocking at the same time. What is especially unbelievable is how most of the team partied hard and still made it to practice each day - I don't expect the Pats have followed a similar regime in recent times!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2009
If you are a Cowboys fan a must read. But beware; it is not pretty. A great story of a once proud franchise in tatters. I wish Jerry would read this. Oh what shame!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2010
The first 100 pages set the scene and then it takes off. I love sport but I am not a big fan of American football but that didn't matter. This book is brilliant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
A very informative and fascinating read of the rise and fall of a once great sporting franchise. This depicts what happened when a bizarre cocktail of talent, luck, race, class, ego, drugs and money was served up within the ultra competitive sport in the '90s. The result was something so beautiful it was ugly. The owner, strangely enough, comes out far more interesting than the often portrayed ego maniac.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
This is, without doubt, the best football book I've ever read. The story of the COWBOYS of the early 1990's is expertly and engagingly told by Jeff Pearlman in a deceptively casual and chatty yet very sophisticated style that transports you right into the heart of all the dirty football politics, back stabbing, throat stabbing, (you'll see) drug taking, booze swilling, skank chasing madness that, for some crazy reason, helped to make this team the most dominant force in the NFL for just over half a decade. They were a team of saints - Troy Aikman, bewildered innocents - Leon (Big Cat) Lett and outright sinners - Charles Hayley and Michael Irvin; from disparate backgrounds with personalities that mixed like oil and water, yet they all worked together and managed to resurrect a dying franchise and win three superbowls in just slightly over five years. It's an amazing story and a no brainer must read for all true fans of American football.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
As a massive Cowboys fan, watching those Super Bowls as a kid and idolizing Aikman, Irvin and Smith, this was a must read. The insight in to their lives and how they operated was a real eye opener. I thoroughly enjoyed it and wish that the Cowboys could get back to those days again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2009
A superb book with some unbelievable anectdotes like the Irvin stabbing incident. More importantly Pearlman gives us a great insight into the characters of the meglomaniac Jones, the sensitive superstar Aikman, the hard-nosed coach Johnson and the loose cannons like Haley and Irvin
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Provides an honest, often humorous appraisal of the flashy, deeply flawed athletes that made the Dallas cowboys 90's dynasty so fascinating. A must read for any fan of the game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)